Didu Turbocharged March 25, 2021 Share March 25, 2021 Don’t Copy Singapore (sing by Kim Huat) ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 On 3/22/2021 at 10:16 AM, mikk123 said: don't go off topic lah. we are talking about one fellow who is shameless and claim other's work to be his own. Maybe he got his fame the way he wished..... I was just thinking he didn't feel ashamed while telling a huge lie like this? He is really GOOD! He also copied some other singers. Best thing is let the record companies deal with him.. they have the money and lawyers.. plus time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 On 3/24/2021 at 2:01 PM, Staff69 said: I have been singing that song since 1986. We have been very fortunate. We didn't even know that song can worth so much money! Sometimes, we need outsiders to remind us. 身在福中不知福! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Albeniz said: I have been singing that song since 1986. We have been very fortunate. We didn't even know that song can worth so much money! Sometimes, we need outsiders to remind us. 身在福中不知福! That's cos sg is unimaginative and the structure is in such that , out of the norm is not encouraged. Had a informal chat with an ang moh yesterday, his comments were, Singapore is great but not very adventurous in doing things different and there isn't any support , should 1 tries something new and failed. You try selling this song on apple play and you soon see the government hurling you to court over copy rights, rather than, @@@imitation is the best form of flattery 🤣🤣🤣 https://unscrambled.sg/2017/05/12/is-singapore-society-too-unimaginative-for-a-proper-revamp-of-our-education-system/ Looks familiar to you Edited March 26, 2021 by Staff69 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 Oh Joey, I'm not angry anymore 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 4 hours ago, Staff69 said: That's cos sg is unimaginative and the structure is in such that , out of the norm is not encouraged. Had a informal chat with an ang moh yesterday, his comments were, Singapore is great but not very adventurous in doing things different and there isn't any support , should 1 tries something new and failed. You try selling this song on apple play and you soon see the government hurling you to court over copy rights, rather than, @@@imitation is the best form of flattery 🤣🤣🤣 https://unscrambled.sg/2017/05/12/is-singapore-society-too-unimaginative-for-a-proper-revamp-of-our-education-system/ The problem is we, esp the gahmen, see our own peeper no up. Just see those gahmen consulting projects - how many awarded to local consultants vs those with some ang moh show face to tkss to get the project before handing over to some junior ones? Same idea, a foreigner proposes it, it would be like enlightenment. A local, he must be out of his mind to have a far fetch idea. 3 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 (edited) We grew up with that song since 1986. "Count on me Singapore" is a national patriotic song which we will defend with all our hearts and souls, allowing no one to copy. If they really want to copy, we allow them to copy our other local production, "China Wine". They can copy the dance too. Edited March 26, 2021 by Albeniz 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 26, 2021 Share March 26, 2021 3 hours ago, Volvobrick said: The problem is we, esp the gahmen, see our own peeper no up. Just see those gahmen consulting projects - how many awarded to local consultants vs those with some ang moh show face to tkss to get the project before handing over to some junior ones? Same idea, a foreigner proposes it, it would be like enlightenment. A local, he must be out of his mind to have a far fetch idea. We are being educated to be followers. AMDK are being educated to think out of the box. A lot of times, ppl who give out these projects don’t know what they want. Local will wait RFQ. AMDK will smoke until they get the projects. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 5, 2021 Share April 5, 2021 Government was ready to take legal action over Count on Me copyright claims: Edwin Tong Quote SINGAPORE: The Government was prepared to initiate legal proceedings over ownership claims of national song Count on Me, Singapore, said Culture, Community and Youth Minister Edwin Tong on Monday (Apr 5). He was responding in Parliament to a question by Non-Constituency MP Leong Mun Wai (PSP) on the actions the Government has taken to protect Singapore’s copyright on the song. Indian composer Joey Mendoza had claimed he wrote the nearly identical We Can Achieve three years before Count on Me, Singapore. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/count-on-me-singapore-song-copyright-legal-action-14560054 "was prepared" ... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 5, 2021 Share April 5, 2021 Why Mr Leong never pressed on with the sentence of ''Imitation is the best form of flattery" by MCCY? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 16 hours ago, Blueray said: Government was ready to take legal action over Count on Me copyright claims: Edwin Tong https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/count-on-me-singapore-song-copyright-legal-action-14560054 "was prepared" ... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 Personally disappointed with the stand of the government taken as regards to this national song saga. Who am I to question the government? Sigh....haiz.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 17 hours ago, Blueray said: Government was ready to take legal action over Count on Me copyright claims: Edwin Tong https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/count-on-me-singapore-song-copyright-legal-action-14560054 "was prepared" ... i call this horse pulling a cannon 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 18 hours ago, Blueray said: Government was ready to take legal action over Count on Me copyright claims: Edwin Tong https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/count-on-me-singapore-song-copyright-legal-action-14560054 "was prepared" ... Prepared only what, no harm done and dust already settled down .... talk lor ... When the topic was hot, nobody said anything ... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 That song sounds really nice and was very well-copied. But the quality of the song is somehow spoilt by a poorly-named title "We Can Achieve". He should have copied our song title as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 Strategy to strengthen S'pore as global IP hub will help develop jobs, attract innovative enterprises Quote "We will continue to build our capabilities in handling IP dispute resolution, to make Singapore a 'go-to' place when companies have IP disputes to resolve," said Mr Tong. https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/strategy-to-strengthen-singapores-position-as-global-ip-hub-will-help-develop so is this an IP issue ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 Future law minister probably... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged April 6, 2021 Share April 6, 2021 6 hours ago, Kopites said: Personally disappointed with the stand of the government taken as regards to this national song saga. Who am I to question the government? Sigh....haiz.... dun worry, come election, this Edwin Tong will face the backlash... the people do not forget ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...