Nolicense Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 10 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said: Currently 5.7m population= US$370B GDP 10m population= US650B GDP over 10 years, annual GDP growth= 17.5% WOW fastest GDP growth in region, the reborn of Asian Tiger, outpace China GDP and 2X the GDP of Malaysia😬 might be more.. property price fry higher. water front property. i wont be surprised east coast park may get revamped.. lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 58 minutes ago, Arogab said: Anything the huge population touch the price goes up. So I actually support we grow our population one. I don't mind our country crowded leh This almost 100% gets you labelled as pap IB here in mcf... 请三思。。。 Lol From business perspective, I like bigger population. Can see that the service industry here is stagnating. But if tell me same as the other big metropolises I also don't like. Singapore has a good balance now. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 2 hours ago, Arogab said: At one stage our infrastructure start to move backward. But I think we can move forward lah. Just some of our countrymen say we are crowded. I don't think so. I know people want to be in comfort zone. But the crowd to me is still not great for economy last time i remember the pasar malam.. great world, gay world.. getting to orchard road was so difficult, took 2 hours by bus.. we have less population but it was always so crowded.. peoples park even worse, no need to say.. i thought we entered china at the emporium. then suddenly everything got cleaned up.. no more street side food.. people seems to have disappeared at night.. the hdb estate was so quiet, except seventh month getai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: This almost 100% gets you labelled as pap IB here in mcf... 请三思。。。 Lol From business perspective, I like bigger population. Can see that the service industry here is stagnating. But if tell me same as the other big metropolises I also don't like. Singapore has a good balance now. shhhh.. dont pechia his id.. actually what you mean by service industry stagnating? as in service level never improve? or service industry not innovative? i feel service level drop because people dont understand their product or too much outsourcing. at the same time innovate the wrong things... like call centre automation forever on hold. or having 1 general queue for people who have many questions to ask versus a customer who needs to transact. just simpur examples nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 (edited) 7 hours ago, Arogab said: Don't pray pray with Xi Da Da, he has become so powderful liao. It was rumored when they catch the tigers (those guys embezzling billions) , they have to round up the entire part of the city and move in with SOF to capture. And they say next guy probably be Jet Li. I wonder Artist with foreign passport will be banned from acting (unofficial news) Beside Jet Li, there is also Lee Hom, Nicholas Tsai and others. Jet Li name was mentioned by some famous director. Not sure how reliable this director insider news is. Edited September 3, 2021 by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 (edited) 58 minutes ago, Nolicense said: shhhh.. dont pechia his id.. actually what you mean by service industry stagnating? as in service level never improve? or service industry not innovative? i feel service level drop because people dont understand their product or too much outsourcing. at the same time innovate the wrong things... like call centre automation forever on hold. or having 1 general queue for people who have many questions to ask versus a customer who needs to transact. just simpur examples nia I mean our local domestic economy in terms of goods and services. More regarding diversity and vibrancy. Hard Truth is lot of things can't be of scale in a 5 mil population. For a niche service or clientele, your chance of expansion is virtually zero in Sg cos of the catchment area. For example in f&b... I'm not referring to your casual dining say Western food f&b outlet. If u specialise in Moroccan food. Well.. Chances are u can open exactly ONE restaurant in whole of sg. Cos the catchment is small. If you open a Guinea pig cafe, it's the same. Same if u do a parrot cafe. U would be hard pressed to even find enough regular customers here. But overseas you can see such concepts in many metropolises. This can also be extrapolated to many other sub niches which SMEs can exploit to survive in a city of 10-12 million. Size is vibrancy. Don't blame our mall operators for putting a Starbucks or the most common plain vanilla brands in the malls. It's the only thing that has enough mass appeal to pay the rent. Edited September 3, 2021 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 6 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I mean our local domestic economy in terms of goods and services. More regarding diversity and vibrancy. Hard Truth is lot of things can't be of scale in a 5 mil population. For a niche service or clientele, your chance of expansion is virtually zero in Sg cos of the catchment area. For example in f&b... I'm not referring to your casual dining say Western food f&b outlet. If u specialise in Moroccan food. Well.. Chances are u can open exactly ONE restaurant in whole of sg. Cos the catchment is small. If you open a Guinea pig cafe, it's the same. Same if u do a parrot cafe. U would be hard pressed to even find enough regular customers here. But overseas you can see such concepts in many metropolises. This can also be extrapolated to many other sub niches which SMEs can exploit to survive in a city of 10-12 million. Size is vibrancy. Don't blame our mall operators for putting a Starbucks or the most common plain vanilla brands in the malls. It's the only thing that has enough mass appeal to pay the rent. The mall operators might also be limited to businesses with scale. The rents are making it hard for small businesses and transforming our retail scape to cookie cutter malls. