PSP415 Supersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 I more pessimistic with this. Over time, it may become a shelter for homeless ppl to sleep inside, drunkards to vomit/pee. Then it becomes an eye sore and ppl will stand outside to smoke. Sorry, I dun have very high hopes for civic minded users cos Singaporeans/whatever/whoever are often not very good with shared spaces. On one hand want to discourage smoking, on the other hand make it comfortable or convenient for smoking. Really create opportunities for unnecessary situation(s) to happen. 😂😂😂 Stay safe Cheers ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 Good idea to have a sealed cabin. Smokers can smoke inside and breath in each other's secondhand smoke. They have no right to complain bcuz they make non-smokers breath in their secondhand smoke as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 8:05 AM, Didu said: With the air-con room, all one needs is a portable massage bed, then can do business liao... @Jamesc , am I right? 😁 Expand Yes but don't do it. Its a dirty job. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 9:22 AM, Kb27 said: Good idea to have a sealed cabin. Smokers can smoke inside and breath in each other's secondhand smoke. They have no right to complain bcuz they make non-smokers breath in their secondhand smoke as well. Expand Sealed cabin is great. Best if can add a lock outside. Once all the polluting smokers get in, just lock from outside. Problem solved! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 9:11 AM, yishunite said: Smokers already pay a lot of taxes hor... question is why only Woodlands get such facilities 🤣 Expand Psf difference you put one in Bukit Merah view, testing testing, later take away very difficult, Makan precious psf you put one on woodlands, testing testing, if buang and cannot take away, lose lesser on psf if want to take away need some funny reason. For example: confine space spread disease, fire hazard, number of smokers went up in the area so is counter to Govt plan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 7:53 AM, Blueray said: next up. smoking cabins with wifi, docking stations, charging stations, coffee and snack machines etc ... should recover cost by charging for use of smoking stations, use ezLink can already. Expand The easier way to recoup the costs is to increase tobacco taxes.😄 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 9:42 AM, Mustank said: Psf difference you put one in Bukit Merah view, testing testing, later take away very difficult, Makan precious psf you put one on woodlands, testing testing, if buang and cannot take away, lose lesser on psf if want to take away need some funny reason. For example: confine space spread disease, fire hazard, number of smokers went up in the area so is counter to Govt plan Expand Govt should retrofit 20ft containers. Mobile unit easier to relocate. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 (edited) Green? Its blue. Edited July 1, 2021 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 I remember there are smoking cabins at Japan's airports too. The one at Haneda had it. Quite a good idea although I reckon it may not be so feasible in Singapore. I don't think Singaporeans will be hardworking enough to get out of the comfort of their own homes to go down just to take a puff. Gotta put on a mask, wear slippers, take your keys along lol. I'm not a smoker but what's wrong with smoking at home anw? It's your own home. 🤔😅 Smokers should try to smoke away from the window as much as possible if it irritates your neighbors, and if you hate the smoke, then close your window? These are little inconveniences that comes with living in HDB flats. If people can put up with one another back then, what's the fuss now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 12:17 PM, Jamesc said: Green? Its blue. Expand Maybe it'll turn green at 4,500m above sea level. 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Author Share July 1, 2021 you guys got do the chemical warfare thingy during NS / ICT ? that type of "cabin" is cheap and good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 (edited) On 7/1/2021 at 11:27 AM, Didu said: Govt should retrofit 20ft containers. Mobile unit easier to relocate. 😁 Expand Do you know how much those container costs? You need to cut out a door/windows. Install air-conditioning for ventilation. Electrical system. The shifting/lifting you need a lorry crane. Relocating you need a trailer. Depend on container demension you might need TP escort. Hmmm...let them smoke beside the drainage a cheaper option.