Shibadog Turbocharged November 12, 2023 Share November 12, 2023 On 11/12/2023 at 8:59 PM, Discoburg said: The last time I rode there was like 20+ years ago man. Old timers will also know old man Benson. good to know they've been around for a while. i hope their bikes aren't that old though lol ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic November 13, 2023 Author Share November 13, 2023 On 10/29/2023 at 12:49 PM, Freeder said: There’s a 4D3N chill ride to Hatyai ard early Nov.Those interested can DM me for more details. This trip will be accompaNied by a support vehicle(volunteered by a former rider🤭).So no stress yah.. Just back.. All I can say is just do it if your body still can function well🤭.. Some pics from the short tour.. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 13, 2023 Share November 13, 2023 On 11/13/2023 at 3:18 PM, Freeder said: Just back.. All I can say is just do it if your body still can function well🤭.. Some pics from the short tour.. Suay mak mak… Not just the body but the bike too. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic November 13, 2023 Author Share November 13, 2023 On 11/13/2023 at 3:26 PM, Fcw75 said: Suay mak mak… Not just the body but the bike too. 😁 There was a 400cc bike too.. Anyway, it’s the rider more than the bike yah🤭 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 2, 2024 Share January 2, 2024 i recently drove my car up to Chiang Mai, left the car in hotel carpark and rented a bike to go around north thai i rented a new Honda NX500. Mileage when i picked it up was 1300km. The bike rental shop boss had taken it for run in. I'm essentially the first customer to use it ok this reflection pic was taken during the car phase of the trip but i thought it's nice. It's at the northern edge of Nakhon Sawan this was my approximate route during the 7 days. Chiang Mai - Phayao - Nan (A to D) - Chiang Rai ( E to G) - Chiang Mai (H). Actual mileage covered was 1500km. When at "B" - the Huay Kon border - i parked the bike on the Thai side and walked over to Laos just for fun. i had previously been to most of these places via car but biking these routes is new to me. The NX500 was very nice to ride. Comfortable and sufficiently powerful for me. Only complaint would be that the exhaust piping blocks my right heel when i want to stand on the balls of the feet - dirt bike style - on bumpy sections. I had to go through some sections of broken road, compact gravel and compacted clay. Not being able to stand on balls of feet and drop the heel made me feel slightly more less confident. oh i had also taken the opportunity to do 3 courses in Honda Chiang Mai and BKK on this trip. I had previously taken these same courses but now i feel more confident when doing them. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear January 3, 2024 Share January 3, 2024 On 1/2/2024 at 9:17 PM, Shibadog said: i recently drove my car up to Chiang Mai, left the car in hotel carpark and rented a bike to go around north thai i rented a new Honda NX500. Mileage when i picked it up was 1300km. The bike rental shop boss had taken it for run in. I'm essentially the first customer to use it ok this reflection pic was taken during the car phase of the trip but i thought it's nice. It's at the northern edge of Nakhon Sawan this was my approximate route during the 7 days. Chiang Mai - Phayao - Nan (A to D) - Chiang Rai ( E to G) - Chiang Mai (H). Actual mileage covered was 1500km. When at "B" - the Huay Kon border - i parked the bike on the Thai side and walked over to Laos just for fun. i had previously been to most of these places via car but biking these routes is new to me. The NX500 was very nice to ride. Comfortable and sufficiently powerful for me. Only complaint would be that the exhaust piping blocks my right heel when i want to stand on the balls of the feet - dirt bike style - on bumpy sections. I had to go through some sections of broken road, compact gravel and compacted clay. Not being able to stand on balls of feet and drop the heel made me feel slightly more less confident. oh i had also taken the opportunity to do 3 courses in Honda Chiang Mai and BKK on this trip. I had previously taken these same courses but now i feel more confident when doing them. Wow what can i say, u really hard core to the max, drove up chiang mai from sg then rent a bike to cheong there, i know me definitely can't do it, salute u bro n envy that u live a very full life 👍.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 3, 2024 Share January 3, 2024 On 1/3/2024 at 8:15 AM, Cheesey74 said: Wow what can i say, u really hard core to the max, drove up chiang mai from sg then rent a bike to cheong there, i know me definitely can't do it, salute u bro n envy that u live a very full life 👍.. thanks for the kind words bro it's actually not that difficult. just need to do it 1st time then will be hooked liao north thailand is an amazing place to drive/ride, especially during the winter months. Beautiful scenery, rare to rain, perfect blue skies most of the time, well-developed infrastructure for road trips and very friendly locals in both towns and villages. flying up would have been much faster if wanna focus on the north. Last month, a friend of mine flew up from SG to Chiang Mai and back twice in the space of 10 days just for dirt bike courses at Honda Chiang Mai. To me, that's really hardcore lol 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 3, 2024 Share January 3, 2024 The drive from Singapore to Chiangmai is amazing too. 