Opinions about upgrading

porkfloss

On 3/3/2021 at 9:59 PM, 13177 said:

Condo consider upgrade as status lo. No matter what is the condo size or if it is 99 or freehold lease, afterall it is still consider as private lo. 😂

Upgrade/Upsize loans and debts. LOL

After upgrade to Condo, why still put laundry in the Balcony?  It is so f ugly.

I stay in HDB also hang everything on the ceiling of Service Balcony.

28 minutes ago, Showster said:

Kids can upgrade easily but it’s hard to downgrade. Might be important as part of decision making process.

Eh...
I meant it is good from time to time to seek inputs from different sources.  See what is the thinking process.
Usually is one sided.  

For example, 

a)   asking the elderly  to move to newer and bigger place is a "good idea" but to some elderly, they see it as up-root because of the loss around them.
b)   family with kids,  the kids are at the age where they have neighbour or school kakis - kenna up-rooted

15 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I look around my place the row of HDBs and Condo along the road.
HDB - Laundry inside at the living room.
Condo - Laundry outside at balcony and railings

2 minutes ago, Kklee said:

Eh...
I meant it is good from time to time to seek inputs from different sources.  See what is the thinking process.
Usually is one sided.  

For example, 

a)   asking the elderly  to move to newer and bigger place is a "good idea" but to some elderly, they see it as up-root because of the loss around them.
b)   family with kids,  the kids are at the age where they have neighbour or school kakis - kenna up-rooted

True. People move to aspire to a better overall state for everyone.

There are always reasons to stay and reasons to move.

20 minutes ago, Giordanogavin said:

I remember someone told me this a while ago: "stay in HDBEE jiak gu bak mee, jin happeee, stay in condo bo luiieee jiak maggi mee"

There are always twists to the plot. Option 1 is free to spend, option 2 is lock up money.

Fast forward 20-30 years then we see who eats what.

Too much good food in forties also may spell a disaster in old age anyway.

3 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Exactly ... This is one thing that dont make sense at all ... and cannot be noisy,  cannot have bright light , cannot on music or TV loud after 10.... no MJ ... no KTV ... no noisy piak piak ... no moaning .... 😭😭😭 why pay so much to suffer ... 😂😂😂🍻🍻🍻  l ucky im poor , bo lwee kia Jia Hong Chu

21 hours ago, Giordanogavin said:

Usually in mature estate.

Other issue staying in HDB: the incense burner if near your unit or window the burning of incense paper smoke could be health hazard as well, every 1st and 15th there will be burning without fails. Ghost month is worst comparable to haze from Indonesia. cleanliness depend on which estate you living some are quite dirty especially in lift, smoking in lift etc. If you see anything wrong in your estate and feedback to town council the action usually very slow or no action at all.

Risk of Cars bonnet and boot to be burnt during 7th month increase..... 

3 hours ago, Kklee said:

I look around my place the row of HDBs and Condo along the road.
HDB - Laundry inside at the living room.
Condo - Laundry outside at balcony and railings

So much story of

smoking 

Spitting 

Dripping laundry

Dripping mop

Flying used sanitary napkin. 

I will keep my laundry indoors as well.... 😅

1 hour ago, vitaminsee said:

Does anyone have any views on the upcoming development at pasir ris MRT? pasir-ris8.com.sg . Worth to buy?

Of course worth to buy lah. 

New one leh... 

Some more so close to MRT.. 

Everyday can see people wear nice nice going to work at the platform. 

Once train arrive will know... 

Because can hear them. 

Just saw the unit floor space... 

4 bedroom 1230 to 1300+sqft

Sounds cramp 

But worth to buy for what purpose and objective? 

Very vague question 

Then we can only give you vague answer. 

Edited by Atonchia

7 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

So much story of

smoking 

Spitting 

Dripping laundry

Dripping mop

Indoor in the living room and kitchen is different.

9 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Of course worth to buy lah. 

New one leh... 

Some more so close to MRT.. 

Everyday can see people wear nice nice going to work at the platform. 

Once train arrive will know... 

Because can hear them. 

Just saw the unit floor space... 

4 bedroom 1230 to 1300+sqft

Sounds cramp 

Should be standard size of a new condo now?

Over the last 20 years, 4th March 2001 - 4th March 2021, national average appreciation for each residential types are as follows:

1) Condo : 176.5%

2) Landed : 185.8%

3) EC : 158.4%

4) HDB : 96.5%

If capital appreciation is a key consideration, upgrade to a landed is the best. But how many can afford landed? So condo is the next best thing.

To upgrade or not to upgrade really depends on the personality of the person. There are always two kind of people

1) Risk adverse type, value stability first over potential future upside in wealth or jobs. Live in the moment kind

2)  Willing to take moderate risk and compromise some stability for potential future upside in wealth or jobs. Live for improvement in the future kind.

Neither are wrong, just choices in life and often depends on their age as well.

36 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

So much story of

smoking 

Spitting 

Dripping laundry

Dripping mop

I more scare of birds rest on my laundry lo. Lol.