Budget phones in the market

BabyBlade

36 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

lol no la. since xiaomi redmi started whole family 6pax use them so many many old phone lor - everyone every 2-3 yr chg a new one. this pic is not everything. got more. 

must be clear who u messaging using which wa account lor. heeheehee.

Not easy to be clear on who you messaging hor. Even now only one line one wa account, with many different chatrm on wa, sometimes also can message to the wrong one. 😅

5 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

For ard $200 xiaomi is the best. Cant find anything cheaper or better than xiaomi at this price point

changed from those high end phones previously, Samsung Note 8 etc to Xiaomi Note 9S $200++, quite worth the price. Not going to pay anything above $500 anymore. 

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

How not to let wife find the other phone le? 😂

buy exactly the same model phone. install exactly the same apps.

then install secret app on the other phone that is hidden. 

meanwhile allow CO to freely use your first phone.

never let the 2 phones appear together

8 hours ago, BabyBlade said:

Recently just got a second phone for work. The Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G. Got it from Circles @ $329 w/o plan, and because there is a 3rd year anniversary bonus from Circles, it's another $100 off the phone. So essentially I only paid $229 with free Xiaomi Wireless Earbuds. 

If you're out in the market for a budget phone, I think this is decent. Built quality good, design good, interface good. For the budget price I paid, pretty impressive.

Total damage: Phone $229, Tempered glass $10, MyRepublic Lite $10/month. 

Price look very good. My current Poco X3 NFC was almost killed by my 3 yr old. He dipped in a pail of water. First it work a little funny, I thought it's dead, but after a few days of drying, it came back alive, but now the screen is quite dim, a few LEDs probably went bust. I was looking for a replacement, and this price might be suitable. Thanks.

So how do you get the $100 off ? I see their price on website is $329.

Edited by Kb27

3 hours ago, 13177 said:

Sometimes if you got too many lines, you might also get confused which line is for what purpose liao?! 😂

Scarly  answer 美女 on the wrong line..🤣

1 hour ago, Kb27 said:

Price look very good. My current Poco X3 NFC was almost killed by my 3 yr old. He dipped in a pail of water. First it work a little funny, I thought it's dead, but after a few days of drying, it came back alive, but now the screen is quite dim, a few LEDs probably went bust. I was looking for a replacement, and this price might be suitable. Thanks.

So how do you get the $100 off ? I see their price on website is $329.

I thought nowaday phone should be ip6?

2 hours ago, Dafansu said:

changed from those high end phones previously, Samsung Note 8 etc to Xiaomi Note 9S $200++, quite worth the price. Not going to pay anything above $500 anymore. 

Should not the camera quality defer ?

22 minutes ago, Kopites said:

I thought nowaday phone should be ip6?

I understand only high-end, high-price phones comes with ip6

8 hours ago, BabyBlade said:

This one has NFC. The size of this is comparable to my Mate 20 Pro. I would say if one is out in the market for a smartphone with extremely good camera then maybe this Redmi is out. But other than that, seems perfectly usable. The Apples and Samsungs are too overpriced these days.

I've mentioned a few times that these entry mod tier phones are good enough. They feel "light". Less processing powers and thus less power consumption. 

Most consumers will not fully utilize the full capabilities of those flagship phones anyway but will buy for the camera. Which most mid tiers will cut corners.

But 1 thing I don't like about Xiaomi is their MIUI. Only Chinese phone ui I like is oneplus. Lol. Which is what I'm using. And just bought a Nord ce for my dad. 

Redmi, Poco and realme are very good mid tier phones. Can't go wrong with any of them.

11 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

I've mentioned a few times that these entry mod tier phones are good enough. They feel "light". Less processing powers and thus less power consumption. 

Most consumers will not fully utilize the full capabilities of those flagship phones anyway but will buy for the camera. Which most mid tiers will cut corners.

But 1 thing I don't like about Xiaomi is their MIUI. Only Chinese phone ui I like is oneplus. Lol. Which is what I'm using. And just bought a Nord ce for my dad. 

Redmi, Poco and realme are very good mid tier phones. Can't go wrong with any of them.

Actually, I don't understand the complains about MIUI. I just use Nova for home setting and it looks the same as my previous LG. [:p]

or am I missing something ?

1 hour ago, Kb27 said:

Actually, I don't understand the complains about MIUI. I just use Nova for home setting and it looks the same as my previous LG. [:p]

or am I missing something ?

Yes, just use your favourite laucher and you get back the familiar feel.

Although my 1st generation Xiaomi Mix cannot be considered a budget phone (it was their flagship model back in 2016 and cost me slightly over $600 to get my hand on this 256GB / 6GB ram version), but it is very durable / reliable in the past 4 over years.

Still as fast and smooth as day 1 (don't remember it ever hang before), no connectivity issue (4G, Bluetooth and WiFi all good), and very user friendly UI. The only sign of it age is the battery life, which is now ~60% of it when new, but for a >4 years old phone, nothing to complain, really. 

KKXf3pI.jpg

8wS4ZCd.jpg

• Praise 14

4 hours ago, Nolicense said:

buy exactly the same model phone. install exactly the same apps.

then install secret app on the other phone that is hidden. 

meanwhile allow CO to freely use your first phone.

never let the 2 phones appear together

You sexpert, i mean expert sia. But ah if two phone exactly the same in everything, wait one day dont know which phone is which phone and pass the wrong phone to CO then hosay liao. 😅

38 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Although my 1st generation Xiaomi Mix cannot be considered a budget phone (it was their flagship model back in 2016 and cost me slightly over $600 to get my hand on this 256GB / 6GB ram version), but it is very durable / reliable in the past 4 over years.

Still as fast and smooth as day 1 (don't remember it ever hang before), no connectivity issue (4G, Bluetooth and WiFi all good), and very user friendly UI. The only sign of it age is the battery life, which is now ~60% of it when new, but for a >4 years old phone, nothing to complain, really. 

KKXf3pI.jpg

8wS4ZCd.jpg

looks like new too

30 minutes ago, 13177 said:

You sexpert, i mean expert sia. But ah if two phone exactly the same in everything, wait one day dont know which phone is which phone and pass the wrong phone to CO then hosay liao. 😅

thats the beauty of it.. even if she accidentally finds the second phone, she wont look for the hidden apps.

any interaction on the phone wont show interactions from small 2. only calls from hidden app. it looks like a cloned phone

subscribe to dual sim and any calls will route to the second phone. if she calls other people with that phone, the number will be your main number..

hmm ok i stop now.. PM for more