Digital IC in Singpass app

Kb27

I tried to use that in a bank before...they don't accept it. End up the bank manager has to come out. Ask me a ton of verification questions, remove my mask before allowing the transactions.

On 10/28/2021 at 6:32 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

I am waiting for driving license so next time drive out no need bring wallet, eat hawker use paynow. Very convenient

Expand  

Was told TP can check via their system but I haven't been stopped yet, so...

I always keep at home, along with my NRIC. The only time i need an official photo ID is visiting someone at the hospital.  Even opening bank accounts I am using Myinfo. Scary the amount of information that is consolidated in Singpass.

Edited by Voodooman

On 10/28/2021 at 8:06 AM, Voodooman said:

I always keep at home, along with my NRIC. The only time i need an official photo ID is visiting someone at the hospital.  Even opening bank accounts I am using Myinfo. Scary the amount of information that is consolidated in Singpass.

Expand  

I don't want to link my finance info.

I don't know what's in there dare not risk it.

U have finance info linked?  Can share what type of info is inside?

On 10/28/2021 at 8:06 AM, Voodooman said:

Expand  

can check your psle results inside also.

next time first date can ask the date to show psle o levels and alevels results.

Eh, my driving licence not insai leh…only IC.

Go Hotel81 show digital IC can? My friend asking, he’s very troublesome.

• Haha! 7

On 10/28/2021 at 12:22 PM, Fcw75 said:

Expand  

Driving licence is under Vehicle & Driving Licence. You click on that can see the details of your driving licence and even your vehicle ownership, your car log card details can be seen in full.

Edited by 13177

On 10/28/2021 at 1:07 PM, 13177 said:

Driving licence is under Vehicle & Driving Licence. You click on that can see the details of your driving licence and even your vehicle ownership, like the Chassis Number and IU Number sia.

Expand  

Oh I meant the driving licence card leh.

On 10/28/2021 at 5:26 AM, Tohto said:

It was there for quite some time already.

The photo is an updated photo based on the last passport renewal.

Expand  

Hmm.. if could also integrate passport into it. It would be perfect. So singpass app would have IC and passport.

On 10/28/2021 at 12:22 PM, Fcw75 said:

Expand  

Jamesc will show his boss ic when he check in at budget hotel...😁

On 10/28/2021 at 10:01 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

I don't want to link my finance info.

I don't know what's in there dare not risk it.

U have finance info linked?  Can share what type of info is inside?

Expand  

Go to your Singpass app to see what is in there lah.

The finance section covers things like CPF contributions, balances and tax returns.

The Singapore Financial Data Exchange platform is even more scary, bank accounts and balances with all participating banks can be consolidated, don't think i want to go there. 

On 10/31/2021 at 5:08 AM, Windwaver said:

Much better to use digital ID to avoid people touching your ID when doing registration.

Expand  

But like some say, now they dont touch your IC but touch your hp when doing registration?! Lol.

On 10/28/2021 at 7:29 AM, kobayashiGT said:

I seriously dunno where my passport is liao. I remb I just gotten my passport July 2019. Haven't even have a single chop yet. TMD. 🤣

Expand  

Maybe be  your name is tumpang in your parents passport 😂😂

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/cpf-singpass-face-verification-log-malware-scam-protection-govtech-police-3594076

New Singpass face-verification feature for CPF log-in to protect the vulnerable against malware scams

File photo of a scam alert on a phone. (Photo: iStock)
29 Jun 2023 12:11PM (Updated: 29 Jun 2023 02:47PM)

Singapore: Central Provident Fund (CPF) members who log in to their accounts using their Singpass may have to go through another step - face verification.

The additional precaution comes amid a spate of malware scams involving CPF savings, said the CPF Board, GovTech and the police in a joint advisory on Thursday (Jun 29).

In the first half of 2023, more than 700 reports of malware-related scams were reported, with losses amounting to about S$8 million (US$5.9 million). Of these, eight cases involved CPF savings, with losses of S$124,000.

"As a further precaution, CPF Board and GovTech had urgently introduced the Singpass Face Verification during the login to protect vulnerable CPF members who access CPF e-services," the agencies said in a release.

"While this may make it less convenient for members to access CPF online services, we seek CPF members’ understanding that it might be better to be safe than sorry."

Vulnerable members may include those aged 55 and above and who are using android phones, according to CPF.

In the malware scams, the victim uses his Android phone to click on a Facebook or other social media advertisement selling an item at a steep discount and receives a link to download an Android Package Kit (or APK) from a non-official app-store to facilitate the purchase.

Upon downloading the APK, a malware is installed on the phone. The scammer then convinces the victim via a phone call or text message to turn on accessibility services on his Android phone.

This weakens the security of the phone and allows the scammer to take full control of the phone.

It allows the scammer to log every keystroke and steal banking credentials stored in the phone. This also means the scammer can remotely log in to the victim’s banking apps, add money mules as payees, raise payment limits and transfer money out to money mules.

The scammer can further delete SMS and email notifications of that bank transfer to cover his tracks. Additionally, the scammer may log in to the victim’s CPF account through Singpass to make a withdrawal.

"Although CPF withdrawals can only be paid to a bank account verified to belong to the CPF member, the scammer can subsequently transfer the money out from that bank account using stolen banking credentials from the phone," said the release.

Last month, police arrested nine people in a five-day operation for their alleged involvement in  banking-related phishing scam cases related to malware attack on Android mobile devices.
Related:
Victims lose about S$220,000, including CPF savings, in Android malware scams
Android users lose about S$100,000 CPF savings to malware scams in June
Police warn of new phishing scam involving malware installed on victims' phones

The authorities said that phone users should only download applications from official app stores to avoid malware being installed, especially those who use android phones.

"Exercise the greatest of caution when turning on the phone’s accessibility services or allowing access as doing so will weaken the security of the phone," the release read.

"Always expeditiously update the mobile phone with the latest security patches."

For more information, visit www.scamalert.sg or call the Anti-Scam Helpline at 1800-722-6688.
Source: CNA/gr