Is it easier to park a car with or without cars around you?

unicornfloof

18 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

One time while driving my colleagues out to lunch I encountered an auntie who took many tries to reverse her little hatch into the lot. I was cursing and swearing inside the car saying something like "car so small still cannot go in".

Then when the auntie managed to go in she waved at me thanking her for my patience. I smiled and wave back. My colleagues say I hypocrite. 🤣

Not wrong that your colleague say you are hypocrite la?! 😂 If for me i dont even bother to smile and wave back. 😅

9 hours ago, yishunite said:

When I was in NS i find parking 3/5/7 tonner easier than parking Landrover... coz ur position further forward and higher over the turning front wheel somehow made it easier. Same thing GP car was for me the hardest coz so low to ground...

But basically experience overcomes everything

Some people park by seeing line, some people park by seeing car coz their mirror never angle to see the line properly 🤣 my dad till the day he died always had to open his car door to see whether his parking straight...

Sometimes i also need to open door to see if parking is straight. 😅  I never drive tonner or even high vehicle before, so dont know if it is easier to park than a lower vehicle? But when i see those tonner, so big and high, if asked me to drive, dont think i can handle? Lol.

7 hours ago, Phluvcat said:

Always at an angle except parallel parking, better reverse entry angle and reduce stationary scrubbing of tyres

And also prevent those KNN ones who may attempt squeeze past you while you are maneuvering into the lot 😬

KNN driver who squeeze past you while you are parking is common, dont know why these people are so impatience?

These was even once when i entered a carpark, when i saw a lot and so turned to an angle to park. Then the car behind must be followed too closely and honked and stare at me for “dangerous” driving and squeezed past me! 😅

Wa slow day? This type of thread can go into 7 pages.

I have a bit of OCD and I usually park my car at the furthest end of the carpark with no other cars there to avoid scratches.

40 minutes ago, 13177 said:

KNN driver who squeeze past you while you are parking is common, dont know why these people are so impatience?

These was even once when i entered a carpark, when i saw a lot and so turned to an angle to park. Then the car behind must be followed too closely and honked and stare at me for “dangerous” driving and squeezed past me! 😅

Knn this is called defensive parking technique.

Whether parking, driving or stopped, can adopt such defensive positioning to prevent jokers trying their luck 😬🤣💪

21 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

How is he able to fit the car into the lot when his car is about 1m longer than your sharan ?  Rolls royce is about 5.6m ?

Cullinan is about 5.3m in length iirc. I think the owner parked it when the lot in front was empty. The space behind of the RR is about the same as the front (in the photo). 

Actually I park in front of it for fun, parked, come down took photo and move on. Was toying with the idea of leaving my car there to see if the RR owner can make it out of the lot (I believe Cullinan has full auto parking capability) but my wife said I damn boh liao. :D :D

2 hours ago, Hamburger said:

@Carbon82 

Bro, the blue car in front is self explanatory. Look at the passenger window and the answer is clear, or not clear. Pun intended. 

Went to eat prawn mee huh.. 🤓

Yah now that you mentioned, it is self explainary... 

I was there during the previous heighten alert, not recently. Maybe prawn mee for lunch tomorrow, idea! [:)]

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Same car? But how come rims different le? 😅

Here's the time line:

• Photo with RR taken in late 2019
  • Changed my rims and tyres in end 2020
  • Took the photo at Loyang in May 2021

All clear now? :D

• Haha! 9

56 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Cullinan is about 5.3m in length iirc. I think the owner parked it when the lot in front was empty. The space behind of the RR is about the same as the front (in the photo). 

Actually I park in front of it for fun, parked, come down took photo and move on. Was toying with the idea of leaving my car there to see if the RR owner can make it out of the lot (I believe Cullinan has full auto parking capability) but my wife said I damn boh liao. :D :D

Yah now that you mentioned, it is self explainary... 

