Kklee 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 (edited) This thread is set up for discussions of anything technical, features, functions, tips/tricks or technological gadgets relating to fuel consumption (FC) and performance for general drivers. It is not for the discussion extensive or extreme car modifications and similar irrelevances. Do share what works for you, your aspiration and related information. Do ask if you have any questions relating FC and performance. Edited March 14, 2021 by Kklee ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Good FC.....????Control your Right Leg on throttle. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Life is oredi stressful enuff.. FC is the last thing on my mind.. 1 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Wah dun hv that IMHO? IMHO.. Gd FC? Change EO timely lor. But hor save on FC but waste on EO lor. Like that how? Aiya, if only this topic is started by some members of substance & not by some IMHO 🤣 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 The most important step is to pick the right car. For me, the 1.4 DSG has always been the best balance for FC and performance. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Quite a waste time thread... Would definitely share inputs if topic has some genuity started by some. IMHO 😉 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 5:54 AM, ER-3682 said: Good FC.....????Control your Right Leg on throttle. Expand Wah this post so looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong one. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Drive during off-peak hours on the expressway with ACC is THE BEST. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 (edited) Want FC, forgo performance. Want performance , forgo FC. The two are mutually exclusive, lets be realistic. 😀 Hybird will help to some extent, otherwise, EV would be the best, only performance but ZERO FC. Edited March 14, 2021 by Ct3833 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 6:14 AM, badlammy said: The most important step is to pick the right car. For me, the 1.4 DSG has always been the best balance for FC and performance. Expand And the bestest gearbox too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 Increase tire pressures to maximum recommended. Choose a rim and tire combo that has a smaller contact patch to minimize frictional drag. Higher octane could give better fuel efficiency but costs more in the first place. Work out on a cost per kilometre basis which is the most value for money petrol grade to use. Eliminate excess junk from the boot - like your car washing buckets, shampoo, etc. Window visors reduce aerodynamic efficiency creating more drag. Choose to drive during off peak hours so you do less start-stop driving. Reduce the use of air conditioning, it take up 10-15% of the fuel consumption. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Author Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 6:25 AM, Macrosszero said: Increase tire pressures to maximum recommended. Choose a rim and tire combo that has a smaller contact patch to minimize frictional drag. Higher octane could give better fuel efficiency but costs more in the first place. Work out on a cost per kilometre basis which is the most value for money petrol grade to use. Eliminate excess junk from the boot - like your car washing buckets, shampoo, etc. Window visors reduce aerodynamic efficiency creating more drag. Choose to drive during off peak hours so you do less start-stop driving. Reduce the use of air conditioning, it take up 10-15% of the fuel consumption. Expand How to know the maximum tyre pressure? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Author Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 6:20 AM, Ct3833 said: Want FC, forgo performance. Want performance , forgo FC. The two are mutually exclusive, lets be realistic. 😀 Hybird will help to some extent, otherwise, EV would be the best, only performance but ZERO FC. Expand Yes, they should be discussed separately. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Author Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 6:20 AM, inlinesix said: Drive during off-peak hours on the expressway with ACC is THE BEST. Expand My next car, hope will have ACC. 😎 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 I don't exactly watch my FC but I'm quite a light footer. My wife always say when I drive everybody in the car will fall asleep 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 (edited) I think I got the right car: 2, in fact with me. 0 fuel consumption, fueled by food. No need to pay pappie fuel tax some more. On 3/14/2021 at 6:14 AM, badlammy said: The most important step is to pick the right car. For me, the 1.4 DSG has always been the best balance for FC and performance. Expand But anyways, drive on the highway and since my car does not have acc, predicting traffic is the way to go. Edited March 14, 2021 by Brass 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 6:33 AM, Kklee said: How to know the maximum tyre pressure? Expand Check the Side of your Door or Fuel Flap,sure have a Sticker there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 On 3/14/2021 at 7:02 AM, Windwaver said: I don't exactly watch my FC but I'm quite a light footer. My wife always say when I drive everybody in the car will fall asleep Expand What is your Car's Make.?How many Km/L.? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...