Nolicense Turbocharged October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 6 hours ago, Playtime said: Look at it this way... SAF trains hard to achieve what it's told/ given.. nothing wrong with that. But when soldiers start dying repeatedly, it's no longer acceptable and things change.. some may say nothing change but that's another story. Will you accept if your sons start dying in NS for no reason other than saf bragging rights? MOE does what it does also because it's told to do it... but how many student suicides (attempted and successful) do we have compared to dead soldiers? Is MOE actually outkilling SAF? To put it very bluntly. at the end... what's achieved? Any nobel prizes? Anything other than being cheap workers for MNCs? Yet now still being replaced by ceca and others. Is this the acceptable "prize" and price.. that's the question. For what? Its simply meaningless to keep saying "my time bla bla bla"... that's boiling frog syndrome. Soul searching is badly needed. i agree too. this comparison makes logical sense to me. mental health is as much valid as physical health is. although our pisa results are good, it has not translate into nobel prize (or something as prestigious), or for the good of humanity by proportion pre and post moe. anyway many feel this way but still pushing their kids to breaking point. idk why ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 3 minutes ago, RadX said: Testes is right … carrying balls ps: I know that was a typo😂😂 damn.. Freudian slip... i should have used "exams".. getting sexposed again...😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 10 hours ago, Wind30 said: actually I kind of agree with this. Peers are the most important. More than teachers, etc. speaking of peers... i agree but a different kind of peer. not the one where it is selfish competition, but the sharing and helping type. like in nordic countries where they make the better students help the weaker students. thats the right type of peer society 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 33 minutes ago, Nolicense said: i agree. seems the scholars all go gahmen jobs. those that are needed in engineering and r&d and jobs that make for a technological economy are filled by people who do well in testes, not those with deep interest and question what they know. it is a toxic culture just like the monkey and the ladder experiment. any monkey that tries to climb the ladder is beaten by the others and they think they are upholding what things should be. I still feel our education system especially Primary school is like 100s of Laser colour copiers. Very good at churning students like printed pages. Depending on the original copies.... Print, sort, staple then student of the cohort has very similar. I prefer school to be like "arts school" ... Allow and exposing students to different medium, different craft, developing their passion and strengths. Let each of them create their own "arts" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 8 minutes ago, Atonchia said: I still feel our education system especially Primary school is like 100s of Laser colour copiers. Very good at churning students like printed pages. Depending on the original copies.... Print, sort, staple then student of the cohort has very similar. I prefer school to be like "arts school" ... Allow and exposing students to different medium, different craft, developing their passion and strengths. Let each of them create their own "arts" yes like all students all give the same model answers. but the move by moe to use different type of method for solving math seems like an attempt to give students different ways to solve a problem. but they stop them from using algebra. idk but i feel the more they try the more the strait jacket gets tighten. your idea for exposing students to more disciplines, ideas, etc, only exits for those gep. those no good ones just get hammered with the same subjects hoping they pass psle. i think a mozart in our time would become a retart. by they time he pass psle, he will have lost his gift of music. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 4 hours ago, Nolicense said: yes like all students all give the same model answers. but the move by moe to use different type of method for solving math seems like an attempt to give students different ways to solve a problem. but they stop them from using algebra. idk but i feel the more they try the more the strait jacket gets tighten. your idea for exposing students to more disciplines, ideas, etc, only exits for those gep. those no good ones just get hammered with the same subjects hoping they pass psle. i think a mozart in our time would become a retart. by they time he pass psle, he will have lost his gift of music. MOE already clarify. Algebra is allowed. If your kid is trained by some professor from oxbridge, and he use calculus, integration or whatever chimology math to solve the coin problem he will get 4 marks, the same as the 3 lines answer from a block diagram trained P6 student. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 (edited) 5 hours ago, Atonchia said: I still feel our education system especially Primary school is like 100s of Laser colour copiers. Very good at churning students like printed pages. Depending on the original copies.... Print, sort, staple then student of the cohort has very similar. I prefer school to be like "arts school" ... Allow and exposing students to different medium, different craft, developing their passion and strengths. Let each of them create their own "arts" There is an element of truth in that schools are predominantly geared towards producing an educated workforce. Different kids from different socio economic backgrounds need different things from the school system. I'm not talking about the outlier students. My comments are for median/average students who will occupy the normal jobs that is in our society. Kids from families with lower incomes or partly dysfunctional families may need a strong structure in their school. Cos they aren't going to get the help they need outside of school. The kids from the upper SES will almost certainly benefit from a less cookie cutter approach with individual interest catered to. I don't agree with all aspects of the Pri school system. I think it's too much time spent in school weekly and like u said, spending the time grinding and polishing a common English, mother tongue, math science background is going to take up well.... Time. unfortunately since our jobs are based on the global economy, we have no choice to create basic "all round" students to cater to the most median or average jobs available. As parents, we have to find ways to still allow the kids to grow outside of school. Edited October 3, 2021 by Lala81 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 PSLE is not going to determine the later life of a child. Academic good but without EQ, surviving skills is as good as nothing. Our kids are too well protected, look at the FT kids they are much more hungry, willing to take hardship to move up 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 3, 2021 Share October 3, 2021 14 hours ago, Nolicense said: damn.. Freudian slip... i should have used "exams".. getting sexposed again...😆 Sekali another typo...sexam...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 4, 2021 Author Share October 4, 2021 8 hours ago, happy_man said: TS, has your child taken PSLE before ? Not yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 4, 2021 Author Share October 4, 2021 6 hours ago, Porche said: PSLE is not going to determine the later life of a child. Academic good but without EQ, surviving skills is as good as nothing. Our kids are too well protected, look at the FT kids they are much more hungry, willing to take hardship to move up What? Serious stuff ok 🤣🤣.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 Have a couple of colleagues their gals taking the Parent Siao Liao Exam...they are so stressed out more so than their kids... Of course, I rub it (salt hor, and nothing else) in aplenty...i tink they won't wan to talk to me for a long while which is perfectly fine with moi 😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 43 minutes ago, Playtime said: What? Serious stuff ok 🤣🤣.. Is that Dex in the same Wrong familee? 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 When my two kids completed their O Level, I asked them for their opinion on the importance of PSLE. The answer: Overly rated and useless. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 4, 2021 Author Share October 4, 2021 12 hours ago, happy_man said: This is interesting - Given a choice, does it mean you won't let your child take the PSLE exam ? Just to be clear, I am approaching this Thread from the context that PSLE had been around for decades and tough exam papers had existed before...But does it mean we abandon some basic education standard using Nobel prize winning as a benchmark ? 🧐 no one is suggesting abandoning it. my previous posts above is quite explanatory of my position. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 4, 2021 Author Share October 4, 2021 On 10/3/2021 at 4:18 PM, RadX said: Testes is right … carrying balls ps: I know that was a typo😂😂 must be PSLE english paper marker....😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 18 minutes ago, Rayleigh said: When my two kids completed their O Level, I asked them for their opinion on the importance of PSLE. The answer: Overly rated and useless. lol.. did you sit for the psle? if so no need you to ask them lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 In current context…no academic certificate is more important than the vaccine certificate if you want to dine in…😁 ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...