Jamesc Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 TVs have never been cheaper. 40 inch for $269 or less. Just buy lah. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Author Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 1:04 AM, kobayashiGT said: Why you need 8tb SSD? hahaha. Got so many car photos or obituaries to store meh? Expand 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 1:15 AM, Blueray said: Expand Boss need a good herman miller chair for such set up. 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 (edited) On 6/7/2021 at 12:55 AM, Lala81 said: Hmm buy something on black Friday after his O levels. He will be going poly right? He will need something portable to bring to school and depends on his like. He may want a 2 in 1 (tablet touch screen) vs a traditional laptop. Maybe a 14 inch vs 15 inch. Can consider lenovo ideapad 5/5i 14" vs 15". Do pay the extra for a 3 year on site warranty though. Laptop warranty service here is very bad. That's why I don't really fancy acer or Asus or dell consumer line. I also need another machine for hbl next year onwards. Im waiting to see what the lenovo ideapad 5 pro costs here. Thinkpads (commercial use) are good if u want something more robust and more reliable. More expensive but poorer specs vis a vis consumer lineup. But definitely more reliable in terms of breakdown. Or if he likes apple or don't mind paying more. Can't beat the macbooks for performance, QC and reliability as a package. Expand Actually is for this old man myself. Just very basic usage, and reliable will be good. Son, his school by default since sec one has to buy macbook because of some programs written for them, so he has a MacBook pro coming to 4 yrs, and so far so good. Poly he likely will use back his old macbook pro, unless up lorry or course requirements need to change. But he going for biomedical so may not have any laptop requirement bah. Talking about MacBook, my 2nd daughter in NP also using MacBook pro for her course, so far she like love it a lot. Elder daughter going start uni next month, also just bought a Macbook pro. I wonder if Macbook is a better investment, is like so far all I hear of apple products is it very lasting... Edited June 7, 2021 by Tianmo 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:07 AM, Tianmo said: Actually is for this old man myself. Just very basic usage, and reliable will be good. Son, his school by default since sec one has to buy macbook because of some programs written for them, so he has a MacBook pro coming to 4 yrs, and so far so good. Poly he likely will use back his old macbook pro, unless up lorry or course requirements need to change. But he going for biomedical so may not have any laptop requirement bah. Talking about MacBook, my 2nd daughter in NP also using MacBook pro for her course, so far she like love it a lot. Elder daughter going start uni next month, also just bought a Macbook pro. I wonder if Macbook is a better investment, is like so far all I hear of apple products is it very lasting... Expand I am a mac user, i will say it is good because the system update will help makes the laptop relevant, It can sure be use for 5 years or more. so is a good investment. But for the today's MacBook, everything is soldered together liao. So cannot upgrade your own, that is smth I dislike. So need to invest more to future proof it. Need to upgrade ram from apple, which cost a bomb. But I at home got play PC games also, so still, need a PC. If not I think Mac is good. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:07 AM, Tianmo said: Actually is for this old man myself. Just very basic usage, and reliable will be good. Son, his school by default since sec one has to buy macbook because of some programs written for them, so he has a MacBook pro coming to 4 yrs, and so far so good. Poly he likely will use back his old macbook pro, unless up lorry or course requirements need to change. But he going for biomedical so may not have any laptop requirement bah. Talking about MacBook, my 2nd daughter in NP also using MacBook pro for her course, so far she like love it a lot. Elder daughter going start uni next month, also just bought a Macbook pro. I wonder if Macbook is a better investment, is like so far all I hear of apple products is it very lasting... Expand If you have been using Windoze all these while, there will be a learning curve. But you have many teachers at home so anytime need tips and tricks you only need to holler lol 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 1:04 AM, kobayashiGT said: Why you need 8tb SSD? hahaha. Got so many car photos or obituaries to store meh? Expand Car porn beedeo...i mean watch porn beedeo in the car...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:07 AM, Tianmo said: Actually is for this old man myself. Just very basic usage, and reliable will be good. Son, his school by default since sec one has to buy macbook because of some programs written for them, so he has a MacBook pro coming to 4 yrs, and so far so good. Poly he likely will use back his old macbook pro, unless up lorry or course requirements need to change. But he going for biomedical so may not have any laptop requirement bah. Talking about MacBook, my 2nd daughter in NP also using MacBook pro for her course, so far she like love it a lot. Elder daughter going start uni next month, also just bought a Macbook pro. I wonder if Macbook is a better investment, is like so far all I hear of apple products is it very lasting... Expand Old man. Just want something to do emails, surf etc. Then get the basic thinkpads with 3 year warranty (the middle option). i5 processor, 8gb ram. I won't get a refurbished product lah. Though the old think pads are easier to repair outside. If u don't mind more premium, using apple, smaller screen, get a Macbook air or the base macbook. Apple laptops are the most reliable in general if u don't mind the price. