Mustank Hypersonic September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 3 hours ago, NightWind said: Good idea but i think LTA will force u to either scrap or do the paperwork n pay the taxes to export. Can I sell at $1 to my Malaysian cousin on the car last week? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 6 minutes ago, Mustank said: Can I sell at $1 to my Malaysian cousin on the car last week? Your cousin may not be allowed to import 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 3 hours ago, Turboflat4 said: Some? 😁 Yes some are crooks and some are worse than crooks😃😃 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 21 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Yes some are crooks and some are worse than crooks😃😃 You mean...some are gahmen? 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 19 hours ago, Jamesc said: Export the car to MY to yourself. And then import the car back to SG. Do all the paperwork to import back the same car to SG and make it all legal. Simple. if lazy just DM Jamesc and pay him a fee for all the paperwork for the transaction. Simple! 😁👍🏻✌🏻 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldenvodka 2nd Gear September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 Renew 5 years really bo hua. If renew 10 years but on 5th year want to scrap, in the end also get refunded the same amount of money correct? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 28 minutes ago, Goldenvodka said: Renew 5 years really bo hua. If renew 10 years but on 5th year want to scrap, in the end also get refunded the same amount of money correct? Bo hua because it's for bo lui kia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 23 hours ago, Soonmunn said: Hi all i bought a 2nd hand performance car several years from a owner who erroneously extended COE for 5 years. My intention originally was to just drive the car at this really cheap price till COE expiry and maybe export it. But i have grown to love that V8 NA and its running gr8 so can i get advice on the 2 options below pls : 1) How do i appeal to LTA to allow a one time extension of the 5year COE. Fyi they already reject me 2 times. Is there some other avanue to appeal to? 2) How to export the car to a buyer in Malaysia or UK. I have 2 buyers interested in this car. Thanks bros for your guidance. You find back your exact same car at sgcarmart with a 10 year COE. Buy that car. Sell your car. and you have a 10 year coe car. I don't think there is a loop hole to this. Even if there is any, there is no one will post it on forum and risk it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 how to appeal ?? either in person, or by email 🤣 Either way, there is only ONE outcome. You can say whatever you want, end story will be the same. Reject you twice liao, who can still help? Chinese is called "DIE THE HEART" 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 the rules are as such though it does not make sense. maybe just try to appeal once more but state that the ex-owner had only renewed for 5 yrs and you wished to extend it by another 5. You are not out to cheat the govt of tax dollars so propose that you pay the next 5 years, the higher of what the ex-owner paid for 11th to 15th year or whatever is the prevailing COE at the end of the 15th year. Then put in sob story about preserving the earth, less wastage, blah blah blah but then it sounds a bit hollow because yours is a performance car which is a petrol guzzler. But can try lah. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 5 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: You find back your exact same car at sgcarmart with a 10 year COE. Buy that car. Sell your car. and you have a 10 year coe car. I don't think there is a loop hole to this. Even if there is any, there is no one will post it on forum and risk it. Idea 💡 but maybe he is emotionally attach to that car and only wants that car leh😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 5 hours ago, Othello said: how to appeal ?? either in person, or by email 🤣 Either way, there is only ONE outcome. You can say whatever you want, end story will be the same. Reject you twice liao, who can still help? Chinese is called "DIE THE HEART" 😁 tell LTA, he will pay double. maybe can consider.... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longhorn 2nd Gear September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 (edited) 5 hours ago, Kxbc said: the rules are as such though it does not make sense. maybe just try to appeal once more but state that the ex-owner had only renewed for 5 yrs and you wished to extend it by another 5. You are not out to cheat the govt of tax dollars so propose that you pay the next 5 years, the higher of what the ex-owner paid for 11th to 15th year or whatever is the prevailing COE at the end of the 15th year. Then put in sob story about preserving the earth, less wastage, blah blah blah but then it sounds a bit hollow because yours is a performance car which is a petrol guzzler. But can try lah. I suspect that the rules do not make sense to you (and many others here) because you are too young 😁 to know or have forgotten the purpose of the 5-year COE. Unfortunately I am old enough to remember... This LTA response may be a good refresher: https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltagov/en/newsroom/2020/11/media-replies/extension-of-five-year-period-would-affect-supply-of-coes.html Govt (many many moons ago in 1990): Implements 10-year COE system. Owner of 10-year old car : Wah my car very old and will not last another 10 years. I don't want to pay the PQP for 10 years. Govt : OK. I give you concession. 