13177 Hypersonic August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 4 hours ago, Beregond said: last time 2.5 year ns feel like jail. then another 10 cycle ict feel like never ending now suddenly i dun even remember some of the stuff i did during ict. 😅 I have better memories during my NSF days than ICT days. Dont really remember much for my ICT esp the training part, also dont know why? The only thing i remember for my ICT is i go canteen more often than going to cookhouse, and also quite look forward to TCSS with army mates. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 had cooked maggie mee in mess tin at one of the outfield (should be unit one, definitely couldn't be BMT or Sispec) heavenly, even though it's plain maggie mee with no ingredients, not even an egg tried to replicate the taste at home now but no such heavenly feelings liao 😂 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 14 minutes ago, Scion said: had cooked maggie mee in mess tin at one of the outfield (should be unit one, definitely couldn't be BMT or Sispec) heavenly, even though it's plain maggie mee with no ingredients, not even an egg tried to replicate the taste at home now but no such heavenly feelings liao 😂 you got to go outfield.. we go fishing bring mess tin and maggie mee.. got catch long kang fish also throw in to cook.. 😶 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 30 minutes ago, Scion said: had cooked maggie mee in mess tin at one of the outfield (should be unit one, definitely couldn't be BMT or Sispec) heavenly, even though it's plain maggie mee with no ingredients, not even an egg tried to replicate the taste at home now but no such heavenly feelings liao 😂 sala liao la deh...... cannot replicate at home one... you must at least go downstairs to the bushes of the local park.. or a dark corner of the car park, then the old school taste may come back 😆 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 34 minutes ago, Scion said: had cooked maggie mee in mess tin at one of the outfield (should be unit one, definitely couldn't be BMT or Sispec) heavenly, even though it's plain maggie mee with no ingredients, not even an egg tried to replicate the taste at home now but no such heavenly feelings liao 😂 Aiya, during NSF time, everything and anything do there would feel difference from civilian world de, even eating one packet of plain cooked maggie mee. Same like during outfield, can just lay on an open ground and sleep like a pig, and yet would not feel the ground is hard and uneven, or catch a cold. Lol. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 3 minutes ago, 13177 said: Aiya, during NSF time, everything and anything do there would feel difference from civilian world de, even eating one packet of plain cooked maggie mee. Same like during outfield, can just lay on an open ground and sleep like a pig, and yet would not feel the ground is hard and uneven, or catch a cold. Lol. thats the power of the saf uniform... ... ok not the temasek green or the pixel shit uniform Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 8 minutes ago, Nolicense said: thats the power of the saf uniform... ... ok not the temasek green or the pixel shit uniform Dont know it is the power of the SAF uniform or what le? Many things really miraculously happened during NSF/ICT which i myself also cannot believe. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 20 minutes ago, 13177 said: Dont know it is the power of the SAF uniform or what le? Many things really miraculously happened during NSF/ICT which i myself also cannot believe. Lol. true one, i also experienced that, once put on no.4, can lie down and sleep anywhere one.... 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 7 hours ago, Othello said: "Newer" rations. Most popular is Glutinous rice with Chicken. Mutton korma i think everyone threw away. I still remember desserts like Red Bean Soup and Bubor Terigu. I am lucky, I am with a vehicle, so at least our meals were warm new rations: i thought the muslim menu is better than the non-muslim ones. The worst was savory rice with chicken. Even stray dogs rejected it. My fav was satay pasta. i was never a fan of the packet liquid desserts so i always gave those away. The guys would often pass me the biscuits in exchange. Win-win situation. my BMT was NSF cook (nee soon camp) but after that, camps had outsourced cookhouse which was much better. At that time i initially thought that it was because no more chao recruit so the