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 10 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I mean our local domestic economy in terms of goods and services. More regarding diversity and vibrancy. Hard Truth is lot of things can't be of scale in a 5 mil population. For a niche service or clientele, your chance of expansion is virtually zero in Sg cos of the catchment area. For example in f&b... I'm not referring to your casual dining say Western food f&b outlet. If u specialise in Moroccan food. Well.. Chances are u can open exactly ONE restaurant in whole of sg. Cos the catchment is small. If you open a Guinea pig cafe, it's the same. Same if u do a parrot cafe. U would be hard pressed to even find enough regular customers here. But overseas you can see such concepts in many metropolises. This can also be extrapolated to many other sub niches which SMEs can exploit to survive in a city of 10-12 million. Size is vibrancy. Don't blame our mall operators for putting a Starbucks or the most common plain vanilla brands in the malls. It's the only thing that has enough mass appeal to pay the rent. orh.. no la, must see how metropolitan the city dwellers are.. here is always see pubs and breweries nia.. and german restaurants.. go keong saik st or club street look see is lor.. mostly the same stuff. all depends on the expats here and their disposable income. locals dont have a dining out culture like western countries. also other lesser known cuisine maybe not as much here becos you actually need somebody from there to open a f&b here. take sydney, it got a lot diversity becos they taken in many other country people. sydney population is slightly smaller than sgp. the food there so much more than sgp. even chinese restaurants have from different city or province... here in sgp i think really unknown. i think there are 1 or 2 cat cafe here. not sure. lol if really want to see niche stuff you must go insta or tiktok or twitter follow some influencer.. the f&b is out of the way areas.. not ever in malls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 18 minutes ago, Porker said: The mall operators might also be limited to businesses with scale. The rents are making it hard for small businesses and transforming our retail scape to cookie cutter malls. yes thats why most niche cafes dont go to malls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: I mean our local domestic economy in terms of goods and services. More regarding diversity and vibrancy. Hard Truth is lot of things can't be of scale in a 5 mil population. For a niche service or clientele, your chance of expansion is virtually zero in Sg cos of the catchment area. For example in f&b... I'm not referring to your casual dining say Western food f&b outlet. If u specialise in Moroccan food. Well.. Chances are u can open exactly ONE restaurant in whole of sg. Cos the catchment is small. If you open a Guinea pig cafe, it's the same. Same if u do a parrot cafe. U would be hard pressed to even find enough regular customers here. But overseas you can see such concepts in many metropolises. This can also be extrapolated to many other sub niches which SMEs can exploit to survive in a city of 10-12 million. Size is vibrancy. Don't blame our mall operators for putting a Starbucks or the most common plain vanilla brands in the malls. It's the only thing that has enough mass appeal to pay the rent. 5m no scale. When it is 10m will still complain no scale cos can only open 2 Moroccan restaurants. You want 15m so can open 3? We do have eating out culture - just look at the hawker centres! And there are many with chain stalls, like Tender fresh chicken and the fried dough stall. High population density only leads to more stress and lower quality of life for most normal people. Good only for biz owners and taxman. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JanM 2nd Gear September 3, 2021 Share September 3, 2021 The way I see it, Singapore needs to import most of its food and stuff. This grows with the population. Thus if bigger population grow mostly the internal economy such as f&b services, property, health services (essentially 'ownself' sell to 'ownself'), where will the money to pay for the additional imports come from ? Also, how to justify if population - economy policy increase housing price from say 5 years of disposable income to 8 years of disposable income even while the disposable income increase? Or COE from 30K to 90K ? Likewise water, we only have a limited amount. Will there be enough for bigger population ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 (edited) 9 hours ago, Volvobrick said: 5m no scale. When it is 10m will still complain no scale cos can only open 2 Moroccan restaurants. You want 15m so can open 3? We do have eating out culture - just look at the hawker centres! And there are many with chain stalls, like Tender fresh chicken and the fried dough stall. High population density only leads to more stress and lower quality of life for most normal people. Good only for biz owners and taxman. Reality is that if u want organic growth, this is one of the proven ways to achieve it for cities. F&B/Eating out is just a visible sector. There are a lot of other niches (both consumer and in services) that are bottle-necked. But as a city state, there are less ways to relieve the pressure as well. Since we have no local hinterland (lol Johor doesn't count) or rural areas. After all prices of goods and services can't differ that much between say CBD vs AMK. And without migrants, we can't feed this metropolis. In other countries, it's fed by rural-urban migration. Here cannot. Oh well, won't have significant cross border migration for next few years. Anyway if there's no economic contraction for the next few years, already arm cheo liao Edited September 4, 2021 by Lala81 5 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 7 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Reality is that if u want organic growth, this is one of the proven ways to achieve it for cities. F&B/Eating out is just a visible sector. There are a lot of other niches (both consumer and in services) that are bottle-necked. But as a city state, there are less ways to relieve the pressure as well. Since we have no local hinterland (lol Johor doesn't count) or rural areas. After all prices of goods and services can't differ that much between say CBD vs AMK. And without migrants, we can't feed this metropolis. In other countries, it's fed by rural-urban migration. Here cannot. Oh well, won't have significant cross border migration for next few years. Anyway if there's no economic contraction for the next few years, already arm cheo liao but if keep like that it will become a vicious cycle with no end? when we hit 10 m we must aim 15m?? then what ? 