ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 37 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Actually let's be honest here. The environment is just different lah. Even the most mass market HDB upgrader condo grounds won't have, - Scavengers/People constantly picking through the bulky/large items left at void deck that don't fit into refuse chute - cigarette butts around refuse chute or on the void deck waiting areas - siao lang suddenly shouting and yelling at odd times of the day - 11pm people blasting old songs which can be heard blocks away - people sitting at the benches drinking beer and smoking at like until wee hrs - ah bengs (or the racial equivalent for the major races) with illegally modded exhausts idling/parked at loading bay doing the above - your neighbour coming to warn you that his helper borrowed money from loanshark and asking us to call police if there's a problem of mistakened unit with the loanshark Want me to go on? I can... these 4 still have la. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 (edited) This is very simple really. When you live in a nice condo and you take your kids holiday and check into a 5 star hotel, your kids won't have the same WOW effect as kids stay in HDB. Those kids so happy like Christmas and strike TOTO all at once. They so excited run around the room. The place so nice night time cannot sleep. Its like you drive your kids swimming they so excited even before driving there they ask "today can take us swimming, today can take us swimming?" You stay condo you will be asking your kids to swim. Kids condo maintenance fee so ex you know, go and swim lah, make full use of the facilities. Aiyah the pool will be still be there tomorrow lah. Don't use won't runaway one. Its like my rich cousin weekend trying to decide where to go makan and they decided Shangri la and the kids said "what Shangri la again?" I told my cousin let the maid take the kids to the hawker centre lah and let them eat what they want. You take me to Shangri la and have the buffet lah. We can take our time eat a bit, chat a bit and catch up lah on old times lah. So I got a free meal and I never complain Shrigri la again? Its like some people have a 75" TV. It looks big and impressive ONLY when its switch OFF. When you watching your movie or football game the size doesn't matter, you are watching the show not the TV and you don't care what size it is. I remember 30 years ago 10 of us huddled around a 14 inch TV watching World Cup Brazil vs Italy. It was a fantastic game. Italy scored and then Brazil scored, Italy scored again and then Brazil scored and finally Italy score and won the match. Its didn't matter it was only a 14" screen and we didn't care the size. Last week got Man U vs Chelsea, it was a lousy match. Watch on 75" also won't make the match any better. There is only 2 reasons to buy a condo. You have so much money and its not a financial burden or your income doesn't not quality you to buy HDB. Children's quality of life is how much time your parents spend with you, how much they joke with their kids and be their best friend and how supportive the parents are. This build confidence in a child and increase their self esteem and if your kids have self confidence they can do anything. Don't have to be used car salesman or physio therapist for good looking young ladies. You can get those good jobs. Edited March 4, 2021 by Jamesc 13 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: This is true of any mature estate. Maybe just less so in new estates like Punggol. Maybe it is true for mature or old estate, high chance to find more weird people and funny things happening?! Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Beregond said: i got the same thinking as u 😂 i dun want to wake up thinking about my sales figure. last time alway happen to me. keep thinking why this 2 week sales so slow. did i do something wrong, when i wake up keep thinking will sales pick up today. no more of this🤣 same here, when i was in my 40's 1 night wake up 3 times! keep thinking about work, this meeting, that meeting, this not done, that not done, report due, presentation due.... now i sleep thru like a log....my boss fire me now also i dun care coz i also debt free already. I can do some cleaning work and wear my lolex... so really depends on what type of life u want....no right or wrong choice.... Edited March 4, 2021 by Spidey10 6 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 Wake up 3 times in the middle of the night must have good reason Like thinking about the sales coordinator's nice figure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 If want to stay in a condo be a doctor like my cousin Good looking lady come in he will ask her take off her clothes have a good look and send a big bill to the husband. Old lady come in he will ask her bend forward and put his stethoscope to her back a few places and tell her no need to take off her clothes and still send a big bill to her husband. How not to make money like that? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giordanogavin 5th Gear March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: Actually let's be honest here. The environment is just different lah. Even the most mass market HDB upgrader condo grounds won't have, - Scavengers/People constantly picking through the bulky/large items left at void deck that don't fit into refuse chute - cigarette butts around refuse chute or on the void deck waiting areas - siao lang suddenly shouting and yelling at odd times of the day - 11pm people blasting old songs which can be heard blocks away - people sitting at the benches drinking beer and smoking at like until wee hrs - ah bengs (or the racial equivalent for the major races) with illegally modded exhausts idling/parked at loading bay doing the above - your neighbour coming to warn you that his helper borrowed money from loanshark and asking us to call police if there's a problem of mistakened unit with the loanshark Want me to go on? I can... Usually in mature estate. Other issue staying in HDB: the incense burner if near your unit or window the burning of incense paper smoke could be health hazard as well, every 1st and 15th there will be burning without fails. Ghost month is worst comparable to haze from Indonesia. cleanliness depend on which estate you living some are quite dirty especially in lift, smoking in lift etc. If you see anything wrong in your estate and feedback to town council the action usually very slow or no action at all. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 4 hours ago, Jamesc said: This is very simple really. When you live in a nice condo and you take your kids holiday and check into a 5 star hotel, your kids won't have the same WOW effect as kids stay in HDB. Those kids so happy like Christmas and strike TOTO all at once. They so excited run around the room. The place so nice night time cannot sleep. .................. 4 hours ago, Jamesc said: For once, @Jamesc is talking sense 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 You stay in some condo, where investor purchase the unit to rent out, then you end up with many Foreigners living there, in units that are partitioned, the hall can be living room for 2 othr families, + 3 bedrooms , 1 family each. Seen these, even in the newer developments. Don't want to mention development names. Worse than HDB flat. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 I think it’s important to scope out the condo before putting your $$ now.. The Budget TS has will determine what kind of condo and the type of neighbors he’ll get .. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 4, 2021 Share March 4, 2021 (edited) HDB supporter will tell you all the ills of condo. Condo supporter will tell you all the ills of HDB. Whose opinion? Mostly biases. Only trust those who have seen both I would say. Listen and see what you like or dislike, can tolerate or cannot. There are good and bad debts. Consider for yourself what is the best course. Edited March 4, 2021 by Showster 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 5, 2021 Share March 5, 2021 13 hours ago, Showster said: HDB supporter will tell you all the ills of condo. Condo supporter will tell you all the ills of HDB. Whose opinion? Mostly biases. Only trust those who have seen both I would say. Listen and see what you like or dislike, can tolerate or cannot. There are good and bad debts. Consider for yourself what is the best course. IMHO. A rather big sized person once told me, better don't upgrade to condo, the room very small. I replied "Orrrh". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 5, 2021 Share March 5, 2021 37 minutes ago, Kklee said: IMHO. A rather big sized person once told me, better don't upgrade to condo, the room very small. I replied "Orrrh". Most importantly is whether he has a condo... Some people can take small but clean, some can take huge and messy. Some also like the incense burning culture and some like not having any security. One man's meat is another man's poison. No one size fits all! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 5, 2021 Share March 5, 2021 20 minutes ago, Showster said: Most importantly is whether he has a condo... Some people can take small but clean, some can take huge and messy. Some also like the incense burning culture and some like not having any security. One man's meat is another man's poison. No one size fits all! The person is a big kid. 😆 At times, I like to ask questions, kids usually give interesting replies. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 5, 2021 Share March 5, 2021 Looks like TS has left the building .. just shooting the breeze perhaps ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged March 5, 2021 Share March 5, 2021 18 minutes ago, Kklee said: The person is a big kid. 😆 At times, I like to ask questions, kids usually give interesting replies. Kids can upgrade easily but it’s hard to downgrade. Might be important as part of decision making process. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...