BanCoe Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 22 minutes ago, Tianmo said: Just don't shout, " who moved my cheese?!!!!" ..... Sounds like a Mickey Mouse story ......ok ok back to topic ! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 35 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: The photo you posted are good ones. Got springs at the rim and the backboard got mechanism will move down. Here the rim are bolted to the backboard. Alamak, the rim diameter compare to the structure, which one will bend first? You can hang all 5 players also won't bend the structure lah. It is the footing installation. I want to believe, no proper supervision or rather person supervising the installation has no knowledge of structural installation. It is just a group of workers from the sub-contractor and someone sign the paper work. Better start checking all the installations done by this company liao 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Alamak, the rim diameter compare to the structure, which one will bend first? You can hang all 5 players also won't bend the structure lah. It is the footing installation. I want to believe, no proper supervision or rather person supervising the installation has no knowledge of structural installation. It is just a group of workers from the sub-contractor and someone sign the paper work. Better start checking all the installations done by this company liao Yes no doubt the structure is weak at the floor part but this was the photo that posted. This one is good stuff. The whole backboard will drop down like a pivot and the rim will bend downwards if you pull it. So even if the floor part is weak, I believe it will not collapse like this freak accident. Edited July 28, 2021 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Yes no doubt the structure is weak at the floor part but this was the photo that posted. This one is good stuff. The whole backboard will drop down like a pivot and the rim will bend downwards if you pull it. So even if the floor part is weak, I believe it will not collapse like this freak accident. Install this in Singapore, people will abuse it and damaged in no time. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 2 hours ago, Carbon82 said: Improper installation (e.g. casting, mounting angle, mounting depth, poor welding / joint, etc.) i have a feeling it looks like improper installation. it alone is enough for it to fall.. but if it has redundancies like multiple poles inserted in the ground maybe still can see damage without complete failure. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 Basketball Association President said Don’t slam dunk at neighbourhood basketball court 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 Wah, chop chop remove evidence ah. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 17 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Basketball Association President said Don’t slam dunk at neighbourhood basketball court There are many of them, their aim is to one day able to slam dunk. So instead of trying to solve the problem of having a stronger structure, now divert the solution is to have no slam dunk? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 4 hours ago, Scion said: guess u dun play basketball our public basketball courts are not meant for dunking.. the rims are rigid and bolted to the board, they dun have the spring loaded feature that can damp the impact of the dunk Ya. Was going to say our hdb bb courts are different from the ones we see on NBA. Cannot compare. When excessive force is exerted on a structure, the weakest link will fail first. In this case is not the joint connecting the rim to the board nor the structure itself. I have no doubt the structure can take 200kg easily. The structure fell down because the anchor point of the base gave way. This is likely the issue with the contractor/installer. Either method or material used. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 25 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Wah, chop chop remove evidence ah. Yeah. Potential crime scene. Criminal negligence. What to expect? Last time remove forest, now dig up the whole foundation so nothing to inspect. I know what the excuse would be - so that no new victim while investigations are ongoing. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 14 minutes ago, Yewheng said: There are many of them, their aim is to one day able to slam dunk. So instead of trying to solve the problem of having a stronger structure, now divert the solution is to have no slam dunk? Cos that would mean admitting their criminal liability. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 1 hour ago, Fcw75 said: Wah, chop chop remove evidence ah. Likely the insurers and involved parties must have take photos/videos of evidence of the premises already; this days the technology is good so its quite easy........ same as in car accident surveyors too ; the main structure might be kept still likely 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 whether our neighbourhood basketball court can slam dunk or not is 1 issue. the 1 designing and building the court must take in mind that kids or players will still slam dunk no matter what , and they must design build that basketball court to be able to withstand those abuse. if they cannot even have this foresight, they cannot be in charge of our neighbourhood. to use this as an excuse is even more lame, and will lost them more votes. the investigation haven complete, i tiam tiam first. 7 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 6 minutes ago, Beregond said: whether our neighbourhood basketball court can slam dunk or not is 1 issue. the 1 designing and building the court must take in mind that kids or players will still slam dunk no matter what , and they must design build that basketball court to be able to withstand those abuse. if they cannot even have this foresight, they cannot be in charge of our neighbourhood. to use this as an excuse is even more lame, and will lost them more votes. the investigation haven complete, i tiam tiam first. Prefer the last time design.. so strong structure.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 17 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Prefer the last time design.. so strong structure.. Maybe they must have found it not modern/ trendy looking and like “ rimless” and need updates and ended up with this tragic event ….. isn’t it the same with cars ….. they get smart but drivers are …… well …. Whatever that comes to your mind 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 (edited) If play basketball cannot slam dunk, they should put up a signboard to warn people, instead of telling people after the unfortunate incident don't slam dunk. Last time in my Sec School and JC, all those who can slam dunk will show off every time they play basketball. How can kids tell which structure can slam dunk and which one can't? This is not reasonable expectation for kids. Even an old man like me can't tell (although I can't slam dunk). Play taichi until like that. Edited July 28, 2021 by Weez911 8 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 On 7/27/2021 at 3:57 PM, Volvobrick said: From 1st World to 3rd, faster than when we went from 3rd to 1st! That's the current Sg. That's because our maintenance and construction works are mainly sub-con to 3rd world folks, so what do you expect? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 28, 2021 Share July 28, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Beregond said: whether our neighbourhood basketball court can slam dunk or not is 1 issue. the 1 designing and building the court must take in mind that kids or players will still slam dunk no matter what , and they must design build that basketball court to be able to withstand those abuse. if they cannot even have this foresight, they cannot be in charge of our neighbourhood. to use this as an excuse is even more lame, and will lost them more votes. the investigation haven complete, i tiam tiam first. So jhek ark - already given up to be in charge of the country, now you don't allow him to be in charge of your neighbourhood..... Edited July 28, 2021 by Volvobrick ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...