Stratovarius Turbocharged April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 Punggol 5rm resale is around 6 to 700k. Honestly i do not know why since i feel Punggol is quite Ulu and traffic to TPE is quite bad. 1MM might be those rare cases, avg i think wont go more than 800k. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 8:17 AM, Count-Bracula said: Mostly young family lah, attracted to the so-called waterway (minus the yatches) Expand Indeed most people who stay in punggol is young family. You can see tons of them in PCN and the mall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 8:47 AM, Stratovarius said: Punggol 5rm resale is around 6 to 700k. Honestly i do not know why since i feel Punggol is quite Ulu and traffic to TPE is quite bad. 1MM might be those rare cases, avg i think wont go more than 800k. Expand 800k for a 5rm still not crazy?? say take 30 years loan, dun count interest. 1 mth 2k+ on the flat alone 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear April 28, 2021 Author Share April 28, 2021 For all the bad points listed here, Punggol seems to be doing very well both as a property investment and a place to live in (whether private or HDB). Buyers will not be opening their wallets and paying top dollar otherwise! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 6:03 AM, Albeniz said: If Punggol is starting to cost $1Million, Tuas area should be worth ~$1.2 Million. Expand Lol.....so it's better to be next to a SG-controlled waste incineration plant than a Bolehland (un)controlled chemical treatment plant? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 6:49 AM, noobcarbuyer said: Wow thank goodness I didn't follow through on the purchase of Luxus Hills in Seletar. It's also right next to PASIR GUDUNG! This is bad news for the entire north east. Must be a recent development or else the government would do something about it! Strangely my friends living in Serangoon Gardens have not mentioned this to me before. Expand That is quite far already (Luxus Hills), don't worry. To be fair, I used to jog round Punggol Settlement (on my longer runs) and only on 1 occasion the air smell odd. I know some folks working there and their feedback was occasional bad smell from Pasir Gudang, not 24x7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 9:09 AM, Beregond said: 800k for a 5rm still not crazy?? say take 30 years loan, dun count interest. 1 mth 2k+ on the flat alone Expand I'm not saying is not crazy. But those numbers are based on recent transactions. So people are paying that for some reasons I don't know. Lol. The water point area is quite nice actually. Big open space and quite breezy. Nice to hang out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 7:14 AM, Kxbc said: I am just guessing only but I think Punggol area appeals to a certain age group between 25 to 35. The average age in this forum should be at least 45 if not more. So maybe that is why most of us here cannot understand the appeal of Punggol. Maybe those few who live there can educate us on the charms of Punggol? I am personally not a fan as it is far from city (if you drive and also far if you don't live near the NE line stations). And the flats there seem pretty packed near to each other. But I see the charms of the large expanse of empty land near Conney island, though I find the sea view there pretty unappetizing. Expand Don't anyhow say average age is 45 years old. RadX said he Primary 3 only 😁 Everything in Punggol is artificial anyway. Waterway, super densely packed, shitty traffic, super packed waterway point mall during the weekends, Pasir Gudang air pollution, free noise and air show by RSAF and not forgetting it's a growing CECA enclave. Even the food sucked, as it's just mediocre food courts and nowhere are there good hawker centres such as to those found in mature estates. Those young couples who got Punggol as their first BTO cannot wait to buy low sell high once MOP is up, and then move nearer to town. Charms of Punggol? Maybe the appeal of BTO at $450-500k and sell to rich suckers at $800k to $1 million 😁 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 Hyped up by the govt to be the next IT neighbourhood. Super far flung. Does even any of the PAP MP stay there? Does Sun Xueling stay there? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 9:56 AM, Fcw75 said: Hyped up by the govt to be the next IT neighbourhood. Super far flung. Does even any of the PAP MP stay there? Does Sun Xueling stay there? Expand i wonder the new 'green' hdb at tengah 5rm gonna btm how much. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear April 28, 2021 Author Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 9:32 AM, Windwaver said: That is quite far already (Luxus Hills), don't worry. To be fair, I used to jog round Punggol Settlement (on my longer runs) and only on 1 occasion the air smell odd. I know some folks working there and their feedback was occasional bad smell from Pasir Gudang, not 24x7 Expand Looks near to me using google maps! Luxus Hills is only 6km from this Pasir Gudung! Luckily you shared the info about Pasir Gudung with me. I checked with my friend staying in Serangoon Gardens and he said he can smell the acrid 'plastic' smell from Malaysia during the north east monsoon. His kid has more asthma attacks at the end of the year due to the pollution. The thing about transboundary air pollution is that it can reach places hundreds of kilometers away. So an small island of max 20km in width isn't much of a challenge when faced with the lethal fumes from Pasir Gudung. Half of Singapore is blanketed by pollution from Malaysia daily and our government is not doing anything about it? I guess Marina Parade and East Coast are the best options for now. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear April 28, 2021 Author Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 9:48 AM, Lethalstrike said: Don't anyhow say average age is 45 years old. RadX said he Primary 3 only 😁 Everything in Punggol is artificial anyway. Waterway, super densely packed, shitty traffic, super packed waterway point mall during the weekends, Pasir Gudang air pollution, free noise and air show by RSAF and not forgetting it's a growing CECA enclave. Even the food sucked, as it's just mediocre food courts and nowhere are there good hawker centres such as to those found in mature estates. Those young couples who got Punggol as their first BTO cannot wait to buy low sell high once MOP is up, and then move nearer to town. Charms of Punggol? Maybe the appeal of BTO at $450-500k and sell to rich suckers at $800k to $1 million 😁 Expand Looks like you stay in Punggol! 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 It seems people are distracted by the headline and not really cognizant that it is a rather special unit - a 2 storey unit (used to be called maisonette) that is quite large in size compared to units around it. Rarity and special features plus 94 years of lease are all worth it for someone who might be in the market for EMs that are 30 years old but asking for 800k. It’s definitely not because of the location or amenities. Punggol is like the arse end of Singapore to me; even though Pasir Ris is further from town than even Punggol, it feels better connected somehow. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 what is the problem? HDB is public housing, if the SG Ppublic can afford S$1m for a HDB, meaning it is still affordable to the public, which also means the public is getting richer. 😃 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 9:56 AM, Fcw75 said: Hyped up by the govt to be the next IT neighbourhood. Super far flung. Does even any of the PAP MP stay there? Does Sun Xueling stay there? Expand Son of punggol? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 10:54 AM, Macrosszero said: It seems people are distracted by the headline and not really cognizant that it is a rather special unit - a 2 storey unit (used to be called maisonette) that is quite large in size compared to units around it. Rarity and special features plus 94 years of lease are all worth it for someone who might be in the market for EMs that are 30 years old but asking for 800k. It’s definitely not because of the location or amenities. Punggol is like the arse end of Singapore to me; even though Pasir Ris is further from town than even Punggol, it feels better connected somehow. Expand Loft and maisonette two different class bros. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 10:56 AM, Ct3833 said: what is the problem? HDB is public housing, if the SG Ppublic can afford S$1m for a HDB, meaning it is still affordable to the public, which also means the public is getting richer. 😃 Expand It mean bank increased their headcount. Employed with long term contract of 20 / 30 years. 😄 Work for the bank. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 28, 2021 Share April 28, 2021 On 4/28/2021 at 11:25 AM, Kopites said: Son of punggol? Expand Hahahah, no way la. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...