😓 Edited July 1, 2021 by Kopites 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 1:00 PM, BabyBlade said: I remember there are smoking cabins at Japan's airports too. The one at Haneda had it. Quite a good idea although I reckon it may not be so feasible in Singapore. I don't think Singaporeans will be hardworking enough to get out of the comfort of their own homes to go down just to take a puff. Gotta put on a mask, wear slippers, take your keys along lol. I'm not a smoker but what's wrong with smoking at home anw? It's your own home. 🤔😅 Smokers should try to smoke away from the window as much as possible if it irritates your neighbors, and if you hate the smoke, then close your window? These are little inconveniences that comes with living in HDB flats. If people can put up with one another back then, what's the fuss now? Expand If you have a neighbor who smoke many times per day, and the smoke keeps getting into your flat, and always go close and then open, close and then open again the window many times can be quite frustrating wor. Some people even go outside the corridor and smoke outside at others people unit, this may become inconsiderate act liao. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Author Share July 1, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 1:00 PM, BabyBlade said: I remember there are smoking cabins at Japan's airports too. The one at Haneda had it. Quite a good idea although I reckon it may not be so feasible in Singapore. I don't think Singaporeans will be hardworking enough to get out of the comfort of their own homes to go down just to take a puff. Gotta put on a mask, wear slippers, take your keys along lol. I'm not a smoker but what's wrong with smoking at home anw? It's your own home. 🤔😅 Smokers should try to smoke away from the window as much as possible if it irritates your neighbors, and if you hate the smoke, then close your window? These are little inconveniences that comes with living in HDB flats. If people can put up with one another back then, what's the fuss now? Expand Changi Airport has smoking rooms too. am kinda skeptical this smoking container scheme will work, imho. end up will be rubbish/litter point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 When is it opening? I loved smoked meats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 1, 2021 Share July 1, 2021 This is what they have in Japan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 On 7/1/2021 at 9:09 AM, PSP415 said: I more pessimistic with this. Over time, it may become a shelter for homeless ppl to sleep inside, drunkards to vomit/pee. Then it becomes an eye sore and ppl will stand outside to smoke. Sorry, I dun have very high hopes for civic minded users cos Singaporeans/whatever/whoever are often not very good with shared spaces. On one hand want to discourage smoking, on the other hand make it comfortable or convenient for smoking. Really create opportunities for unnecessary situation(s) to happen. 😂😂😂 Stay safe Cheers Expand How to justify the expenses incurred to "promote smoking" in air-conditioned comfort? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 11, 2022 Share January 11, 2022 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna-insider/secondhand-smoke-homes-bigger-problem-singapore-authorities-think-health-regulation-2425276 Secondhand smoke in homes: A bigger problem than Singapore authorities think? SINGAPORE: He has approached his town council and the Housing and Development Board (HDB). He also tried speaking to his neighbour “on many occasions”. But “Mr Ng” is at the end of his tether now, with no resolution in sight. The cause of his problems: Secondhand smoke filtering into his flat from his neighbour’s balcony, “just a metre away”. He also installed rubber seals on all the windows and doors, since he has a young child. But even with those precautions, he worries about how much secondhand smoke his 22-month-old daughter might be inhaling. This is according to simulations carried out by Zheng Kai, a faculty fellow in architecture and sustainable design at the Singapore University of Technology and Design. The simulations are based on two blocks 18 storeys high, about 30 metres apart at their widest and located in Buangkok, an estate representative of flats built in the 2000s. On a still day, “what’s likely to happen is that the smoke particles would just hover around … without settling on the ground”, said Zheng. “The neighbours in the immediate proximity — maybe just below the smoker, above … and then around him — will most likely be able to smell the smoke.” But on a windy day, when someone on a lower storey is smoking, the smoke particles may be “carried upwards into a vortex”. If a smoker is on an upper storey, the same wind would form a vortex that carries and circulates the smoke downwards. “In this case, the neighbours below are all getting the smoke,” said Zheng. It takes “as short as maybe one minute to a few minutes” for the smoke to dissipate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...