cookhouse was better lol NSF days: during brunei small team topo exercise, i finished the 3D2N topo with most of my combat rations intact. Only ate the biscuits and powdered sachets. Carried the deadweight food packs over the rolling hills for nothing lol. Also came back to camp with 1.5L of tap water originally from the camp LOL so for the next overseas exercise, i thought i would be smarter and threw away all the contents of the green packs soon after start topo exercise. Didn't take into consideration the different terrain and weather (winter). Good memories of cooking maggie mee on mountain top at night in winter then Charlie Mike after makan because it was too cold to sleep. Got cold and hungry most of the time. My team finished the topo Ex in 36hrs, while the exercise plan was for 72hrs. i guess light weight was good afterall. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 12, 2021 Share August 12, 2021 (edited) 15 hours ago, Albeniz said: Just curious, how is the quality of cookhouse food nowadays as compared to 20 years ago? heaven and Earth. haha. yet got people still cannot take it. Every meal eat canteen. 14 hours ago, Beregond said: last time 2.5 year ns feel like jail. then another 10 cycle ict feel like never ending now suddenly i dun even remember some of the stuff i did during ict. 😅 I MR-ed 2008. Looking back, i wished I still have my ICT. Yeah its siong, but we were more or less in Auto mode when we go in for ICT each time. But the talking cock, 5 people share 1 stick of cigarettes, the nights off, the football/basketball sessions. the booze ............. simply PRICELESS. Feels great to meet the old bunch and reminisce 13 hours ago, Nolicense said: wa feb 2019.. still got ah? i find it pointless bringing powder... always wet in jungle and powder also wet cannot use.. make do with hk feet until rod hehe. my platoon mates used this AFTER showering with jerry can ................. outfield ! 13 hours ago, Playtime said: I still remember much later in reservist when ration truck sent cai png in styrofoam box... we'd break a corner of tbe box and use as spoon. 🤣 That day, me and a old regular had our field lunch delivered, and we start eating old fashioned way, actually won't lose to coffee shop cai png. We both been through the old days of eating field lunch packed in packages of meal bags... a mixed mess in plastic bag 🤪 The young driver complained that the lunch was inedible.. me and the old regular, we just looked at each other, and smiled.. 肝胆相照,尽在不言中...🤣🤣🤣 this !!! 7 hours ago, Shibadog said: new rations: i thought the muslim menu is better than the non-muslim ones. The worst was savory rice with chicken. Even stray dogs rejected it. My fav was satay pasta. i was never a fan of the packet liquid desserts so i always gave those away. The guys would often pass me the biscuits in exchange. Win-win situation. my BMT was NSF cook (nee soon camp) but after that, camps had outsourced cookhouse which was much better. At that time i initially thought that it was because no more chao recruit so the cookhouse was better lol NSF days: during brunei small team topo exercise, i finished the 3D2N topo with most of my combat rations intact. Only ate the biscuits and powdered sachets. Carried the deadweight food packs over the rolling hills for nothing lol. Also came back to camp with 1.5L of tap water originally from the camp LOL so for the next overseas exercise, i thought i would be smarter and threw away all the contents of the green packs soon after start topo exercise. Didn't take into consideration the different terrain and weather (winter). Good memories of cooking maggie mee on mountain top at night in winter then Charlie Mike after makan because it was too cold to sleep. Got cold and hungry most of the time. My team finished the topo Ex in 36hrs, while the exercise plan was for 72hrs. i guess light weight was good afterall. ahhhhhh, i remember Savory Rice !!! LOL. yeah it sucks !!!! It was hard 🤮 Brunei .......... wonderful memories. Was at Jalan Aman Camp for 2 weeks. Weekends, went to BSB town to jalan jalan, took a river "cruise", went to Jerudong theme Park (FREE rides), went to the beach, went to the only Yaohan in Brunei etc Edited August 12, 2021 by Othello 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 8 minutes ago, Othello said: heaven and Earth. haha. yet got people still cannot take it. Every meal eat canteen. I MR-ed 2008. Looking back, i wished I still have my ICT. Yeah its siong, but we were more or less in