Sinovac arrives in SG, selected clinics allowed to administer vaccine at a fee

Ender

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Vaccinated and asymptomatic means it's working well.

Very well.

Also means Covid-19 will transmit very well without people noticing it earlier. And after noticing it, already spread like wild fire. LOL

1 hour ago, Sosaria said:

This sinovac offer now is only for SG citizen, PR or long-term pass holders. PRC on work pass eligible?

Anyway sooner or later there will be a need to vaccinate the large army of foreign pass holders that keep our services and f&b running.

most of them already taken.

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

err.. arent they already being vaccinated like our construction FW? wouldnt make much sense to be half half ..

All those S-pass work in spa not yet up for vaccination [laugh] Makes sense to be prioritised because of ...errr.... "close contact" job nature.

11 hours ago, Sosaria said:

This sinovac offer now is only for SG citizen, PR or long-term pass holders. PRC on work pass eligible?

Anyway sooner or later there will be a need to vaccinate the large army of foreign pass holders that keep our services and f&b running.

lot of them vaccinated already with pfizer/moderna

Many of them want to go back home to visit. I think their take up rate is higher than the average singaporean...

12 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Those LL lor. People got spf100 sunblock to go out into desert sun, u allergic to spf100 but can take spf15. So u get spf15 lor. 

But people can take spf100, but prefer to take spf15 to go out into the desert. Then bo wei gong... 

Spf100 + Spf 15 = 神功护体? :grin:

15 hours ago, Ender said:

They it's TCM, more suitable for Chinese body.🤣🤣. 

I am banana, so take pfizer.

I  took Pfizer, now considering to take the TCM also.... 

Come come come,  all come,  then I can 自由飞翔... [:p][laugh][laugh]

6 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I  took Pfizer, now considering to take the TCM also.... 

Come come come,  all come,  then I can 自由飞翔... [:p][laugh][laugh]

must take the one from Russia also, then you will 通行无阻 whole world pa pa zao [thumbsup]

19 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Sinovac not good enough ?

It's the delta variant causing havoc..

Hundreds of Indonesian doctors contract COVID-19 despite vaccination, dozens hospitalised

JAKARTA: More than 350 Indonesian doctors have contracted COVID-19 despite being vaccinated with Sinovac and dozens have been hospitalised, officials said, as concerns rise about the efficacy of some vaccines against more virulent virus strains.

Most of the doctors were asymptomatic and self-isolating at home, said Badai Ismoyo, head of the Kudus district health office in Central Java, but dozens were in hospital with high fevers and declining oxygen saturation levels.

Kudus is battling an outbreak believed to be driven by the more transmissible Delta variant which has pushed bed occupancy rates above 90 per cent in the district.

Designated as a priority group, Indonesian healthcare workers were among the first to be vaccinated when the inoculation drive started in January.

Almost all have received the COVID-19 vaccine developed by Chinese biopharmaceutical company Sinovac, according to the Indonesian Medical Association.

While the number of Indonesian healthcare workers dying from COVID-19 has decreased significantly – dropping from 158 deaths this January to 13 this May, according to data initiative group LaporCOVID-19 – public health experts say the Java hospitalisations are cause for concern.

"The data shows they have the Delta variant so it is no surprise that the breakthrough infection is higher than before because as we know the majority of healthcare workers in Indonesia got Sinovac, and we still don't know yet how effective it is in the real world against the Delta variant," said Dicky Budiman, an epidemiologist from Australia's Griffith University.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/indonesia-covid-19-doctors-hospitalised-delta-variant-vaccinated-15033196

The Sinovac we have is the original version. Offers little protection against Indian variant. Manufacturer says new versions can. Vaccines have become like software 🙄

29 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

must take the one from Russia also, then you will 通行无阻 whole world pa pa zao [thumbsup]

Where where where?  Where can get the Russia one ah?  我要我要!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

56 minutes ago, Kklim said:

The Sinovac we have is the original version. Offers little protection against Indian variant. Manufacturer says new versions can. Vaccines have become like software 🙄

What about the other 2? Are there upgraded version to take into account the different variant or the original ones are powerful enough to combat different variant?

2 hours ago, Kklim said:

that's the beauty of mRNA, they can easily tweak and get out the updated version fast (in theory).

don't have to go through the whole chain of making traditional vaccine.

but then, detractors will say it's "rushed", not safe.

Private clinics in S'pore offering Sinovac Covid-19 vaccine: Some centres getting 'non-stop' inquiries

Some clinics have been receiving "non-stop" inquiries from people interested in taking Sinovac's Covid-19 vaccine following the Ministry of Health's (MOH) announcement late on Wednesday (June 16) that 24 private healthcare institutions were licensed to administer it.

MOH said that anyone interested in taking the vaccine could contact the 24 selected providers directly from Friday for more details.

But, as at Thursday afternoon, it appeared some of the providers were inundated by calls.

The Straits Times contacted all 24 providers but 20 either did not answer the phone or could not be reached.

The four that did respond said they had been dealing with calls about the Sinovac vaccine since morning.

A clinic assistant at iCare Medical and Wellness Clinic said she had received "too many calls to count", even though the first batch of the vaccine - 200 vials - is scheduled to reach the clinic only on Friday. 

"We've been taking calls from 8.30am till now, non-stop... hundreds of calls," said another clinic assistant at Little Cross Family Clinic when contacted by ST at around 1pm.

She added that the vaccine would probably be delivered to her clinic this weekend.

Icon Cancer Centre Farrer Park also faced a deluge of calls in the morning.

"We've received a lot of calls today - a few hundred, within even the first few hours of the morning," said chief executive Serena Wee. 

She added that her centre had been told their application was successful only on Wednesday night, so it is still working out certain administrative details.

"It's all very new to us right now, the process has been a little rushed," she said, but added that she believes her centre can make the necessary preparations by Thursday despite this.

The vaccine will be distributed on an appointment-only basis so as to control the number of people at the centre, said Ms Wee.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/some-clinics-receive-non-stop-enquiries-about-sinovacs-covid-19-vaccine

54 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

that's the beauty of mRNA, they can easily tweak and get out the updated version fast (in theory).

don't have to go through the whole chain of making traditional vaccine.

but then, detractors will say it's "rushed", not safe.

Sinovac said 10 days enough for them to come up with stronger one.

Went for my haircut just now, and as usual chit chat with the hairdressers,  and they asking if I vaccinated both jabs.  

The Malaysian young man looking forward so eagerly for his jab,  prefer ang moh vaccine.  

The PRC lady,  die die wanted sinovac. She was offered ang moh vaccines earlier but she turned it down,  been waiting for the PRC version.  The day it announced she called every clinic until she manage to registered a slot. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

• Haha! 7

13 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Went for my haircut just now, and as usual chit chat with the hairdressers,  and they asking if I vaccinated both jabs.  

The Malaysian young man looking forward so eagerly for his jab,  prefer ang moh vaccine.  

The PRC lady,  die die wanted sinovac. She was offered ang moh vaccines earlier but she turned it down,  been waiting for the PRC version.  The day it announced she called every clinic until she manage to registered a slot. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

prc dont take own motherland vaccine later vaccination passport not write vaccinated with motherland vaccine cannot even return home 😄😄

9 minutes ago, Mooose said:

prc dont take own motherland vaccine later vaccination passport not write vaccinated with motherland vaccine cannot even return home 😄😄

That's what I was thinking,  and my thoughts were say what you like,  you just have no choice.  But since she had my head in her hands  I just sing along with her...  [laugh][laugh][laugh]