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:38 AM, Genes said: If you have been using Windoze all these while, there will be a learning curve. But you have many teachers at home so anytime need tips and tricks you only need to holler lol Expand Yah, I always see the siblings air drop here air drop there, and talk Mac things I don't understand.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:49 AM, Lala81 said: Old man. Just want something to do emails, surf etc. Then get the basic thinkpads with 3 year warranty (the middle option). i5 processor, 8gb ram. I won't get a refurbished product lah. Though the old think pads are easier to repair outside. If u don't mind more premium, using apple, smaller screen, get a Macbook air or the base macbook. Apple laptops are the most reliable in general if u don't mind the price. Expand Actually these past few days the Mac book did keep coming back to my mind. Maybe is seeing all my children using them, but I worry later tio switch to iphone because of the ecosystem... Think pad never Cross my mind tho. I think I have a old ThinkPad at home, very old one. Later I go Google the ThinkPad spec and price vs the base macbook... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 3:00 AM, Tianmo said: Actually these past few days the Mac book did keep coming back to my mind. Maybe is seeing all my children using them, but I worry later tio switch to iphone because of the ecosystem... Think pad never Cross my mind tho. I think I have a old ThinkPad at home, very old one. Later I go Google the ThinkPad spec and price vs the base macbook... Expand Problem with thinkpad is the price. An E14 Intel variant is the cheapest locally(14 inch screen).My workplace laptop is an E14. Definitely like the keyboard. Screen OK but not color accurate based on reviews. Actually the Macbook air is a good fit for u. Does its job well if u don't mind the slightly smaller screen. My wife's MBA is about 11 years old. We hardly use it and it has two spoilt lcd lines, but it still works. But we getting older, not sure if our eyes like the smaller screens and fonts ha. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 2:43 AM, mersaylee said: Car porn beedeo...i mean watch porn beedeo in the car...😁 Expand That latter one should be good wifi connection can liao. Maybe @RadX car got Cat6e RJ45 Lan connection somewhere also. hahahahahahaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 3:07 AM, Lala81 said: Problem with thinkpad is the price. An E14 Intel variant is the cheapest locally(14 inch screen).My workplace laptop is an E14. Definitely like the keyboard. Screen OK but not color accurate based on reviews. Actually the Macbook air is a good fit for u. Does its job well if u don't mind the slightly smaller screen. My wife's MBA is about 11 years old. We hardly use it and it has two spoilt lcd lines, but it still works. But we getting older, not sure if our eyes like the smaller screens and fonts ha. Expand If the screen DPI is good, screen small a bit still okay one. 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 (edited) On 6/7/2021 at 3:07 AM, Lala81 said: Problem with thinkpad is the price. An E14 Intel variant is the cheapest locally(14 inch screen).My workplace laptop is an E14. Definitely like the keyboard. Screen OK but not color accurate based on reviews. Actually the Macbook air is a good fit for u. Does its job well if u don't mind the slightly smaller screen. My wife's MBA is about 11 years old. We hardly use it and it has two spoilt lcd lines, but it still works. But we getting older, not sure if our eyes like the smaller screens and fonts ha. Expand a quick check, seem like the new variant thinkpad is E15 liao, but bigger screen at 15.6". Spec seem close to the Macbook Air, but price like slightly higher. I think thinkpad is touchscreen whereas Macbook air is not right? Later I got free go check detail... Anyway, I wearing Lao hua glasses liao, small screen likely not much different, also I think Apple screen and color resolution quite good. I got 2 above 20" monitor and keyboards at home, if need to can connect.... Edited June 7, 2021 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 (edited) On 6/7/2021 at 2:36 AM, kobayashiGT said: I am a mac user, i will say it is good because the system update will help makes the laptop relevant, It can sure be use for 5 years or more. so is a good investment. But for the today's MacBook, everything is soldered together liao. So cannot upgrade your own, that is smth I dislike. So need to invest more to future proof it. Need to upgrade ram from apple, which cost a bomb. But I at home got play PC games also, so still, need a PC. If not I think Mac is good. Expand True.. despite the premium pricing, Apples's software and hardware longevity is second to none in the industry. The 2012 Macbook Air I bought for my wife is still going strong today. I only needed to change the battery once in between as that's the weakest component due to limited charge cycles. Edited June 7, 2021 by Jellandross 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 5:49 AM, Jellandross said: True.. despite the premium pricing, Apples's software and hardware longevity is second to none in the industry. The 2012 Macbook Air I bought for my wife is still going strong today (with a battery change in between). There's not many consumer products nowadays that are built to last this long. Expand Yah. Thinkpad and XPS is quite sturdy also. But lose to apple. hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 @kobayashiGT hi resolution bro.. take up space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 On 6/7/2021 at 1:12 AM, Jamesc said: TVs have never been cheaper. 40 inch for $269 or less. Just buy lah. Expand I think with 8K tv on the next release, everyone clearing stock. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...