I was there during the previous heighten alert, not recently. Maybe prawn mee for lunch tomorrow, idea! [:)]

Here's the time line:

• Photo with RR taken in late 2019
  • Changed my rims and tyres in end 2020
  • Took the photo at Loyang in May 2021

All clear now? :D

Thought my flowery eyes see wrongly that the rims is different?! Cause the old and new rims design like quite similar?! Lol.

1 hour ago, Weez911 said:

Wa slow day? This type of thread can go into 7 pages.

I have a bit of OCD and I usually park my car at the furthest end of the carpark with no other cars there to avoid scratches.

You can only do this when the carpark is empty and not a busy carpark. If it is a busy carpark, you park where also would have other cars come park next to you de.

I have a friend when park at those HDB MSCP, he would purposely drive up to the higher deck when there is no cars to park, even the lower deck only have few cars he also dont want to park.

11 minutes ago, 13177 said:

You can only do this when the carpark is empty and not a busy carpark. If it is a busy carpark, you park where also would have other cars come park next to you de.

I have a friend when park at those HDB MSCP, he would purposely drive up to the higher deck when there is no cars to park, even the lower deck only have few cars he also dont want to park.

That's what I do too, I will go straight to the higher floors. For basement carpark I will go straight to the lowest level. I also tend to avoid going to busy places where I can't find parking. I blame my OCD.

8 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

That's what I do too, I will go straight to the higher floors. For basement carpark I will go straight to the lowest level. I also tend to avoid going to busy places where I can't find parking. I blame my OCD.

Like that you have limited places to go liao. Since difficult to find a carpark which have not many cars, esp malls and eatery places.

19 minutes ago, 13177 said:

When one parks at those highest level or empty level or remote corner of carparks sometimes can see people doing exercises or physical activities or just lazing there. 😅

IMG_20210613_151148~(1).jpg

IMG_20210531_084757.jpg

IMG_20210704_142600.jpg

15 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

When one parks at those highest level or empty level or remote corner of carparks sometimes can see people doing exercises or physical activities or just lazing there. 😅

IMG_20210613_151148~(1).jpg

IMG_20210531_084757.jpg

IMG_20210704_142600.jpg

got couple testing their shocks system also. 

Learnt to use your two side mirror.

learnt To judge where is your rear wheel from your side mirror.

The same day my kid got the license, we went car park to re learn real world parking.

Driving school only teach you how to pass.

I think generally for perpendicular lots better to park tail in so that it is easier to drive off because it is harder to reverse out if there are cars parking besides you.

Sometimes even if the adjacent lots have no cars when your just parked, some cars may come afterward and park beside your car.

Unless for that perpendicular lot which you can reverse out straight, like those lots in front of a ramp; you may head in straight and reverse out straight.

12 hours ago, 13177 said:

If you used your hazards when intending to park then yeah the guy who squeezed past you is a dick. 

I've also personally encountered those drive 4-5 lots past an empty one before deciding to take that lot. And they don't even use their hazard lights; they simply throw the car into R gear and start going backwards. 

For this kind of champion, I will normally beep the shit out of them - and even harder and longer if there's a long chain of cars behind me. Proper driving etiquette mandates good use of hazards in advance - not parking with a I'm-the-boss mentality.

1 hour ago, Comage said:

If you used your hazards when intending to park then yeah the guy who squeezed past you is a dick. 

I've also personally encountered those drive 4-5 lots past an empty one before deciding to take that lot. And they don't even use their hazard lights; they simply throw the car into R gear and start going backwards. 

For this kind of champion, I will normally beep the shit out of them - and even harder and longer if there's a long chain of cars behind me. Proper driving etiquette mandates good use of hazards in advance - not parking with a I'm-the-boss mentality.

Well, I disagree with you.

I will squeeze through the front of reversing car fast.

In addition, I don’t use hazard light as I am not a hazard while parking.

I use signal to show the direction I intend to reverse to.