Kb27 Supersonic July 8, 2021 Share July 8, 2021 Lead Sinovac vaccine scientist in Indonesia dies of suspected Covid-19 The lead scientist on China's Sinovac vaccine trials in Indonesia died of suspected Covid-19 on Wednesday, Indonesian media said. The death of Novilia Sjafri Bachtiar comes as fatalities from the coronavirus reach record highs in Indonesia, one of the countries where the Sinovac vaccine has been most widely used. Kumparan news service said Novilia had died of the coronavirus. Sindonews quoted an official of state-owned pharmaceuticals company BioFarma as saying she had been buried according to Covid-19 protocols. State enterprises minister Erick Thohir posted a message on Instagram mourning her "huge loss" at BioFarma, which is making the vaccine. He did not give the cause of her death. "She was lead scientist and head of dozens of clinical trials done by BioFarma, including Covid-19 vaccine clinical trials in cooperation with Sinovac," he said. "It has been produced and injected into tens of millions people in Indonesia, as part of our effort to be free from this Covid-19 pandemic." BioFarma did not immediately respond to a request for comment on the death of Novilia, who was in her early fifties. The infection and deaths of health workers in Indonesia who had received the Sinovac vaccine has added to questions over its effectiveness in preventing hospitalization and death. According to independent data group Lapor Covid-19, 131 healthcare workers, mostly vaccinated with the Sinovac shot, have died since June, including 50 in July. Indonesia reported more than 1,000 coronavirus deaths in a day for the first time on Wednesday and a record 34,379 infections. The latest wave of infections has been driven by the Delta variant, first identified in India. Last month, Sinovac spokesman Liu Peicheng told Reuters preliminary results showed the vaccine produced a three-fold reduction in neutralizing effect against the Delta variant. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 8, 2021 Share July 8, 2021 18 minutes ago, Kb27 said: She was lead scientist and head of dozens of clinical trials done by BioFarma, including Covid-19 vaccine clinical trials in cooperation with Sinovac," he said. So errrr.... Indos are being used for clinical trials by sinovac???? Or they just don't trust sinovac data and want to confirm locally.... .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 8, 2021 Share July 8, 2021 45 minutes ago, Playtime said: So errrr.... Indos are being used for clinical trials by sinovac???? Or they just don't trust sinovac data and want to confirm locally.... .. https://jakartaglobe.id/news/indonesia-administers-sinovac-vaccine-manufactured-by-bio-farma Sinovac produced in Indonesia. So how do you make inactivated virus for vaccine ? Probably you need to handle live virus, very dangerous. Cutter incident In April 1955 more than 200 000 children in five Western and mid-Western USA states received a polio vaccine in which the process of inactivating the live virus proved to be defective. Within days there were reports of paralysis and within a month the first mass vaccination programme against polio had to be abandoned. Subsequent investigations revealed that the vaccine, manufactured by the California-based family firm of Cutter Laboratories, had caused 40 000 cases of polio, leaving 200 children with varying degrees of paralysis and killing 10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2021 Share August 16, 2021 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 SinoVac currently no stock, have to wait for those wanting this vaccine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2021 Share November 21, 2021 Malaysia records severe Covid-19 cases among vaccinated, health minister urges people to take booster shotshttps://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysia-records-severe-covid-19-cases-among-vaccinated-health-minister-urges-people-to “The last epidemiology week (week 45) saw 165 Sinovac recipients admitted to Hospital Sungai Buloh as Category 4 and 5 patients. Both categories refer to seriously ill patients in intensive care units (ICUs). Patients under Category 4 require oxygen assistance while those under Category 5 need to be ventilated. In comparison, 24 were Pfizer recipients while seven had taken the AstraZeneca vaccine.” Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic November 21, 2021 Share November 21, 2021 (edited) booster shot or no booster shot the writings are clearly on the WALL liao everyone will tio covid ... slowly but surely current vaccine has no "protection" from infection ... simi S, P, A, M vaccine ... all cannot protect you from infection those vaccinated even with booster shot will still tio covid now hopefully ... with vaccine + booster = tio covid MC 3 days ... so ... every country all their people will tio covid those cannot than may kena knock-out? Edited November 21, 2021 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 21, 2021 Share November 21, 2021 54 minutes ago, Wt_know said: booster shot or no booster shot the writings are clearly on the WALL liao everyone will tio covid ... slowly but surely current vaccine has no "protection" from infection ... simi S, P, A, M vaccine ... all cannot protect you from infection those vaccinated even with booster shot will still tio covid now hopefully ... with vaccine + booster = tio covid MC 3 days ... so ... every country all their people will tio covid those cannot than may kena knock-out? after 1 year you still thinking vaccine is to shield you from infection? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2021 Share November 21, 2021 Just now, Jman888 said: after 1 year you still thinking vaccine is to shield you from infection? The only way to shield against infection is to block the mouth and nose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 21, 2021 Author Share November 21, 2021 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: Malaysia records severe Covid-19 cases among vaccinated, health minister urges people to take booster shotshttps://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysia-records-severe-covid-19-cases-among-vaccinated-health-minister-urges-people-to “The last epidemiology week (week 45) saw 165 Sinovac recipients admitted to Hospital Sungai Buloh as Category 4 and 5 patients. Both categories refer to seriously ill patients in intensive care units (ICUs). Patients under Category 4 require oxygen assistance while those under Category 5 need to be ventilated. In comparison, 24 were Pfizer recipients while seven had taken the AstraZeneca vaccine.” Saw a chart posted somewhere in this forum, that 75% of the vaxxed are Sinovac. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 21, 2021 Author Share November 21, 2021 1 hour ago, Wt_know said: booster shot or no booster shot the writings are clearly on the WALL liao everyone will tio covid ... slowly but surely current vaccine has no "protection" from infection ... simi S, P, A, M vaccine ... all cannot protect you from infection those vaccinated even with booster shot will still tio covid now hopefully ... with vaccine + booster = tio covid MC 3 days ... so ... every country all their people will tio covid those cannot than may kena knock-out? 15 minutes ago, Jman888 said: after 1 year you still thinking vaccine is to shield you from infection? This youtuber highlight WHO stand. Vaccine alone ott other measures alone is not the key. It's Vaccines AND other measures. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sy54I6fGFEA&t=1149s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 2, 2021 Share December 2, 2021 Those who had Sinovac, Sinopharm jabs must get third dose to keep fully vaccinated status: MOHhttps://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/those-who-had-sinovac-sinopharm-jabs-must-get-third-dose-to-keep-fully-vaccinated “SINGAPORE - Some 70,000 people who took two Sinovac or Sinopharm jabs have till Dec 31 to get their third dose in order to keep their fully vaccinated status from Jan 1, while the grace period for children turning 13 next year to get fully vaccinated has been extended by two months to March 1.” Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 7, 2021 Share December 7, 2021 askST: Will I lose fully vaccinated status if I don't get third Sinovac or Sinopharm dose by Dec 31?https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/askst-will-i-lose-fully-vaccinated-status-if-i-dont-get-third-sinovac-or-sinopharm “Q: What happens if I lose my fully vaccinated status? A: Your vaccination status will show "additional dose needed". This means that you will be subject to vaccination-differentiated safe management measures that restrict you from going to places like shopping malls and libraries.” Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 7, 2021 Share December 7, 2021 (edited) 37 minutes ago, happy_man said: We got to remember that many can't wait for Sinovac to be approved and were prepared to pay up to S$25 admin-fee per jab just to stay away from mRNA-based vaccines until 23 Oct this year. All these while, gov were pushing hard on Pfrizer-BioNT vaccination... By then nearly 4 months had passed after WHO approved the China-made vaccine on 1 June 2021. My question is - Why the delay ? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/sinovac-included-in-singapores-national-covid-19-vaccination-programme-3-doses Because govt want to encourage people to take the mRNA shots as much as possible. Vaccines don't 100% prevent infection, but measurements still back up the fact that immune response from mRNA shots is higher than sinovac shots. Even my PRC friends do not dispute this point about efficacy; however, for those that still choose sinovac, their choice is mainly motivated by worry of facing problems when trying to return home, or if you press them for an answer, most will just say that they fear unknown side effect of mRNA vaccine. Now personally for me, I also accept there is unknown side effect, don't talk about long term, it may show up sooner, as some have reported after taking the shots. That's why though I believe mRNA vaccine is more effective, but having been twice lucky, I don't want to try a 3rd time It's enough for now. Edited December 7, 2021 by Sosaria 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 7, 2021 Share December 7, 2021 (edited) 39 minutes ago, Sosaria said: Because govt want to encourage people to take the mRNA shots as much as possible. Vaccines don't 100% prevent infection, but measurements still back up the fact that immune response from mRNA shots is higher than sinovac shots. Even my PRC friends do not dispute this point about efficacy; however, for those that still choose sinovac, their choice is mainly motivated by worry of facing problems when trying to return home, or if you press them for an answer, most will just say that they fear unknown side effect of mRNA vaccine. Now personally for me, I also accept there is unknown side effect, don't talk about long term, it may show up sooner, as some have reported after taking the shots. That's why though I believe mRNA vaccine is more effective, but having been twice lucky, I don't want to try a 3rd time It's enough for now. But some people might tell you that they have taken 3 shots of mRNA still no problem or have any bad side effects?! Lol. Also due to omicron, many countries also asking people to get vaccine and go for booster to get protection. So difficult to say its enough liao?! Edited December 7, 2021 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 8, 2021 Share December 8, 2021 10 hours ago, 13177 said: But some people might tell you that they have taken 3 shots of mRNA still no problem or have any bad side effects?! Lol. Also due to omicron, many countries also asking people to get vaccine and go for booster to get protection. So difficult to say its enough liao?! For Sinovac, 1st and 2nd Jab has 4 weeks interval. 3rd jab will be 4 months after that. It is likely a booster 6 months after that. ======================================== For mRNA, 1st and 2nd jab has 2 weeks interval. Booster will be 6 months after that. ======================================== Same same?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear December 8, 2021 Share December 8, 2021 11 hours ago, 13177 said: But some people might tell you that they have taken 3 shots of mRNA still no problem or have any bad side effects?! Lol. Also due to omicron, many countries also asking people to get vaccine and go for booster to get protection. So difficult to say its enough liao?! That's correct. And some people tio covid also no problem right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged December 8, 2021 Share December 8, 2021 Simi si 国药? How can restaurant chain publicize this term with other vaccines in Sg? Quietly change the placard la. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...