COVID-19: Phase 2 Heightened Alert 16 May to 13 June

Blueray

Message added by BabyBlade

One step forward two steps back (the sweeter Phase 3 ☹️😞)

17 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

@Adrianli That is my understanding, inpatient means in hospital, right (as opposed to outpatient) or I don't understand the terminology used among healthcare workers?

Your understanding is correct. Sorry, I might have seen your message wrongly. Was busy in the hospital while I was replying.

6 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Hmmmm... sounds abt right..

CA2DEB04-8B0A-4512-9C60-065D4A041B38.jpeg

Right and created a lot of inconveniences too.

Btw, who is Jonathan Tee ah?

7 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Very good point, and he is also very eloquent. I think Singaporeans need to see beyond the likes of LW OYK etc...

4 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

In a class, Mary get 50 mark for her exam paper. The highest is 95, mean is 75, while lowest is 20. Susan, her BFF who usually score better than her also got 50 mark for the same paper. 

Guess how would Mary broke the news to her mum when she get home? 

Mary: "Mum, I got 50 for my exam! You know Susan also got 50 for this paper, which is really tough. But not bad liao 'cos we have classmate who got only 20."

Does that sounds familiar... :lll._.:

Carbon somebody copy you.

Its so similar

its like a Carbon copy!

image.thumb.png.781fb8bf8e8b1a042a31b9a9ddc29c84.png

10 minutes ago, Freeder said:

The South Asians all write long sob stories to ICA, maybe 1 letter every 2 days - first time saying son dying; 2nd time saying now son got depression; then sob story 3 - I am going to die soon if I don't see my son......  Then get their local company (SA also) to write story saying company will collapse and 100million hit to SG economy if this super talent parents never come and sayang him.... blah blah blah. That's their usual style.

So the ICA people after a while without strong leadership all caved in and say yes.

41 minutes ago, Kyrios said:

The Know-It-All has spoken again...

https://theindependent.sg/calvin-cheng-says-singapore-is-biggest-nation-of-crybabies-in-the-world/

Funnily..i thought i remember the germans, americans and french took to the streets to riot/demonstrate against their leaders' incompetence to rein in the virus and forced them to lockdown. One local sinkie guy here called Gilbert Goh took a placard to ICA and was immediately hauled up to a free kopi session. Is our displeasure mild or crybaby? This calvin cheng is from another singapore multiverse or what?

He should feel happy we guys are still patiently complying with measures set by oyk and lawless wrong until now!

Calvim cheng ah. He should change his face to be like the tvb star version leh. So more legit in the way he talk lar

1 hour ago, Odyssey2011 said:

On the acute shortage of construction manpower,  can they look into cross-training those foreign workers in the marine and offshore construction?  The Marine and Offshore sector is going through a low cycle now,  perhaps they may  have extra manpower? 

So has anyone look at the  situation holistically, cutting across industry silos?  Marine and offshore deals mainly with steel structures, not cement and bricks, but surely there are also steel in buildings. Workers involved in plumbing and electricals are even easier to blend because the Marine & Offshore requirements are even higher.

Edited by Icedbs

From Malaysia:

One of our volunteer's grandmother just passed away from Covid-19. One of her relatives decided to visit her when his family came for a medical related activity in KL. I am not going to say anything except my condolences. The price has been paid and the person responsible for infecting her is the one shouldering the responsibility and guilt. 

I just hope you won't be the next to shoulder the same. 

Another one of my friends in FB had written about how urgent it was to meet her mother. Because it's been too long and she had already missed meeting her twice for special occasions. That was about a week ago. Today, she was tested positive. And she underwent testing after her mum was admitted to the hospital ICU with Covid-19. Her mum had not had any visitor except her. We will never know if it was her who gave it to her mum or vice versa, but from her postings, I fear she blames herself for it. I can only wish her and her mum to get well soon. What else is there to do? 

I just hope you're NOT the next one I read about with a similar story and regret. 

I totally get why it's difficult to refrain from visiting and meeting relatives and friends especially those who are close to us. It's human nature. It's what makes us a caring society after all. 

