Indonesia searching for missing submarine with 53 on board

steveluv

1 hour ago, Victor68 said:

Just my curiosity,  why it breaks into 3 parts? I thought it would just sink if it lost power. 

as it sunk deeper the pressure increased.. the big differences between internal pressure and external pressure cause it to rupture..

Rolex Deep Sea got escape valve.. maybe same reason..

Edited by Ody_2004

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

as it sunk deeper the pressure increased.. the big differences between internal pressure and external pressure cause it to rupture..

Rolex Deep Sea got escape valve.. maybe same reason..

I guess by then all inside die liao due to the pressure. Should have a system to inflate the cabin with air and let if float when in trouble hor. 

14 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

I guess by then all inside die liao due to the pressure. Should have a system to inflate the cabin with air and let if float when in trouble hor. 

got generator and pump. but if accident happen, pump fail due to explosion etc etc, cannot pump out the water, and keep taking in water, there are no other way out but down only.

submarine got many section, most properly some section is seal off to prevent flooding. but it wont help if pump dun work.

when it keep going down and taking in water, those flooded area will be fill with water, while those seal off section will be empty , like a empty bottle. what happen when u sink an empty bottle to the deep sea, it will collapse or flatten.

imagine say the middle of the sub flatten or collapse, it will cause the sub to break apart.

10 minutes ago, Beregond said:

got generator and pump. but if accident happen, pump fail due to explosion etc etc, cannot pump out the water, and keep taking in water, there are no other way out but down only.

submarine got many section, most properly some section is seal off to prevent flooding. but it wont help if pump dun work.

when it keep going down and taking in water, those flooded area will be fill with water, while those seal off section will be empty , like a empty bottle. what happen when u sink an empty bottle to the deep sea, it will collapse or flatten.

imagine say the middle of the sub flatten or collapse, it will cause the sub to break apart.

So sad, let me design an independent module that can breakaway to float up during emergency. haha 

4 hours ago, Victor68 said:

So sad, let me design an independent module that can breakaway to float up during emergency. haha 

In the first place, to be a submarine, it needs to be neutral buoyancy. There is very fine buoyancy controls to be able to propel itself underwater. Surfacing and diving depends very much on ballasting (take in water) and deballasting (pump air into the tanks, thus pushing out water)

You will need to study hydro dynamics to come out with a design to fit 50 to 100 ppl to ascend from underwater. Even those rescue diving pods unable to contain so many ppl. If you really able to design it, you will be richer than Elon Mask.