Wormee 5th Gear September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 @BabyBlade I feel you. However, one advantage for us is that we can have both a driver and motorcyclists perspective when on the road. I stopped riding already being 1. having a family and 2. not young anymore lol. Safety comes first. But at least we understand why motorcyclists lane split and how we can drive in a way to better protect/avoid them. You can see many many keyboard warriors on social media commenting motorcyclists lane split, riding dangerously, etc (and I bet they do not have any motorcycle license). Digress a bit, I also cycles. But same as you I am scared of getting COVID than having to fall off my bike when riding. While I just ride on PCN now only (I stopped riding on the roads since pre-COVID) but looking at the number of humans running, cycling, jogging without mask, perspiring, spitting when running etc.....that is why I seldom ride now and in fact I always wear a mask even when riding casually. P.S. I don't have a Class 2 license (I too small size and no confident in passing especially picking up/putting down that monster and pushing a figure 8 😅) but I did rode to Genting Highlands on a 400cc bike. Those were the days, shiok. Cheers on a Monday. Hope it will clear up a bit of your Monday blues. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 (edited) 19 hours ago, 13177 said: Agreed, nowadays even driving can be dangerous due to many idiots on the road. Many times even you are careful but most of the accident happened is due to other people not careful. maybe i'm making a sweeping statement, but quite some of the incidents are due to PHVs doing last minute stunts to save time. not sure in the case of the chap who died on the bus with a car swerving in front, if the car was a PHV. if a bus, PHVs also heck care, what more a motorcycle. thus no doubt one can be a very safe rider. it only take one arse to maim you for life. Edited September 27, 2021 by Mkl22 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 1 minute ago, Mkl22 said: maybe i'm making a sweeping statement, but quite some of the incidents are due to PHVs doing last minute stunts to save time. not sure in the case of the chap who died on the bus with a car swerving in front, if the car was a PHV. if a bus, PHVs also heck care, what more a motorcycle. thus no doubt one can be a very safe rider. it only take one arse to maim you for life. Last time, taxi Now, Taxi + PHV 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 @mersaylee China version. 🤣 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 13 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Last time, taxi Now, Taxi + PHV 😂 Plus errant delivery bengs and lians… 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 5 minutes ago, Wormee said: @mersaylee China version. 🤣 How cum you have BB photos…? I is very jealous…😁 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 3 hours ago, mersaylee said: Did you reply with “lao niang gao sing jiu hao ” look ?😁 Sorry ah very busy at work now can't reply the rest but I need to clarify. Ride bike + female doesn't mean chio. I'm nothing like Vaune or any of the female riders in SG. Just a plain Jane. That's why so low profile. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
James996 4th Gear September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 On 9/26/2021 at 2:27 PM, Freeder said: Any riders here? I’m thinking of riding again after a long hiatus.. No need fast & furious type.. Looking at this bike (Honda CB350) at the moment 😅 🙋♂️ Current bike COE really not worth to get new bikes OTR...can wait till it goes down again. I waited 6 years for the COE dropped in 2019 to buy a brand new again, COE was less than 3k for that month... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yycools Clutched September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 Drove my whole life, and got my class 2 few years back... got super into adventure riding. So much so I have 2 BMW ADV bikes (1200cc and 800cc). Even with border locked down, riding still offers a sense of freedom that no car can match. It's true that riding is more dangerous than driving, but with good awareness of surroundings(and common sense), good protection, and good equipment, riding can be safe and enjoyable, even in Singapore. A newer bike with ABS should be the bare minimum when considering a bike, if it has traction control, even better. You see on the reckless driver thread that most bike accidents (that are not the driver's fault) are caused by poor braking, poor awareness(common sense), and self skid. We all think we are better riders than we actually are, having ABS and TC can help you better the odds in an emergency. Of course, have the right protection gear (riding boots, pants, jacket gloves and helmet) is a must, the rider wearing flip flops probably don't have all 10 toes... If you say nowhere to ride in Singapore, then I invite you to come to our off-road rider training (any bike can), Yes, these photos are taken in Singapore, range from May to just last weekend! Good luck, and enjoy the ride! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Author Share September 27, 2021 18 minutes ago, James996 said: 🙋♂️ Current bike COE really not worth to get new bikes OTR...can wait till it goes down again. I waited 6 years for the COE dropped in 2019 to buy a brand new again, COE was less than 3k for that month... Wah.. 6 yrs.. In this unpredictable times, I think everyday being alive is a bonus... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 @Wormee I never see this type of riders in Singapore every time I saw a slim rider, it always turned out to be a skinny man 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 (edited) 7 hours ago, BabyBlade said: With all due respect, I am lowkey annoyed whenever I hear this from drivers who are non-riders "Why you want to ride? It's so dangerous". I guess you can say, we accept the risk when we choose to ride, and if you leave it to @RadX, he will say that risk is relative. You can choke while eating a fishball but do you avoiding eating it all along? You can get heart diseases etc from eating too much fried and oily food, but that doesn't stop us from eating fast food. We can get rammed by a red light beater while crossing the road but do we stop crossing the roads? To be honest, I'm more afraid of getting COVID-19 than riding a bike. I avoid going to crowded places but life goes on, just practice mask-wearing and good hand hygiene. There is risk in the everyday things that we do including driving a car, I would say the risk is admittedly higher for motorcyclists because any collision with another vehicle would almost mean injuries and sometimes even fatality. But don't simply dismiss it by saying, "So dangerous, why you want to ride?". We take three license to get up to Class 2, and a one year gap each to get from 2B to 2A to 2. For motorcyclists, I suppose you can say our risk profile is higher than the usual. #MondayRant #okbye Recently @inlinesix recommended this YouTube channel. After watching I really like. Even though I don't ride. I like the route she ride and all this can be plan for my future Taiwan self drive trip. Edited September 27, 2021 by Tohto 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 21 minutes ago, Phang said: @Wormee I never see this type of riders in Singapore every time I saw a slim rider, it always turned out to be a skinny man I only saw Vaune on her Ducati once while otw to CV. Really slim sia. But yes you are probably right for all other scenarios. 😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 8 minutes ago, Tohto said: Recently @inlinesix recommended this YouTube channel. After watching I really like. Even though I don't ride. I like the route he ride and all this can be plan for my future Taiwan self drive trip. TW is very fun one. I also don't ride. I did 2 times self drive and 3rd time with a friend's huge family going around in the bus for 7 days. If you go to certain places, can also rent their electric bike or auto bike and go around without having to walk too much or find transport. I love TW. From touring, drinking and friends, I got many of them there when I goes there. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic September 27, 2021 Author Share September 27, 2021 After all the constructive advice here, YOLO .. Just done it 😅 19 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged September 27, 2021 Share September 27, 2021 @Freeder well done, ride safe lighter bikes are more appealing to me now as my age is catching up with me 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mann123 4th Gear September 28, 2021 Share September 28, 2021 I ride for a decade in my twenties and had fun throughout it. i always practiced safe riding but had to stop riding after one small accident because got married and gave serious thought about safety. I was waiting to merge in major road and a sports car banged from behind, luckily the impact was not so strong and i escaped with minor injuries. If can get injured in stationary position then in speed it can be fatal even the rider riding safe. But i still think sometime to buy a small vespa scooter and ride in neighborhood and go nearby HDB markets or mall only at slow speeds 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hibeam2 4th Gear September 28, 2021 Share September 28, 2021 Congrats @Freeder , beautiful bike. when COVID is over, we MCF bikers should do a meet up. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...