I just wonder if we're prepared to pay the price for playing Russian Roulette. One bullet, six chambers. 6 players. One is bound to get the bullet. Will that be you? 

Because like it or not, if we are unable to control our nature, desires and feelings, even with all the information and warnings already given, then it is Russian Roulette we're playing. You can give whatever excuse you want, blame the kayangan and government for setting a poor example if it makes you feel better, but at the end of the day, you're the one who pulled the trigger. 

Every single time you meet someone outside, you're putting yourself and the other person at risk. Like a gun to their and your own head. It's as simple as that. 

Covid-19 doesn't care about your reasons. It's just a dumb gun with a bullet in it's chamber. You cannot negotiate with it.

41 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Right and created a lot of inconveniences too.

Btw, who is Jonathan Tee ah?

There are so many angry rants out there. Who will bother to see who said what?

These ppl just drown in their own angry rants.

I'm just here to see see and go, "meh".

56 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

The South Asians all write long sob stories to ICA, maybe 1 letter every 2 days - first time saying son dying; 2nd time saying now son got depression; then sob story 3 - I am going to die soon if I don't see my son......  Then get their local company (SA also) to write story saying company will collapse and 100million hit to SG economy if this super talent parents never come and sayang him.... blah blah blah. That's their usual style.

So the ICA people after a while without strong leadership all caved in and say yes.

I think it is just a function of the sheer numbers of highly paid Indian PMETs in Singapore who are naturalized or granted PR status and with money to burn.

These people can afford the expensive flights, hotel accommodation for 14 days SHN (at SG end) and as they are mostly white collar, they can probably work remotely anywhere in the world (very understanding boss may help too). Hence many were flying in and out to visit families (who might be sick or dying from Covid). With money, it might also be easier to bring in dependents. It is really not cheap. 

Or it could just be that many Indians here have deeper roots with their motherland as most are new citizens or PRs. 

Just my guess. 

Edited by Voodooman

1 hour ago, Freeder said:

The 300k Malaysians are mostly blue collar workers on daily commute. Cannot lah. Got quarantine on both ends.

Only rich people with flexible working arrangement can travel during this difficult time.

51 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

On the acute shortage of construction manpower,  can they look into cross-training those foreign workers in the marine and offshore construction?  The Marine and Offshore sector is going through a low cycle now,  perhaps they may  have extra manpower? 

So has anyone look at the  situation holistically, cutting across industry silos?  Marine and offshore deals mainly with steel structures, not cement and bricks, but surely there are also steel in buildings. Workers involved in plumbing and electricals are even easier to blend because the Marine & Offshore requirements are even higher.

Actually, marine and offshore yards are also lacking of workers. They are calling back the elderly former local workers to help out.

Two students and a teacher from three different primary schools have tested positive for COVID-19

One of the cases is a Fuchun Primary School student who tested positive for COVID-19 on May 16. The other is a student from Maha Bodhi School

The teacher who tested positive for COVID-19 is from Frontier Primary School

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-students-teacher-positive-fuchun-frontier-maha-bodhi-14827852

• Shocked 2
  • Sad 2

2 hours ago, Kyrios said:

The Know-It-All has spoken again...

https://theindependent.sg/calvin-cheng-says-singapore-is-biggest-nation-of-crybabies-in-the-world/

Funnily..i thought i remember the germans, americans and french took to the streets to riot/demonstrate against their leaders' incompetence to rein in the virus and forced them to lockdown. One local sinkie guy here called Gilbert Goh took a placard to ICA and was immediately hauled up to a free kopi session. Is our displeasure mild or crybaby? This calvin cheng is from another singapore multiverse or what?

He should feel happy we guys are still patiently complying with measures set by oyk and lawless wrong until now!

Is there a way to tell him to shut up now?... This is not a game of cards. This is your life and mine....Coronavirus such a threat to our life....

4 hours ago, 13177 said:

21 community case still consider high and with 11 unlinked! [sweatdrop]

Next 2 weeks will be very critical. Hopefully with the heighten measures will be able to contain those unlinked cases and break the chain.

Edited by Yewheng