From Jan. 1, 2022: Max. length of 5 bicycles per cycling group on S'pore roads, S$150 fine for errant cyclists

kobayashiGT

3 minutes ago, Daniu82 said:

Bicycles can also cause harm, but more to the riders themselves and a disturbance to the users of the roads. 

"In more serious cases (e.g. where the cyclist caused harm), the cyclist may be brought to Court, where s/he may face a fine of up to $1,000 and/or a jail term of up to 3 months, if convicted for the first offence. If convicted for the second or subsequent offence, the cyclist may face a fine of up to $2,000 and/or a jail term of up to 6 months."

4 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Long-haired pony tailed, pang chance give you 1.5m overtaking space. 

image.png.23c612a26bec972e459b671ff06c0e25.png

Stare what stare?! Bloody road pests, horn until you cannot recognise home then you know!

image.thumb.png.7f1ebf12d59008d00341c4b5076cbe59.png

Rem your comment on the group of 5 chiobu cyclist?

😂

3 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

It is like someone sitting at a table in a crowded hawker centre but not eating, not drinking just chit-chatting.  Not illegal to be an a$$. 

Pre-covid, it's like those ah peks sitting in a super crowded hawker centre/food court during peak lunch time, nursing an empty kopi cup while office workers are trying to get a seat to just have a quick lunch.

36 minutes ago, Daniu82 said:

Only a $150 fine? Maybe the bike is more expensive than that? At least 100 or even 1000 times $150 to have some effect lar. 

35 minutes ago, Daniu82 said:

Only a $150 fine? Maybe the bike is more expensive than that? At least 100 or even 1000 times $150 to have some effect lar. 

impound the bike for 6 months is a good idea.

7 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

West Coast Highway allow cyclist meh? I think quite dangerous leh.

This one got to blame government, as they allow cycling on viaducts. 

I've long been an advocate that cycling shouldn't be allowed on viaducts due to certain safety considerations and speed differences. 

1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said:

I can tell you its only after Covid that resulted in a cycling boom which leads to all these expressway cycling nonsense, and more and more cyclists clogging up the roads. 

Leotards usually take the blame as they are very visible (unlike mountain bikers in trails or other riders on PCNs) getting caught by car cameras. Road cycling, in our speak, a form of leisure cycling isn't a new sport in Singapore, that's a fact. But the exponential growth after Covid is unexpected, leading to many more clueless and misbehaving new cyclists on the roads, and thus the hoo-ha. Trust me, once travelling abroad goes back to the norm, you automatically see the reduction of cycling activities. People are just bored and they need a new hobby, especially one which doesn't need to wear a mask by law. 

Also I don't agree with drawing the distinction between leisure and non-leisure groups of cyclists. Non-leisure cyclists such as Grabfood riders should all the more behave better on the roads, making a living doesn't mean you got the license to be ass on the roads OK? If that's the case then many offending taxi laus should go unpunished also, making a living also, no? No need for double-standards here. 

Those weekend cycling group  from cycling club that alway appear in video are not new cyclists at all. I even know the location  of their  clubs.

They have been beaching the 2 and 5 per group rules  since day 1.

Not to mention the  no side by side cycling in single lane road. 

The group that alway break this law is those cyclist from cycling clubs

dun say i racist or what, ( but i must say most ( i say most local ) follow the law. those that break the law is alway those AM or the group lead by AM ) . maybe i am bias in this comment.

Edited by Beregond

59 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Got a feeling those who are anti road cyclists will automatically simmer down when they see such kind of road cyclist 😅

I think most motorists are not anti road cyclists. I have previously owned and always wanted to buy a bicycle again but hold back because I find it too dangerous to ride on our roads. Till we have that infrastructure, I will avoid it first. Kiasi lah. 

As long as they don't interfere and cause further road congestion, no problem for bicycle to be on the road. It is a healthy exercise and mean of transport. Footpath is a NO for me. Wheel chair and baby stroller already cannot fit in still want to have bicycle. Who should give way? 

Aiyah so many rules also no use if you can't identify the cyclist...even if say ban cycling ah...you see some bugger cycling on the road...Cannot identify that that bugger means cannot catch what. 

Those recommended are just the ACT...show us the regulation and how you gonna implement it la... If they can't do it and happened to be my staff...I'll replace them.

17 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

Got a feeling those who are anti road cyclists will automatically simmer down when they see such kind of road cyclist 😅

Plenty at FB, IG and TT...half way monks and nuns 🙏😁

Fashionable these days...🚴‍♂🚴‍♀ 

Yet to see a SHE offroad though... 🚵‍♂

17 hours ago, Lala81 said:

aiyoh never show the potbellied 40 year old guy building his 1st road bike.

Ever watched one beedeo of one man who demo folding bike in his leotard...his middle section got more folds than the foldie...😂

18 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

West Coast Highway allow cyclist meh? I think quite dangerous leh.

Yes, viaduct can use too. 

I remember July I was doing my round island and should be just after the left turn towards Pandan road, saw a sign 

Fatal Accident🚴‍♂🚛

This stretch I only dare to cycle wee hours. 

18 hours ago, Victor68 said:

I think most motorists are not anti road cyclists. I have previously owned and always wanted to buy a bicycle again but hold back because I find it too dangerous to ride on our roads. Till we have that infrastructure, I will avoid it first. Kiasi lah. 

As long as they don't interfere and cause further road congestion, no problem for bicycle to be on the road. It is a healthy exercise and mean of transport. Footpath is a NO for me. Wheel chair and baby stroller already cannot fit in still want to have bicycle. Who should give way? 

I would also agree that most drivers here really can't be bothered and will choose to give them space whenever possible. 

You can cycle on the roads, but would advise do it in the early hours or late at night. Try to avoid riding to Lamppost 1 at Tuas just to take a stupid picture for Instagram lah, over there are potholes and full of heavy trucks even on Sundays. 

19 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

This one got to blame government, as they allow cycling on viaducts. 

I've long been an advocate that cycling shouldn't be allowed on viaducts due to certain safety considerations and speed differences. 

Actually if drivers really keep to 70km/h on viaduct, the speed isn't too far from 60km/h on roads..... 

But in the real world who actually drives less than 70km/h on viaduct... 😂😂

🤫

2 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Actually if drivers really keep to 70km/h on viaduct, the speed isn't too far from 60km/h on roads..... 

But in the real world who actually drives less than 70km/h on viaduct... 😂😂

🤫

The vehicles travel at the usual speed, but average cyclists going up slope will slow to low 20's or less.