Auto mode when we go in for ICT each time. But the talking cock, 5 people share 1 stick of cigarettes, the nights off, the football/basketball sessions. the booze ............. simply PRICELESS. Feels great to meet the old bunch and reminisce hehe. my platoon mates used this AFTER showering with jerry can ................. outfield ! this !!! ahhhhhh, i remember Savory Rice !!! LOL. yeah it sucks !!!! It was hard 🤮 Brunei .......... wonderful memories. Was at Jalan Aman Camp for 2 weeks. Weekends, went to BSB town to jalan jalan, took a river "cruise", went to Jerudong theme Park (FREE rides), went to the beach, went to the only Yaohan in Brunei etc brunei.... haiz.... mucho memories... best cookhouse is one. really feel like restaurant standard hahahaha.... big head river prawns ... yummy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 1 hour ago, Othello said: heaven and Earth. haha. yet got people still cannot take it. Every meal eat canteen. I MR-ed 2008. Looking back, i wished I still have my ICT. Yeah its siong, but we were more or less in Auto mode when we go in for ICT each time. But the talking cock, 5 people share 1 stick of cigarettes, the nights off, the football/basketball sessions. the booze ............. simply PRICELESS. Feels great to meet the old bunch and reminisce hehe. my platoon mates used this AFTER showering with jerry can ................. outfield ! this !!! ahhhhhh, i remember Savory Rice !!! LOL. yeah it sucks !!!! It was hard 🤮 Brunei .......... wonderful memories. Was at Jalan Aman Camp for 2 weeks. Weekends, went to BSB town to jalan jalan, took a river "cruise", went to Jerudong theme Park (FREE rides), went to the beach, went to the only Yaohan in Brunei etc MR-ed in 2008, as in completed the full 13 cycles of reservist in 2008? Wow! I am your nephew! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 20 minutes ago, Albeniz said: MR-ed in 2008, as in completed the full 13 cycles of reservist in 2008? Wow! I am your nephew! for my unit, got some discount I think, 10 cycles nia 😁 ORD 1997 ROD 2008 every year kenna called back 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 16 hours ago, Nolicense said: wa feb 2019.. still got ah? i find it pointless bringing powder... always wet in jungle and powder also wet cannot use.. make do with hk feet until rod Hmm the snake powder is a must for me. my skin cannot survive otherwise. It's always in the old field pack side pouch for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 18 hours ago, Albeniz said: Just curious, how is the quality of cookhouse food nowadays as compared to 20 years ago? I probably have the "privilege" of going all different eras. In the early 90s when NSF cooks, i did NCC camps in SAF camps. Think it's amoy quee camp. The food is pretty shitty. Though i went to the Naval base once and the food was nice. NCC camps also eat expiring combat rations just like normal NSF. 1999/2000 enlisted SAF 1st time. Disrupted then 2006-2008 go back. Then ICT from 2010 to 2018. Think other than commonality of sucky food for breakfast, since the outsourcing era, food is pretty constant quality. Though i feel the food has improved from even the 1st two times i did NS. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 Does anyone have a recent photo how modern SAF outsourced food look like? Just curious. My memory was still stuck at ITD Pulau Tekong Camp 2 where the mee tasted like rubber band. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 12 hours ago, Scion said: had cooked maggie mee in mess tin at one of the outfield (should be unit one, definitely couldn't be BMT or Sispec) heavenly, even though it's plain maggie mee with no ingredients, not even an egg tried to replicate the taste at home now but no such heavenly feelings liao 😂 The best apple I've had is the one i ate while waiting for Tonner to pick us up at the end of exercise Nutcracker (trench digging). I still remember it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Albeniz said: Does anyone have a recent photo how modern SAF outsourced food look like? Just curious. My memory was still stuck at ITD Pulau Tekong Camp 2 where the mee tasted like rubber band. Just looks like cai peng. Pretty decent one. Honestly it's standard is the same as Chang Cheng mixed rice that u see in Kopitiams all across singapore. But more healthy/bland type lah. But i don't eat BF lah, which is supposedly still shit haha Edited August 13, 2021 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...