5 year COE but you cannot renew anymore since you say you car won't last 10 years. Owner : OK.. Accepts concession and renews COE for 5 years. After 4 years.... Owner : I changed my mind. I am going to appeal to renew my 5-year COE car. Govt : I already said only once. You cannot have your cake and eat it too. Owner : KPKB. %$#^@* Govt Edited September 6, 2021 by Longhorn 2 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 39 minutes ago, Longhorn said: I suspect that the rules do not make sense to you (and many others here) because you are too young 😁 to know or have forgotten the purpose of the 5-year COE. Unfortunately I am old enough to remember... This LTA response may be a good refresher: https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltagov/en/newsroom/2020/11/media-replies/extension-of-five-year-period-would-affect-supply-of-coes.html Govt (many many moons ago in 1990): Implements 10-year COE system. Owner of 10-year old car : Wah my car very old and will not last another 10 years. I don't want to pay the PQP for 10 years. Govt : OK. I give you concession. 5 year COE but you cannot renew anymore since you say you car won't last 10 years. Owner : OK.. Accepts concession and renews COE for 5 years. After 4 years.... Owner : I changed my mind. I am going to appeal to renew my 5-year COE car. Govt : I already said only once. You cannot have your cake and eat it too. Owner : KPKB. %$#^@* Govt It is a PR answer but I think they are scared that people will game the system. If a 5+5 is allowed, one can register first for a 5-yr COE and then at the end of the 5th year, if there is a drop in COE, then buy another COE for Yr 16 to 20. That means that effectively, the person wins on 2 fronts - 1) lower COE over year 11 to yr 20 and 2) time value of money by paying for Yr 6 - Yr 10 only in Yr 6 vs someone who paid for a 10-yr extension at start of Yr 11. Overall, besides the certainty it offers to the LTA in terms of returned COEs in either Yr 15 or Yr 20, there is actually no change in the number of cars on the road whether one extends for a 5+5 or straight 10. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 7 minutes ago, Kxbc said: It is a PR answer but I think they are scared that people will game the system. If a 5+5 is allowed, one can register first for a 5-yr COE and then at the end of the 5th year, if there is a drop in COE, then buy another COE for Yr 16 to 20. That means that effectively, the person wins on 2 fronts - 1) lower COE over year 11 to yr 20 and 2) time value of money by paying for Yr 6 - Yr 10 only in Yr 6 vs someone who paid for a 10-yr extension at start of Yr 11. Overall, besides the certainty it offers to the LTA in terms of returned COEs in either Yr 15 or Yr 20, there is actually no change in the number of cars on the road whether one extends for a 5+5 or straight 10. then like i said. use $$. want 5 + 5, then pay more for the privilege. i welcome extra contribution to the coffers.😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Longhorn said: I suspect that the rules do not make sense to you (and many others here) because you are too young 😁 to know or have forgotten the purpose of the 5-year COE. Unfortunately I am old enough to remember... This LTA response may be a good refresher: https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltagov/en/newsroom/2020/11/media-replies/extension-of-five-year-period-would-affect-supply-of-coes.html Govt (many many moons ago in 1990): Implements 10-year COE system. Owner of 10-year old car : Wah my car very old and will not last another 10 years. I don't want to pay the PQP for 10 years. Govt : OK. I give you concession. 5 year COE but you cannot renew anymore since you say you car won't last 10 years. Owner : OK.. Accepts concession and renews COE for 5 years. After 4 years.... Owner : I changed my mind. I am going to appeal to renew my 5-year COE car. Govt : I already said only once. You cannot have your cake and eat it too. Owner : KPKB. %$#^@* Govt Exactly, and also exactly why my system of paying 15 percent PQP every year with option of renewing a full 10 years anytime is a winner. Gahmen will make even more money this way. 🤑 Edited September 6, 2021 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 6 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said: Exactly, and also exactly why my system of paying 15 percent PQP every year with option of renewing a full 10 years anytime is a winner. Gahmen will make even more money this way. 🤑 actually LTA already implements something like this but in reverse. it is the rebate for the Off peak Cars. if you take the rebate upfront it is 17k. however if you then convert a normal car to a OPC, it is 1.1k for every 6mths. ignoring the conversions fees, the it is 17k vs 22k. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 11 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: actually LTA already implements something like this but in reverse. it is the rebate for the Off peak Cars. if you take the rebate upfront it is 17k. however if you then convert a normal car to a OPC, it is 1.1k for every 6mths. ignoring the conversions fees, the it is 17k vs 22k. Yes. The principle already exists. All we need is follow-through on this aspect. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...