Pig blood: Why and when was it banned in Singapore?

Windwaver

Pig Blood stir fried with Koo Chye, my favourite dish ........ Rice and the Dish can already lor ....

Then, suddenly, it vanished from the market place lor, the last pig epidemic ..... 20 years ago ......really can't remember.

Go JB still can find lor ........ The whole Asia also can find one ba ......... EXCEPT US ba !!

4 hours ago, Dafansu said:

Found this in SFA, year 2013 that time still AVA

LHWB, 27/03, p17
[Reply] Harvesting and sale of pig’s blood prohibited in Singapore
We thank Mr Wilson for his feedback on “Banning of Pig’s Blood” (LHWB,
12/03/13).

2 Blood has high moisture and protein content and can easily support the
growth of bacteria. Unhygienic harvesting of blood can result in the introduction of
food borne pathogens into blood food products. Specialised equipment and
additional sanitary controls are required to harvest blood safely during slaughter.
Other requirements include facilities for traceability and disposal of blood harvested
from pigs that are unfit for consumption, as well as for the cold chain management of
blood food products. The local abattoir licensed by AVA to supply pork products to
consumers does not have such facilities and controls. Hence AVA does not allow the
harvesting and sale of pig’s blood from our local abattoir.

3 There have been reported cases of food poisoning and deaths resulting from
eating undercooked contaminated pig’s blood in other countries. For example,
Streptococcus suis bacteria is commonly found in pigs and has been closely
associated with past infection of human cases in Vietnam, where people have
consumed inadequately cooked pig blood paste and cakes. In humans, the bacteria
causes meningitis, septicaemia and can lead to death in severe cases.

Dr Yap Him Hoo
Group Director, Regulatory Administration Group
for Chief Executive Officer
Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority 

they should sell pasteurized blood.

4 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

they should sell pasteurized blood.

Cannot lah... Once heat treated probably cannot make into tofu like texture. 

Blood need to coagulate into solid state, before cooking it..... 

It's the process of collecting the blood that is not sterile. 

Unless the pigs sent to the abbatoir were properly sanitised before slaughter... Then the blood collected probably is less virulent. 

Imagine blood is scooped from the drain? 

15 hours ago, RadX said:

ok this explains your gender dysphoria...i sympathize with you, your predicament

🤣

Hahha. You judgemental sia. 🤣

18 hours ago, Flying_genie said:

Pig blood was commonly found in our local kway chap and pig organ soup back then. All that came to a sudden stop when Malaysia pig farms had the Nipah virus, around 1998. Our pork supplies were mostly from Malaysia then. We could get all sorts of pig spare parts and pork direct from Malaysia. When the Nipah virus struck Malaysia pig farms, Singapore stopped the import of live pigs and pork products from Malaysia. The ban of pork products from Malaysia mostly stayed until now, even though the Nipah virus has largely subsided since 1999. Food-Mouth disease followed the Nipah virus in Malaysia pig farms.

Almost overnight, we had to look for alternate sources for pork and pig products. Australia became our major supplier of pork but they were not used to supplying spare parts (and certainly not pig blood). It was also around this period that AVA imposed a rule where meat sellers (pork, beef, mutton, poultry) in the wet markets had to install chillers to keep meat being sold, chilled. Previously, meat was sold out on the open shelves.

The older generation believes that Malaysia pig products taste different from imported, chilled, frozen pork, especially when used for traditional dishes.
I like pig blood, as I grew up eating it in Teochew, Hokkien and Cantonese dishes. I often try to source for it during my travels to Malaysia (Penang curry noodles), Thailand (pig organ soup, kway chap), Taiwan (noodles), Hong Kong (porridge). 

I thought Indonesia, and not Australia supplies, took over Malaysia? 

Australian chilled pork was not well received initially, IIRC. Chilled can't really fight fresh, IMHO. 

I really miss my Klang BKT and KL BBQ pork.  Pig bood not so much, not a big deal. 

Anyone knows where to eat good kway chap with internal organs like pig ear, pig tongue and tribe? My regular store don't serve pig ears. 

On 5/24/2021 at 3:20 PM, 13177 said:

Pig blood? I never can appreciate pig organs and pig blood. Lol. Is pig blood taste same like eating pig liver?

The blood taste fresher :=B:

23 hours ago, Freeder said:

Pig brain more 贰心...

Small time always kanna forced fed especially when exams are near..

True

931245_p1000994.jpg

22 hours ago, Flying_genie said:

Pig blood was commonly found in our local kway chap and pig organ soup back then. All that came to a sudden stop when Malaysia pig farms had the Nipah virus, around 1998. Our pork supplies were mostly from Malaysia then. We could get all sorts of pig spare parts and pork direct from Malaysia. When the Nipah virus struck Malaysia pig farms, Singapore stopped the import of live pigs and pork products from Malaysia. The ban of pork products from Malaysia mostly stayed until now, even though the Nipah virus has largely subsided since 1999. Food-Mouth disease followed the Nipah virus in Malaysia pig farms.

Spoiler

Almost overnight, we had to look for alternate sources for pork and pig products. Australia became our major supplier of pork but they were not used to supplying spare parts (and certainly not pig blood). It was also around this period that AVA imposed a rule where meat sellers (pork, beef, mutton, poultry) in the wet markets had to install chillers to keep meat being sold, chilled. Previously, meat was sold out on the open shelves.

The older generation believes that Malaysia pig products taste different from imported, chilled, frozen pork, especially when used for traditional dishes.
I like pig blood, as I grew up eating it in Teochew, Hokkien and Cantonese dishes. I often try to source for it during my travels to Malaysia (Penang curry noodles), Thailand (pig organ soup, kway chap), Taiwan (noodles), Hong Kong (porridge). 

I'm still angry why ivory tower ban this

ezgif.com-optimize-15.gif