👏🏼 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 3, 2024 Share January 3, 2024 On 1/3/2024 at 1:38 PM, Fcw75 said: The drive from Singapore to Chiangmai is amazing too. 👏🏼 this one... i cannot fully agree. i think it gets nice only from Tak onwards. but then i'm not a beach nor city guy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 Its good to know that some of you are doing things which some of us cant. enjoy life, ride free, stay safe! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 On 1/29/2024 at 4:47 PM, Throttle2 said: Its good to know that some of you are doing things which some of us cant. enjoy life, ride free, stay safe! i missed twisting the throttle too 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 30, 2024 Share January 30, 2024 (edited) highly recommend the big bike courses in Honda Thailand. They offer 3 levels, as well as a final gymkhana level which is more of a (friendly) competition. Unfortunately, for safety reasons, they require all riders to complete the courses in sequence. No skipping of levels. I've done the level 1 and 2 courses in the Chiang Mai facility, and the level 3 and gymkhana in Bangkok (Bang Kapi). For some reason, last year, the Bangkok center allowed me to do the gymkhana before i did the level 3 (Advance) course. Not ideal for my progression but that's just the way the courses were scheduled for the month and i was there as a visitor, not a long term resident so i took whatever i could. As of now, i've done all 3 courses multiple times but only did their gymkhana course once. Chiang Mai is more convenient for foreigners as it's conducted in English. The courses in Bangkok are conducted mostly in Thai, but the fellow participants and an instructor will try to translate (not 100% though) each course is a full day event from 9am to 4pm. Damn siong for me when i was there as i don't ride a lot. Still not experienced and very little seat time. Low endurance too. One can BYO bike or rent one of their Honda bikes (300cc, 500cc, 650cc). Very affordable for us. BYO bike fee is only THB1k. Course fee if use their bikes is THB2k (300cc), THB3k (500cc) and THB4k (650cc). Their bikes are all in very good condition and low mileage. So far the bikes i used there had mileage ranging from 100km to 3k km. they provide helmet, chest/elbow/knee guards. the level 1 and 2 courses are quite basic and focus on safe handling in straights and cornering, as well as slow speed tight corners. Still very fun to do and an affordable way to push the bike limits in a safe environment level 3 turns up the speed dial in corners and intro to gymkhana, with a time attack culminating the day gymkhana is mad. lol. See the vid below. When i did the level 3 and gymkhana courses in BKK, i found that the participants are mostly locals and they attend these courses quite frequently. As a result, they all know each other it's become like a meet up session for them. A few that i spoke to (including a BMW MotoRad instructor) join these courses monthly. They all bring their own bikes. The riders here tend to be more hardcore than the ones in Chiang Mai. they also offer dirt bike courses (again, 3 levels) at THB2k including use of a CRF300L. Full gear provided incld MX boots and helmet. Chiang Mai is probably better for dirt bike courses as they have a larger training ground. Honda also has a training facility in Phuket but i've not been there. It's catered for foreigners so probably more English than BKK. their booking website https://hondasafety.thaihonda.co.th/course?lang=en some pics and vid this vid is of Gymkhana course in Honda BKK. Chiang Mai doesn't offer this. At the end of the day, timings are taken for various sections such as fig. of 8, J-turns and the complete lap. I didn't know one has to meet a certain timing to be awarded their certificate lol. I didn't meet the required timing as i was too slow, worn out and tired at the end of the hot day's riding. I have to get better at riding and go back for this. Edited January 30, 2024 by Shibadog 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tarbo 1st Gear January 31, 2024 Share January 31, 2024 Nice sharing. Definitely will try and check out the safety courses the next time I'm there. Looks pretty comprehensive. Nice to see some people who ride here. Last road to MHS in 2022, some Hatyai runs in between, and Chiangrai in 2023. Not sure when I'll be riding up again. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 5, 2024 Share March 5, 2024 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/more-vehicles-aggressive-road-culture-behind-spike-in-motorcycle-fatalities-say-experts Ride safe guys 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 5, 2024 Share March 5, 2024 On 3/5/2024 at 9:24 PM, Fcw75 said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/more-vehicles-aggressive-road-culture-behind-spike-in-motorcycle-fatalities-say-experts Ride safe guys Told a number of times don’t anyhow 爛命一條 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 11, 2024 Share March 11, 2024 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged March 11, 2024 Share March 11, 2024 On 3/11/2024 at 11:27 PM, inlinesix said: for me is 5 minutes to remove all the riding gears and put them into a bag and a helmet bag my colleagues always think I go gym or bowling after work whenever I ride to work 😁 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...