DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 10 minutes ago, 13177 said: This why most often the dents and dings on your car door often is found on rear passenger doors. Many passengers simply just swing open the door hard and wide. Some taxi drivers or PHV drivers also have accounts that their passengers opened doors negligently and caused accidents. :// ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 At least nowadays almost all cars have reverse parking radars and alarm (and some even front ones too). A quarter century ago when I got my DL where got such features on cars. I had to use my gut instinct. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 10 minutes ago, Lala81 said: You will get used to it. My friend wanted to change to suv when his kid arrives. But his wife is like a newbie driver. I advised don't give a new driver too wide or big a car, unnecessary stress. I saw a young man trying to park his family old rx300 at my parents carpark. It was a torture. The time he took, I could have parked ten cars. Wish isn't too bad. But yeah definitely longer than a city. Unless it is a GLS, SUV are just tall, no longer than sedans. The young man was just CMI... Anything less than 5m long is OK. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 6 hours ago, unicornfloof said: So I recently passed my driver's license and have been parking in empty lots whenever I can (because it's easier for me). However, my friends have told me that they think it's much easier to park with cars on either side. I don't agree with them (mainly because I am scared that I will hit a car while reversing), but I do wonder if that is the case for most drivers. Is it true that it is easier to park with cars around and if so, what are some tips in doing it properly? 😓 Must check all 3 rear mirror constantly. Esp left n right 1. If both clear confirm can go in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 (edited) 28 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Unless it is a GLS, SUV are just tall, no longer than sedans. The young man was just CMI... Anything less than 5m long is OK. I thought some old aunty or uncle eyesight not good. But saw the P plate. Rx300 is a mid sized suv lah. Haha definitely bigger than what he passed his driving test in. Maybe his first drive post driving test pass! His family inside. Haha more stress. Edited August 3, 2021 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 33 minutes ago, unicornfloof said: not sure if i replied to this yet but thank you for the tips! i've been practicing my parking late at night too (in an empty floor of my mscp carpark) but i realised it is much harder to visualise the lines of the parking spot (because it's faded) and i end up not entering the correct lot 😞 i've done everything from tilting my windows down and sticking my head out but i think i'm not used to driving a family car Some tips to share: 1 - Make sure u can see the front of the car you want to park beside on ur side view mirror and stay some distance from the side you want to reverse too. i think this is taught in school. 2 - Pa reverse and turn the steering wheel accordingly. 3 - If parking to the left, make sure your left rear wheel is as close to the front corner of the right bumper of the car beside you. tilt your mirror down or use those curve round mirrors. 4 - once you clear ur left side at the correct approach angle, your right should clear very easily or vice versa unless you driving lorry or a car with long rear overhang. If your approach angle is no good, you need to move forward and try again. 5 - You can adjust the position as you straighten your car while reversing. Point 4 is the most important. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: You will get used to it. My friend wanted to change to suv when his kid arrives. But his wife is like a newbie driver. I advised don't give a new driver too wide or big a car, unnecessary stress. I saw a young man trying to park his family old rx300 at my parents carpark. It was a torture. The time he took, I could have parked ten cars. Wish isn't too bad. But yeah definitely longer than a city. Despite driving daily close to 2 years (after getting her license), my wife had a problem parking BMW 5 series. The ole 5 series length is less than 4.8m. Not a good idea to change to SUV. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 6 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Despite driving daily close to 2 years (after getting her license), my wife had a problem parking BMW 5 series. The ole 5 series length is less than 4.8m. Not a good idea to change to SUV. Change wife😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Just now, RadX said: Change wife😂 I changed car. She doesn't know how to drive MRS 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: Not sure if anyone experiences this. The weirdest feeling is when u are reversing into a lot and the car beside u (which u are using for reference) is moving off also. U get this sense of the world is moving for a few seconds. Its very common for school runs drop-off points in hdb carparks. In such cases, sometimes I felt like I wanna vomit, probably cos my brain is perceiving something different to physical reality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Just now, Phluvcat said: In such cases, sometimes I felt like I wanna vomit, probably cos my brain is perceiving something different to physical reality. Sounds like a dollyZoom shot😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 I park better with cars around as my mirrors all positioned for driving, and I never adjust them. So I cannot see the lines with ease unless I straighten out my car reasonably parallel to the lines. So means I tend to need to make more adjustments when the lots are empty. But no biggie. Yeah sounds ironic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 5 minutes ago, RadX said: Sounds like a dollyZoom shot😂 U do that to Koba, and now u making me feel stupid or useless... even I googled the meaning of dollyzoom, I dun understand the explanation 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Hahha 1 minute ago, Phluvcat said: U do that to Koba, and now u making me feel stupid or useless... even I googled the meaning of dollyzoom, I dun understand the explanation 😂 Cue Hitchcock movies 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 27 minutes ago, Phluvcat said: In such cases, sometimes I felt like I wanna vomit, probably cos my brain is perceiving something different to physical reality. I usually stop moving the car when it happens. Haha if longer, I may feel nausea. I get motion sick quite easily when this stuff happens. Interesting fact. nowadays for driving licence, u need to do computer simulation driving. So some people come see me to get excuse for simulator induced motion sickness. Can be quite severe for some of them. I would probably be one also if it existed in my time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Recently changed to a longer car after driving a hatch and vezel last 10 years, also a bit apprehensive if I have to parallel park at crowded and tight lots now. Cos hardly got any chance to drive, much less parking parallel! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Please learn to park before parking near me 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jakobe Neutral Newbie August 3, 2021 Share August 3, 2021 Yeah, try to say that for this guy. Omg. Gas Mileage Calculator ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...