We Can Achieve (Patriotic Song)

steveluv

24 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

I read in hwz something interesting.  Something interesting cos I am going to quote very loosely (not original meaning of the post).

Imagine if india claims the song as theirs and start demanding Singapore pays royalties for playing "count on me Singapore" with royalties backdated to 1986.  Or they will take Singapore to world court for breach of IP (since we never defended our ownership, it will be used as tacit admission of their ownership of the song).

Then it will really be popcorn time. 

That is really a potential danger if it the government position now is not documented.  

Although toothless as MCCY seem, I trust Singapore gahment to have documented the whole course of collaboration They are scholars leh... So far this Joey has are empty words.

image.png

1 minute ago, Philipkee said:

I am not sure.  Cant the trial be held elsewhere? But definitely the trial will garner a lot of unwanted publicity even if held here.

IMHO.
The trial is one thing.
If Singapore don't enforce our own IP,   then it defeats the purpose.
I read that the song was commissioned by MCYS.  Usually the copyright works will belong to who commissioned it.
Now it seems the owner is the composer/writer as he is taking further steps, so I guess Singapore may not necessarily have ownership of the IP.

1 minute ago, Ender said:

Although toothless as MCCY seem, I trust Singapore gahment to have documented the whole course of collaboration They are scholars leh... So far this Joey has are empty words.

image.png

IMHO.
That is provided that Joey do not have any documentation.
The screen grabs I've read on this saga,   Joey did not claim ownership to anything that he wrote We Can Achieve. 

Hmmmmmm.................. like that, they can also claimed the song "Home" which was sang by Kit Chan was also from one tiny corner of India forgotten village school where children sang the song when they walk home...... :slow:

What can a tiny little 'Red' dot do when we don't Pattern & Copywrite it.  India have WMD..... [sweatdrop]  

8 minutes ago, Kklee said:

IMHO.
That is provided that Joey do not have any documentation.
The screen grabs I've read on this saga,   Joey did not claim ownership to anything that he wrote We Can Achieve. 

Joey's reply to Pauline India on facebook, implies he wrote and perform the songs in 1983. He then sold the 'copyright' to Pauline India. This is as close as a claim of ownership of we can achieve.

image.thumb.png.dc98d4858dd535d2560ffebd4dfb5eb9.png

Edited by Ender
  • Angry 2

25 minutes ago, Ender said:

image.png

Think this is insufficient and too idealistic. 

A simple example would be the Myanmar coup.  There is probably evidence of fair elections with the results for all to see and yet when the military took power, so what good did the evidence do?

My point here is not the coup.  But it's like no point merely having the documentation if it's not going to be used effectively.

I think LKY did say in his biography "at the end of the day, might is right and that's that".

1 minute ago, Philipkee said:

Think this is insufficient and too idealistic. 

A simple example would be the Myanmar coup.  There is probably evidence of fair elections with the results for all to see and yet when the military took power, so what good did the evidence do?

My point here is not the coup.  But it's like no point merely having the documentation if it's not going to be used effectively.

I think LKY did say in his biography "at the end of the day, might is right and that's that".

Read your original post, you mentioned what if india, or joey takes Singapore to world court. In Court, a proper documentation helps alot. Singapore has a history of doing well in international court, and one reason is our lawyer trained scholars can throws tons of relevant documentation.  And then in your  2nd post, you use a military coup analogy and say evidence no use. So which  is which you are talking? Court scenario or the ridiculous coup. I don't follow you.

1 hour ago, Philipkee said:

I read in hwz something interesting.  Something interesting cos I am going to quote very loosely (not original meaning of the post).

Imagine if india claims the song as theirs and start demanding Singapore pays royalties for playing "count on me Singapore" with royalties backdated to 1986.  Or they will take Singapore to world court for breach of IP (since we never defended our ownership, it will be used as tacit admission of their ownership of the song).

Then it will really be popcorn time. 

That is really a potential danger if it the government position now is not documented.  

