13177 Hypersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 7 minutes ago, Matoonia said: I went to Taka last weekend and bought some from Kim Choo Joo Chiat. Some people say that it is cheong one, but I think quite ok. Personally i quite like the red bean kee zhang and also they got a special 梅菜 bak zhang surprisingly quite nice too. 梅菜 bak zhang? First time i hear. Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 14 hours ago, BabyBlade said: Can contact 8661 three zero eight six to order. Nice or not I don't know haha. dam high class... i dont even dare think of eating.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 6 minutes ago, Nolicense said: dam high class... i dont even dare think of eating.. its like those super altas moon cake. i think more suitable to send as gift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 5 minutes ago, Beregond said: its like those super altas moon cake. i think more suitable to send as gift. im a poor person. i eat to live... i know some finer things in life dont have to be expensive. but i also am a picky eater if i can afford to. even sending as gifts... if the person does not appreciate the food... its also a waste. seriously i get bak kwa, mooncakes etc... sometimes just have to force myself eat finish.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 (edited) hmm so dragon boat festival is on 14th June. never celebrated. Maybe i buy some bak zhang from SS or what. Nowadays, everyday at home, so some variety to spice up life is required. Edited June 4, 2021 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Beregond said: the price of ba zhang s seriously rising alot. sometime even those branded expensive type taste so so only.. 1 ba zhang 20buks type. wa jia buay luo.... I dont buy from restaurants cos they dont taste or look like bak zhang. It is not much different from their glutinous rice wrap in lotus leave "lor mai kai" fusion. The ones from HC is more like the traditional bak zhang 2 hours ago, Discoburg said: What you said is also true. Let’s google and get answers and not post any replies or start a new thread in MCF. im sorry about my outburst. I was mistaken about why I joined a forum. Oh I didnt say dont reply but what I did said is that you are looking for a quick answer instead of you trying to find one on your own. You know? Spoon feeding. Lazy. You know there's a diff between ppl coming in and share information and for ppl to come in only expecting to receive. FYI that is actually what ppl do in a forum if you havent notice, share information. Edited June 4, 2021 by Watwheels 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 @13177 Yah lor I also 1st time see... that's why buy and try. Quite nice leh lol 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 56 minutes ago, Wind30 said: https://danielfooddiary.com/2020/06/13/hiongkeedumplings/ Tried this a few years back I thought it is good. surprised no one recommended this as I thought this is THE bak chang... or at least this was what my googling came up with a few years back. Yep... tis is good, just bought from them again 2 weeks back doing my bid to support all these hawker, owner really hit mosquito when i'm there, their nonya zhang really sibeh ho jiak, i eat 2 for dinner n again 2 for the next day bf... wahaha. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 I like normal nonya Zhang and kee Zhang. Not into fancy and novelty variants. My parent's neighbour makes v good traditional canto Zhang. Just go to those neighbour shops and buy. 10 years ago, I can buy one nonya for 2 bucks for breakfast, now easily 4 bucks during normal times. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 4, 2021 Author Share June 4, 2021 26 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Oh I didnt say dont reply but what I did said is that you are looking for a quick answer instead of you trying to find one on your own. You know? Spoon feeding. Lazy. You know there's a diff between ppl coming in and share information and for ppl to come in only expecting to receive. FYI that is actually what ppl do in a forum if you havent notice, share information. Oops I mistaken you again. Was thinking that I can get the answers from google what for come in here to read and reply. No one expect to received any information here except that is what usually happening in a forum though. If no one ask in a forum, how do people share info in a forum? Mind puzzling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 actually last dun need to buy much. normally the elders ( all my aunties ) will gather and make ba zhang and share, every year also receive foc ba zhang to eat. but this year really cannot make liao 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 (edited) 32 minutes ago, Watwheels said: I dont buy from restaurants cos they dont taste or look like bak zhang. It is not much different from their glutinous rice wrap in lotus leave "lor mai kai" fusion. The ones from HC is more like the traditional bak zhang Oh I didnt say dont reply but what I did said is that you are looking for a quick answer instead of you trying to find one on your own. You know? Spoon feeding. Lazy. You know there's a diff between ppl coming in and share information and for ppl to come in only expecting to receive. FYI that is actually what ppl do in a forum if you havent notice, share information. yes kinda agree. if one had approached the topic saying, i have seen this and that brand of product in the market and priced as such. And have tried only this brand, does anyone has any experience which is better or other suggestions to make. i think this will go down better and also help with sharing of knowledge. anyway TS did say he has tried kim choo and asking for opinions about imperial. I think there is nothing wrong with that. Edited June 4, 2021 by Mkl22 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 4, 2021 Author Share June 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Beanoyip said: Any recommendation can place online orders? Gonna order some for the parents.. Go google bro 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 4, 2021 Author Share June 4, 2021 The $20 zhangs you guys mentioned are with scallops, abalones or shark fins is it? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 57 minutes ago, Nolicense said: im a poor person. i eat to live... i know some finer things in life dont have to be expensive. but i also am a picky eater if i can afford to. even sending as gifts... if the person does not appreciate the food... its also a waste. seriously i get bak kwa, mooncakes etc... sometimes just have to force myself eat finish.. Ya lo, those dam high class bak zhang i can only see look, definitely not my type of lifestyle lo. I also poor person who eat to live. Food eat liao would not LS i happy lo. Lol. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 12 minutes ago, Discoburg said: The $20 zhangs you guys mentioned are with scallops, abalones or shark fins is it? i prefer the nonya type. home made ones we fill with chestnut, mushroom, tausah, even haebee. im used to these.. other dialect type buy outside i really cannot eat. not to my liking. and hor.. home made one the filling is pah pah.. outside one the skin is thick and filling kiam kahna 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 4, 2021 Author Share June 4, 2021 5 minutes ago, Nolicense said: i prefer the nonya type. home made ones we fill with chestnut, mushroom, tausah, even haebee. im used to these.. other dialect type buy outside i really cannot eat. not to my liking. and hor.. home made one the filling is pah pah.. outside one the skin is thick and filling kiam kahna Yeah yeah that is the type I like. Heard it’s the traditional type. I’m pretty clueless about the difference between the zhangs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Discoburg said: Yeah yeah that is the type I like. Heard it’s the traditional type. I’m pretty clueless about the difference between the zhangs. oh you also prefer this type? i think its nonya type. we used to make it but now parents old, aunties all old. it is hard to make they say. so no more make for many years liao. never bother to buy outside lor. those few they buy i dont like at all. btw, we are teochew making nonya bak chang.. at least thats what they say is nonya bak chang.. maybe it is b**tardised by us... lol ps: wfh very sian.. everyday think of food but nuah and google for food delivery.. dangerous to go market buy food to cook.. if not can try to make bak chang.. but cannot tie the pyramid chang.. must use the fold into rectangle way.. because... the pyramid will fall apart if you dont tie it well Edited June 4, 2021 by Nolicense ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...