Mkl22 Supersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 11 hours ago, Ash2017 said: If you are open to suggestion consider blinds rather than curtains. Easier to maintain and cheaper. depends on what type but blinds typically cannot wash. can only clean. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 (edited) can try roman blinds for full dark out. Cons pull the string too vigorously and you run the risk of it snapping. Will need to change the strings every few years as it will turn brittle from element exposure better to dry clean the blinds (than washing them in the washing machine) to reduce shrinkage as they are made exactly to fit the windows the velcro strips on the blinds will lose its effectiveness after a few years and won't stick well. But if the blinds are still in good condition, the velcro strips can be replaced. Can do it together with the replacement of the pulling strings Pros looks neater than curtains can still achieve 99% full dark out except for the place where 2 blinds join I am not a fan of curtains. Have always found them frumpy looking and a major dust collector, esp where they are full length curtains. Don't try wooden blinds if you need full dark out. Plus it is damn difficult to clean them. I regret doing wooden blinds for my current place. Edited September 1, 2021 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Author Share September 1, 2021 Thanks guys for all the feedback. Think i will change back to curtain tracks. I'm not really a fan of blinds. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 @Lala81 , Congratulations to your new home. HUAT ah!!!! 🍍🍍🍍 I have used both tracks and poles, gave up on poles and stick to tracks ever since. Yes, poles look good but practically tracks take the gold. Use poles only when you keep the curtains close most of the time. If like us, the curtains are open in the day and close in the night, you will appreciate the easy of use provided by the tracks. In term of household soft finishing, curtains will always be better than blinds. The softer feels, better coverage and light blockage, easier maintenance is of consideration. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: @Lala81I will choose track. For cleaning wise, if really lazy to bring down and wash, you stand by a steamer and steam to kill germ and mite time to time lor. I have a steamer at home, if you want I can borrow you! 🙂 wah... i wash maybe once a year or two... and you don't even wash - so you win. once i wash cos got bloody lizard hid inside the curtain, and its shit/pee stained the curtain... this type steam can or not leh? 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 Other options for total black out...😁 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Thanks guys for all the feedback. Think i will change back to curtain tracks. I'm not really a fan of blinds. good choice 👍 Some of my blinds are damaged already, and i might need to replace them soon... 💸 where's your new place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 19 minutes ago, Atrecord said: wah... i wash maybe once a year or two... and you don't even wash - so you win. once i wash cos got bloody lizard hid inside the curtain, and its shit/pee stained the curtain... this type steam can or not leh? 😅 I dunno. My mother wash my curtain once a month. hahahha. So I never encounter any shit and pee. maybe you need some Mr Beckmann first before you steam. hahaha. https://www.lazada.sg/products/dr-beckmann-pre-wash-stain-remover-i301156766-s527256001.html?spm=a2o42.lazmart_categories.list.1.18e74655LIcP84&search=1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 26 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Other options for total black out...😁 2nd option best. can put a very mini aircon. lagi save power.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: 2nd option best. can put a very mini aircon. lagi save power.... got queen/king size option anot? If not how @Lala81 sleep with his wife? hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 32 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Other options for total black out...😁 you don't get @Jamesc start to intercept/hijack this thread with his overwhelming ideas of pole usage , not the north or south but the Thai type 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Share September 1, 2021 Just now, BanCoe said: you don't get @Jamesc start to intercept/hijack this thread with his overwhelming ideas of pole usage , not the north or south but the Thai type 🤣 You mean this type huh? I only only pole and track below 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Author Share September 1, 2021 2 hours ago, Atrecord said: good choice 👍 Some of my blinds are damaged already, and i might need to replace them soon... 💸 where's your new place? 1 estate away from where I'm staying now. my kids pri school, wife's family and my work are all in the north. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 1, 2021 Author Share September 1, 2021 On a separate note. Anyone knows a handyman good with repairing aluminium windows? Sliding mechanisms, spoilt latches etc/hinges. I only know contractors who make windows/doors. Don't think they repair them lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 10, 2022 Share August 10, 2022 http://www.singaporeblinds.com.sg/type-of-blinds/dual-shade-blinds/?keyword_k=%2Bzebra %2Bblinds&gclid=Cj0KCQjwrs2XBhDjARIsAHVymmRx0JwIhPpC5oL6JhPw9LLv0rGIKAxgONIN5BCgrJfVu4idZRCgIXwaAl9BEALw_wcB This is a good option Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 https://m.facebook.com/reel/1112840653079982/ 😜 Spoiler 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2024 at 2:44 PM, Mustank said: https://m.facebook.com/reel/1112840653079982/ 😜 Hide contents This one be long to tiko ranger thread lah 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2024 at 2:44 PM, Mustank said: https://m.facebook.com/reel/1112840653079982/ 😜 Hide contents And you also have another stranger videoing the whole thing... 😆 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...