Like that they can claim Changalore as their territory liao since they have been occupying it for years!

5 minutes ago, Ender said:

Read your original post, you mentioned what if india, or joey takes Singapore to world court. In Court, a proper documentation helps alot. Singapore has a history of doing well in international court, and one reason is our lawyer trained scholars can throws tons of relevant documentation.  And then in your  2nd post, you use a military coup analogy and say evidence no use. So which  is which you are talking? Court scenario or the ridiculous coup. I don't follow you.

Sorry.  I meant documentation in the sense that Singapore can win a court case but if India chooses to just ignore this route and demand royalties (without going to court) or investments will be penalised, we will have a problem.

Cos not everyone will go by the "correct route".

So I used to court case as the ideal scenario.

I used the coup as the worst case scenario that sometimes the ideal scenario is not followed- we seem unprepared for it.

other thing dun want say.

but if our guys are drawing millions and paying billions for fighter planes, i expect them to at least be able to protect our national song

In 80 years time, india will say, sg was build by indi-lee kwan yew and indi-lee , apply for s-pass and climb his way up , using fake degree and colour politics . That , boys n gals,  was how cecapore came about 🤣🤣🤣

IMG-20210317-WA0001.thumb.jpg.165e0ba978604ff639446d0704078f74.jpg

IMG-20210317-WA0000.thumb.jpg.fbeea7b1f604e7a46b39d8974a9fc03f.jpg

Edited by Staff69

5 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

Sorry.  I meant documentation in the sense that Singapore can win a court case but if India chooses to just ignore this route and demand royalties (without going to court) or investments will be penalised, we will have a problem.

I used the coup as the worst case scenario that sometimes the ideal scenario is not followed- we seem unprepared for it.

So your first post of what if India take SIngapore to court and demand royalties from is very different to your latest post above. I am not worry about the first scenario of India demanding royalties.

Your 2nd scenario of India choosing the heck care us is exactly being discussed here, and that's why I called the MCCY  toothless.

Edited by Ender

27 minutes ago, Ender said:

Joey's reply to Pauline India on facebook, implies he wrote and perform the songs in 1983. He then sold the 'copyright' to Pauline India. This is as close as a claim of ownership of we can achieve.

image.thumb.png.dc98d4858dd535d2560ffebd4dfb5eb9.png

IMHO.
Joey only mentioned that he wrote and perform the song in 1983. 
Writing can be the lyrics.
He did not indicate that he has ownership to the song and music score. 
A song has 2 parts - lyrics and music. 
Whatever happened between Pauline India and Joey, only they know, especially what was being sold. 
Joey also mentioned that he did not claim ownership to the song "Count on me Singapore.
He didn't claim ownership to the lyrics and the music score. 

7 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

Its our Gov thats give too much respects to India.....  :ignoring:

No need to says much, just CECA already very headache ... :dizzy: 

22 minutes ago, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Joey only mentioned that he wrote and perform the song in 1983. 
Writing can be the lyrics.
He did not indicate that he has ownership to the song and music score. 
A song has 2 parts - lyrics and music. 
Whatever happened between Pauline India and Joey, only they know, especially what was being sold. 
Joey also mentioned that he did not claim ownership to the song "Count on me Singapore.
He didn't claim ownership to the lyrics and the music score. 

You know a fake when you see one. Enuff said! 

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

You know a fake when you see one. Enuff said! 

He sure like to set many traps.

1 hour ago, Staff69 said:

In 80 years time, india will say, sg was build by indi-lee kwan yew and indi-lee , apply for s-pass and climb his way up , using fake degree and colour politics . That , boys n gals,  was how cecapore came about 🤣🤣🤣

IMG-20210317-WA0000.thumb.jpg.fbeea7b1f604e7a46b39d8974a9fc03f.jpg

Nothing wrong with this right? 

I see a lot of Singaporeans named Edward, etc. They can name themselves after the emperor of india then I don't see why an indian cannot name themselves after the singapore emperor.