20m? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 10 minutes ago, Beregond said: but if keep like that it will become a vicious cycle with no end? when we hit 10 m we must aim 15m?? then what ? 20m? Hopefully by then we will be rich enough and neighbors poor enough for us to join islands till the sisters…pray I reincarnate here as a chiongster so can clear carbon along the long bridge…a distant dream but don’t say neber…😆 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Beregond said: but if keep like that it will become a vicious cycle with no end? when we hit 10 m we must aim 15m?? then what ? 20m? Yes. It's a never ending search for equilibrium. Haha need to reflect in GE lor. 2011, we reflected right. But first we need more Singaporean kiddos lah. All is moot without more singaporean kids to support this. It's a chicken-egg scenario. Govt try so many years, can only slow the trend. TFR still around 1.3+. But an ageing society is definitely something we have to look at beyond Covid. Cos simply there won't be enough Singaporean youngsters to bear the tax burden for the rapidly ageing society. Older folks consume less, produce less. And once u end up like Italy, JP, it's just a slow spiral down. The frog doesn't know the water in the pot is boiling. Edited September 4, 2021 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 11 hours ago, Lala81 said: I mean our local domestic economy in terms of goods and services. More regarding diversity and vibrancy. Hard Truth is lot of things can't be of scale in a 5 mil population. For a niche service or clientele, your chance of expansion is virtually zero in Sg cos of the catchment area. For example in f&b... I'm not referring to your casual dining say Western food f&b outlet. If u specialise in Moroccan food. Well.. Chances are u can open exactly ONE restaurant in whole of sg. Cos the catchment is small. If you open a Guinea pig cafe, it's the same. Same if u do a parrot cafe. U would be hard pressed to even find enough regular customers here. But overseas you can see such concepts in many metropolises. This can also be extrapolated to many other sub niches which SMEs can exploit to survive in a city of 10-12 million. Size is vibrancy. Don't blame our mall operators for putting a Starbucks or the most common plain vanilla brands in the malls. It's the only thing that has enough mass appeal to pay the rent. But doc you forget, you assume these industries serve only local and a few PR and expats. Unfortunately Singapore is actually a living and breathing B&B, AirBnB, etc, so the catchment is really huge. We are importing huge numbers with huge disposable incomes. In addition, where in the world after 6months with S Pass can apply for PR status. The government is hell bend to ensure Singapore is literally a "free port" of call. Medical wise, can't be helped. Policies to reduce ratio of doctors to population, easy foreign doctors entry to our job market (see NUH), sub sub specialization of doctors, reduce foreign medical tourism and etc. If medical situation is bad, how could it be, IPOs applied and approved, VC bought over medical groups, MHC Asia sold to a foreign company and etc. GPs status had been elevated by their respective college by having "specialization". GPs are the cornerstone of every population. Polyclinics can supplement but cannot replace GPs. My fear is GPs like everything else may be "forced" to give up their independence by big groups like NTUC. Back to the communism. The communism has changed over the decades in China. There are some countries in the world preaching democracy but are more communistic than China. When we think or speak of China we forget, China is a huge country with a billion plus individuals of different social status compared to 5 plus MILLION in Singapore. We already have difficult fighting over racism what about magnifying the problem a few million times. In Singapore without a hard handed style of governing by our founding fathers do we think we could really be where we are now. You think managing a billion plus individuals with different ethnic base, social status, different education levels and etc, by using eg referendum can work in a democratic manner. Theory is different from practical. Furthermore in classroom we can fail and repeat but in real life it can mean life or death for the country. Of course, China can do better so can we, so what is the excuse for us with just 5 plus million people and we cant even get our act together. You imagine even clearing plates and trays need a law to be created in Singapore. We need proper perspective when we pass comments. Doc this post is not directed at you, just post everything in one post rather than all over the place. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 (edited) I think clearing plates is a holdover from our past. All i remember from school canteens are to clear the utensils or else. What happened to that legacy when we went out to the coffee shop or hawker centre? I remember searching for the bin but the table wiper came to take the plates...why like that? Contradicting policies. The law is the prefect at the canteen. Tie and grim expression. When the designated dictator is in charge. Freedom of choice is an obstacle when things need to be done efficiently -- sovereign no need to wear mask bleeding brit/ ex navy. Edited September 4, 2021 by Datsun366 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic September 4, 2021 Share September 4, 2021 2 hours ago, Beregond said: but if keep like that it will become a vicious cycle with no end? when we hit 10 m we must aim 15m?? then what ? 20m? Growing GDP via increasing population is the biggest Ponzi scheme in the world. ↡ Advertisement 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...