shrjun 5th Gear August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 (edited) On 8/12/2021 at 5:42 PM, Stratovarius said: What u can do is the go YouTube and search for the carpark u plan to park before going out. There's a channel that does that. They will show u the road to go in (which Google maps is not very helpful in) and how the carpark looks like inside. Like this: That actually doesn't look bad though. Someone once told me that if the B pillar of a car crosses a pillar or wall in a carpark with acute angle turns , it's safe to make a hard turn to navigate left or right. Edited August 13, 2021 by shrjun ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 50 minutes ago, shrjun said: That actually doesn't look bad though. Someone once told me that if the B pillar of a car crosses a pillar or wall in a carpark with acute angle turns , it's safe to make a hard turn to navigate left or right. Car cams are mostly wide angles. So things seen are a little wider. I only went in once before so couldn't remember much. I only remember I will avoid it at all cost. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear August 13, 2021 Share August 13, 2021 Go youtube and search "carparks of sg". There are many videos there giving you a preview of many carparks. If you don't like what you see, find an alternative cp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventa 3rd Gear August 14, 2021 Share August 14, 2021 @13177 The ramp area seemed quite tight for my case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 On 8/14/2021 at 2:15 AM, Ganwb79 said: Go youtube and search "carparks of sg". There are many videos there giving you a preview of many carparks. If you don't like what you see, find an alternative cp i've watched their videos before but there are some that are a little outdated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 On 8/13/2021 at 10:54 AM, PSP415 said: TS, for HDB mcsp especially, avoid parking on those with protruding rails. Seen at least a Wish and a CRZ with rear windscreen smashed cos parked too close. I am guessing your dad is prepared for his Wish to obtain a few "battle scars from pillar/walls/curbs" from his response to your question on which carparks to avoid. Sometimes, you will be surprised or shocked to learn vital parking skills from these difficult/incredibly poorly designed carparks (a common joke amongst friends is that these architects either do not drive or they angry not paid promptly by clients😂). Overcome your fears and try out some of these carparks. Honestly, it's a good skill but one where no shortcuts will offer itself, at least not without some scars. Main thing is to be calm and try not to drift or go against flow of traffic inside 😳😂😂. And, dun be intimidated by others. Most if not all, started with a L plate before P plate too. Good luck 👍 Stay safe Cheers Actually, I did bump his car against a pillar in my HDB MSCP during my first few times commandeering it 😓. This resulted in $4k worth of repairs, which is why I'm a bit hesitant about driving it in carparks now. But thanks for the tip, I'll try my best to keep his vehicle scratch-free. 👍 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 13 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: Actually, I did bump his car against a pillar in my HDB MSCP during my first few times commandeering it 😓. This resulted in $4k worth of repairs, which is why I'm a bit hesitant about driving it in carparks now. But thanks for the tip, I'll try my best to keep his vehicle scratch-free. 👍 How bad did you bump the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 15 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: Actually, I did bump his car against a pillar in my HDB MSCP during my first few times commandeering it 😓. This resulted in $4k worth of repairs, which is why I'm a bit hesitant about driving it in carparks now. But thanks for the tip, I'll try my best to keep his vehicle scratch-free. 👍 i hope the pillar is fine 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 16 minutes ago, RadX said: i hope the pillar is fine the pillar is but the car wasn't 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 18 minutes ago, inlinesix said: How bad did you bump the car? It was quite bad. The dent was right smack in the middle of the front bumper so he couldn't open the bonnet (and the mechanic said they would have to replace the whole bumper and headlights as well). The car plate was dislodged so they had to fix it back in too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 9 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: It was quite bad. The dent was right smack in the middle of the front bumper so he couldn't open the bonnet (and the mechanic said they would have to replace the whole bumper and headlights as well). The car plate was dislodged so they had to fix it back in too. It is okay as long as nothing major. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 Just now, inlinesix said: It is okay as long as nothing major. maybe cos it was my first time causing damage to a car but I think having to pay $4k for repairs is quite major leh 😞 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 5 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: maybe cos it was my first time causing damage to a car but I think having to pay $4k for repairs is quite major leh 😞 $4k is a.big amount to pay even though the damage is not major. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
unicornfloof 2nd Gear August 16, 2021 Author Share August 16, 2021 18 minutes ago, inlinesix said: $4k is a.big amount to pay even though the damage is not major. yeaa so that's why 😞 idk if my dad is joking with the amount to scare me or what but for someone who had to pay $4k in repairs, he wasn't as upset as I thought he would be 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 How about worst P plate driver in carparks? Those who have yellow paint scraped on their passenger doors (making the turn too early). One recent one I saw is a bmw sedan(entry model lah) being towed to the dealership workshop. The rear passenger door has such a huge dent(pillar) that the door remains widely ajar in closed position. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 Woodlands Dr 14 Blk 517-Blk 52x MSCP carparks. Seen so many cars kena badly. Ever helped a young chap drove his car down after witnessing him kena both sides of his car badly...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 36 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: yeaa so that's why 😞 idk if my dad is joking with the amount to scare me or what but for someone who had to pay $4k in repairs, he wasn't as upset as I thought he would be He probably added a zero to the bill. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 40 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: yeaa so that's why 😞 idk if my dad is joking with the amount to scare me or what but for someone who had to pay $4k in repairs, he wasn't as upset as I thought he would be Me thinks he did a major adjustment to the repairs bill 😉😂. Did you not finding one leg longer than the other as u walked that day he told you this amount? Of course, let's not make him really upset. Drive safe and practice defensive driving at all times, not just in challenging carparks. Stay safe Cheers ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...