Bak Zhangs

Discoburg

31 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah ... who eats $20 zang? 😱

mine from swatow only 6 for <$20 free delivery some more if order more than $60 ... can combine with other items like dim sum

but must ownself steam lah

😅

all the way from guangdong and with free delivery? 

2 hours ago, mersaylee said:

I'd expect all goodies mentioned to be included if want me to part my money...😁

but if such food just relies on expensive ingredients stuffed in to jack up the price then it is meaningless. good food comes from a good chef is able to do it even with run of the mill ingredients. i'm willing to pay for prep work and quality ingredients relevant to the product. not just throw, some abalone and gold leaf and charge high and call it good. to me it reeks of laziness from the chef and organization.

I have not bought any bak chang for 2 decades. 

I blame OC for it. She set the bar  too high to made me want to try others. 

• Haha! 8

8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

but if such food just relies on expensive ingredients stuffed in to jack up the price then it is meaningless. good food comes from a good chef is able to do it even with run of the mill ingredients. i'm willing to pay for prep work and quality ingredients relevant to the product. not just throw, some abalone and gold leaf and charge high and call it good. to me it reeks of laziness from the chef and organization.

So you won’t pay $20 for one with those ingredients mentioned? Just because it’s a bak zhang or? For me I’ll pay for it with truffles or scallops.

Just now, Discoburg said:

So you won’t pay $20 for one with those ingredients mentioned? Just because it’s a bak zhang or? For me I’ll pay for it with truffles or scallops.

nope. any bozo just dump scallops in.

anyway never keen on fusion and "improved" versions of traditional dishes. Bak chang never had scallops! IMHO its a b**tardization of the dish.

3 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

anyway never keen on fusion and "improved" versions of traditional dishes. Bak chang never had scallops! IMHO its a b**tardization of the dish.

Haha ok. For me I love fusion food.

Sometimes it’s not just any bozo add such ingredients in. Sometimes it’s a gastronomic move. Never block any ideas out. 

12 minutes ago, Discoburg said:

truffles? don't think you will get truffles for $20.

What you will get is truffle oil which isn't even made from truffles at all.

I got no cravings for bazhang and not a big fan of it but after reading this thread I just asked my friend to send me some bazhangs lol. His dad has a small shop selling bazhangs. Used to be at Bedok Reservoir but now shifted to the interchange I think. 

44 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

truffles? don't think you will get truffles for $20.

What you will get is truffle oil which isn't even made from truffles at all.

They say truffles at $20 just believe it lor. Also cannot CSI got real truffles at all. Maybe google about it can find out.

8 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

I got no cravings for bazhang and not a big fan of it but after reading this thread I just asked my friend to send me some bazhangs lol. His dad has a small shop selling bazhangs. Used to be at Bedok Reservoir but now shifted to the interchange I think. 

Got address? Tomorrow morning will drive there to buy a few. Since we are encouraged to go out to malls and shops to hunt for food.

Edited by Discoburg

1 minute ago, Discoburg said:

Got address? Tomorrow morning will drive there to buy a few. Since we are encouraged to go out to malls and shops to hunt for food.

I'll update you later. He said its at the bus interchange. Maybe no longer a standalone shop I'm guessing. 

1 minute ago, BabyBlade said:

I'll update you later. He said its at the bus interchange. Maybe no longer a standalone shop I'm guessing. 

Ok I’ll go tomorrow morning. Wait for your information. Or do I need to google about that also?

Screenshot_20210604_174002_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.a099c2d8a3c0a6eaf3ced2f8eb1c92b7.jpg

3 minutes ago, Discoburg said:

Ok I’ll go tomorrow morning. Wait for your information. Or do I need to google about that also?

Hahahahahaha how like that? 

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

Those the old folks threw into the water for qu yuan were plain kosong ones...now even kopi got so many variants...😁

47 minutes ago, Discoburg said:

No address and he don't even know the location cos he's never been to this shop. If you ever have a son hope your son don't turn out like my friend lol. Apparently the current business model is that his dad will run around to different places. I don't really know what he means la but for the fact that he hasn't been there speaks a lot. Hahahaha. 

49 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Screenshot_20210604_174002_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.a099c2d8a3c0a6eaf3ced2f8eb1c92b7.jpg

Hahahahahaha how like that? 

Confirm this is the location hor? It’s kinda far from the interchange that’s why.