Bak Zhangs

Discoburg

5 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

What other brand is good at the same price range ?  After all Kim Choo is not cheap too, I think $5+ now ? 

The last last time i ate kim choo, i find taste quite good le. So now taste no good liao?

I heard bak zhang at hong lim hc and amoy st hc quite nice?!

7 hours ago, Beregond said:

got 1 type of  zhang, dun know belong to what dialect.

small small type. only got yellow rice, inside kosong no meat no thing, only rice, u eat with abit of sugar

Kee zhang. 

15 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah ... what suay?

bro very good liao... get to personally hand deliver free bak zang to her hor

over here, she is just a faceless bot with humanoid fingers and we are all 怪叔叔, tikopeks, lao ah peks or doms 

except slk of course 

😬🤣

Imma MCF chat bot. 

39 minutes ago, 13177 said:

The last last time i ate kim choo, i find taste quite good le. So now taste no good liao?

I heard bak zhang at hong lim hc and amoy st hc quite nice?!

I bought Kim Choo too because the brand is readily available, I dont know what else is good. I only know the price has increase from $3+to now $5+. I believe people are going out less often, even visiting also become less frequently, so online bak zhang order and delivery business should be booming now. 

by the way, i am not sure how many here are old enough to have eaten the 虾米肉粽, the pounded dried shrimps with garlic, ginger and onion is drooling. my mum used to make them when I was younger but now she is too old to do it.  If any one know there is such lobang, maybe want to share the info here. 

Capture.PNG

Edited by Ct3833

34 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

I bought Kim Choo too because the brand is readily available, I dont know what else is good. I only know the price has increase from $3+to now $5+. I believe people are going out less often, even visiting also become less frequently, so online bak zhang order and delivery business should be booming now. 

by the way, i am not sure how many here are old enough to have eaten the 虾米肉粽, the pounded dried shrimps with garlic, ginger and onion is drooling. my mum used to make them when I was younger but now she is too old to do it.  If any one know there is such lobang, maybe want to share the info here. 

Capture.PNG

boss... go telok blangah look for this ah ma

most likely she knows how to make... super old school still using charcoal fire👍

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20210529-1150265

😬🤣

@Watwheels i noticed for a long time that you have always been very confrontational in your comments to people's thread. The fact that this thread got to page 8 shows what an idot you are. If you got nothing positive to contribute, just shup up. Nobody will miss you.

To the moderators

Ever wonder why this forum can get rather quiet? Because of idiots like this guy. Do your job please if you want to keep this forum alive.

Edited by Sotong1977

10 minutes ago, Sotong1977 said:

@Watwheels i noticed for a long time that you have always been very confrontational in your comments to people's thread. The fact that this thread got to page 8 shows what an idot you are. If you got nothing positive to contribute, just shup up. Nobody will miss you.

To the moderators

Ever wonder why this forum can get rather quiet? Because of idiots like this guy. Do your job please if you want to keep this forum alive.

Hear hear. I'm watching. But no need for name calling. 

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

haha you are resourceful, but i dont want to appear in the newspaper or social media 😀

Wear a mask, cap and sunshade, maybe no one can recognise you? 😂

After reading this thread, Today I enquire at my place hawker centre, their resale Kim Choo nonya zhang  is $6.  Wah lau, I pass.  

• Sad 1

9 minutes ago, Chongster said:

After reading this thread, Today I enquire at my place hawker centre, their resale Kim Choo nonya zhang  is $6.  Wah lau, I pass.  

huh. can resale?

how to know if it is real or pirate?

14 minutes ago, Chongster said:

Wah kow... kim choo also got oem liao 😄.

7 hours ago, Sotong1977 said:

To the moderators

Exactly. Its members like this makes me wanna stay away from MCF.

This was in the year before Covid...

I went kuku and bakzhang siao in 2019.

Ss buay ba zhang is oily but big sized, filling is not so much to the point of meagre.

Kimchoo has the right recipe, tasty and leave you wanting more...not so oily. Seductive as a nonya would.

Then the different stalls at Tiong bahru hc...

Forgettable. Small and oily. Bleah. I did get from all available stalls...it was bak zhang for about a month.

Mr bean bakzhangs....i give a miss because no taste for hybrid new age taste...although my girls like the nonya zhang.

The kee zhang is an old favourite but kencing manis friendly...therefore in strict moderation esp with gula melaka. Hah.

I think Asians like bakzhang. The odour of the leaves make it all the more enticing.

There should be a masterchef Sg session on bakzhang. Or even Aus. That Singapore girl...

Appreciate recommendations.

I would avoid those hoity toity abalone bakzhang. Pretentious to the moon. Eeeeee.

11 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

What other brand is good at the same price range ?  After all Kim Choo is not cheap too, I think $5+ now ? 

As stated in my posting here..

1 hour ago, Discoburg said:

Exactly. Its members like this makes me wanna stay away from MCF.

Pls stay will ya??

nothing gonna break u up...

Pls dun leave me this way....

Put abalone in the bak zhang. Wouldn't the long steaming time to cook and possibly reheat the bak zhang toughen the mouth feel of the abalone? After all, 1 of the traits of a well cooked abalone is the tender texture. 

The traditional fillings of dried mushrooms, Chinese sausages, fatty meat, dried hay bee, salted egg yolk withstand the long steaming time very well. It actually softens up those ingredients.