Rskc 5th Gear January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 On 1/25/2024 at 3:43 PM, Theoldjaffa said: 2nd hand dealers are humji thats why. those direct owner giulias in sgcm, they sell quite fast. not a few days kind of fast, but not like 6 or 7 months on the shelf also. even for my 159.. back in 2014, i sold in less than a week, to a direct owner at a win-win price. higher than what dealer will eat and buyer buys lower than what dealer will sell. selling as direct owner is the way to go as prospective buyers can also get more confidence knowing about the car's history from a direct seller. dealers are shady.. most of us don't trust them. i won't buy an alfa from a 2nd hand dealer too. my friend sold his giulia direct, took only 2 weeks thereabouts. and giulias are more reliable than the alfas of yesteryears.. but then again go in with eyes wide shut like nicole kidman and tom cruise. Maybe I can reconsider an Alfa!! The better reliability is a bonus. Are the parts easy to find? There aren't many stockists left in SG. It is like bucket list thing for the longest time. Ha! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 (edited) On 1/25/2024 at 4:04 PM, Rskc said: Maybe I can reconsider an Alfa!! The better reliability is a bonus. Are the parts easy to find? There aren't many stockists left in SG. It is like bucket list thing for the longest time. Ha! Parts easy to find? hmm i dunno cos i never had the opportunity to find parts cos nothing spoilt yet. Also, its still under the 5 year warranty anyway (this is said in jest before any pedantic forummer aim me again) Euroautomobile who is the ex AD is now an independent workshop who can service Alfa. They will know where to get parts. Not to mention Alfa Sportivo, although i dunno if they know how to repair the newer Alfas. I also know a few EU websites to get parts from. I bought my pads and rotors online myself and had them installed by EA. that said, if the giulia u get is problematic, mai blame me ah. if u dun get any direct buyer when u wanna sell, mai blame me ah. if u see ur fuel bill escalate, mai blame me ah. if u see people staring at your car at the lights, don't ask them "kua simi LJ ah" when you really buy a giulia, please sign disclaimer form with me ah. Edited January 25, 2024 by Theoldjaffa cover backside 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 On 1/25/2024 at 1:57 PM, hansmith said: I answered your question directly. You can trade it in for X amount of money at the 5th year. There should be no problem with being able to trade it in for the reason already stated. Demand overseas or locally maybe low as you are worried about. I don't know about that but it has no bearing on your ability to recoup at least your paper value. Your paper value is fixed as this is the very unique Singapore system. Therefore, you can trade it in or scrap and you will still get X amount of money. Even if no one even wants your used EV, then you just scrap bearing in mind you might lose quite abit but still get back X. P.S: I will honestly be surprised if you have never had anyone bold or underline anything when they write. I think its pretty common to do it if the writer feels a point needs to be highlighted. Sorry, still did not answer my question but it is ok. Different frequency. For the special characters, usually people use them when they failed to convince with their messages and need to force them down on others. Maybe you see it otherwise. Yes, I am quite surprised myself that now you have mentioned it, I can't really remember when was the last time I had a bold reply from someone. Maybe life has been kind to me. ✌️😊 Again, maybe different frequency. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 On 1/25/2024 at 8:48 PM, Rskc said: Sorry, still did not answer my question but it is ok. Different frequency. For the special characters, usually people use them when they failed to convince with their messages and need to force them down on others. Maybe you see it otherwise. Yes, I am quite surprised myself that now you have mentioned it, I can't really remember when was the last time I had a bold reply from someone. Maybe life has been kind to me. ✌️😊 Again, maybe different frequency. It’s the EQ bro and at my workplace we also have one like that, bold, highlight , color etc… Walau eh… and I realized that he’s on the spectrum so, @Theoldjaffa u may be right on our “calculator “ here..😂.. he doesn’t care too and that is characteristic w such individuals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hansmith 2nd Gear January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 (edited) On 1/25/2024 at 8:48 PM, Rskc said: Sorry, still did not answer my question but it is ok. Different frequency. For the special characters, usually people use them when they failed to convince with their messages and need to force them down on others. Maybe you see it otherwise. Yes, I am quite surprised myself that now you have mentioned it, I can't really remember when was the last time I had a bold reply from someone. Maybe life has been kind to me. ✌️😊 Again, maybe different frequency. Bold and underlines are not special characters. But this digresses. Moving on as this is off topic. Tried to answer and help your questions. But, if its not the same frequency, as you said, will leave it there. Cheers. Edited January 25, 2024 by hansmith Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hansmith 2nd Gear January 25, 2024 Share January 25, 2024 (edited) On 1/25/2024 at 8:57 PM, RadX said: It’s the EQ bro and at my workplace we also have one like that, bold, highlight , color etc… Walau eh… and I realized that he’s on the spectrum so, @Theoldjaffa u may be right on our “calculator “ here..😂.. he doesn’t care too and that is characteristic w such individuals Don't know what you are getting at. But, not interested anyway. Off topic from ioniq 5. Leaving it at that. Edited January 25, 2024 by hansmith Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 Just checking did the Ioniq 5 buyers get a free V2L socket? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shuigao 2nd Gear January 28, 2024 Share January 28, 2024 @Fitmugen Yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear January 28, 2024 Share January 28, 2024 (edited) On 1/28/2024 at 9:31 AM, shuigao said: @Fitmugen Yes. Thanks I found it under the boot cover Edited January 28, 2024 by Fitmugen 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erwin123 1st Gear February 9, 2024 Share February 9, 2024 (edited) Hi, I am interested in getting the Ioniq 5 for my spouse. I test drove it and I found it very easy to adapt to driving it thanks to the selectable brake regen levels via the paddle shifters as I can select a regen level that is similar to my current car. It really is a good car with perhaps the slightest amount of vibration through the steering wheel when launching. When I googled long term usage reviews I see some US youtubers claiming reliability and repair issues - but presumably those were not assembled in Singapore. May I know whether current assembled in SG Ioniq 5 owners have faced any technical issues requiring repair etc? Grateful if you could share. Others I looked at: The new Volvo EX30 is an embarassment. Have to turn on and off the brake regen via a touchscreen (i.e. cannot select on the fly while driving), and no rear aircon vents for passengers. ix1 is pretty good, but the Ioniq 5 spec is pretty impressive vs the bare bones ix1 (no HUD, no paddle shifters) and the Cat A Ioniq is "faster" than the ix1 Edited February 9, 2024 by Erwin123 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear February 9, 2024 Share February 9, 2024 On 2/9/2024 at 12:02 PM, Erwin123 said: Hi, I am interested in getting the Ioniq 5 for my spouse. I test drove it and I found it very easy to adapt to driving it thanks to the selectable brake regen levels via the paddle shifters as I can select a regen level that is similar to my current car. It really is a good car with perhaps the slightest amount of vibration through the steering wheel when launching. When I googled long term usage reviews I see some US youtubers claiming reliability and repair issues - but presumably those were not assembled in Singapore. May I know whether current assembled in SG Ioniq 5 owners have faced any technical issues requiring repair etc? Grateful if you could share. Others I looked at: The new Volvo EX30 is an embarassment. Have to turn on and off the brake regen via a touchscreen (i.e. cannot select on the fly while driving), and no rear aircon vents for passengers. ix1 is pretty good, but the Ioniq 5 spec is pretty impressive vs the bare bones ix1 (no HUD, no paddle shifters) and the Cat A Ioniq is "faster" than the ix1 I only owned it for one month so of cos no issue. Yes, for $190k (Cat A prestige model), it is value for money in today’s market. Even a mid level SUV like a Toyota Corolla Cross is more than $200k? And don’t tell me about entry level Merc with 1.3l Renault engine. The only drawback if you ask me - no rear wiper. And ventilated seats must on every time u drive. But I guess they can solve this with software changes 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shuigao 2nd Gear February 13, 2024 Share February 13, 2024 On 2/9/2024 at 12:02 PM, Erwin123 said: When I googled long term usage reviews I see some US youtubers claiming reliability and repair issues - but presumably those were not assembled in Singapore. May I know whether current assembled in SG Ioniq 5 owners have faced any technical issues requiring repair etc? Grateful if you could share. Well ... the Made/Assembled in SG models are all less than a year old so not really enough time to comment about long term reliability. For me at least my ICCU KO'ed and couldn't do AC charging (DC was fine so it wasn't a big deal), had to leave my car with Komoco for a day to replace it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erwin123 1st Gear February 13, 2024 Share February 13, 2024 (edited) Thats for the inputs. I think I am set on the Ioniq 5 as it ticks a lot of boxes for me (size, driveability, features etc). Will see the COE price movements before deciding whether to go Cat A or B. (if Cat B continues to drop more than Cat A, I am tempted to go for Cat B, and vice versa). Edited February 13, 2024 by Erwin123 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hansmith 2nd Gear February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 (edited) Selling price to you: $189,900 cat A ioniq 5 prestige Basic cost to seller: $129,743 (cat A COE $79,000) Your residual value of the car on day 1 after taking delivery: $81,141 + X. But, you paid $189,900 leh. If it was me, i would not take this deal. But, this is just my personal opinion. Edited February 15, 2024 by hansmith Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear February 16, 2024 Share February 16, 2024 On 2/13/2024 at 1:53 PM, Erwin123 said: Thats for the inputs. I think I am set on the Ioniq 5 as it ticks a lot of boxes for me (size, driveability, features etc). Will see the COE price movements before deciding whether to go Cat A or B. (if Cat B continues to drop more than Cat A, I am tempted to go for Cat B, and vice versa). By the way, do push them for a good trade in price. My trade in deal was very good (above asking price in 2nd hand market). So I think they have budget to do overtrade 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erwin123 1st Gear February 16, 2024 Share February 16, 2024 (edited) @hansmith On 2/15/2024 at 1:12 PM, hansmith said: Selling price to you: $189,900 cat A ioniq 5 prestige Basic cost to seller: $129,743 (cat A COE $79,000) Your residual value of the car on day 1 after taking delivery: $81,141 + X. But, you paid $189,900 leh. If it was me, i would not take this deal. But, this is just my personal opinion. Thanks for your views. Car is indeed a rapidly depreciating asset. The no.2 car on my shortlist is the cat A iX1 -do you feel this is better value than the Ioniq 5? I note its 0-100km/h acceleration is a lot slower. Apart from these 2 cars, I don't have anything else that meets my requirements, except maybe the BYD Atto 3 though I find the interior extremely odd I am not used to the Tesla-style large tablet for controlling car functions, and no paddle shifters for selectable brake regen. Ok, looks like I have ruled the Atto 3 out .... Edited February 16, 2024 by Erwin123 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear February 16, 2024 Share February 16, 2024 It’s overly simplistic to look at car OMV when determining dealer margin. How do you know what is the real cost to the dealer? Maybe they pay $XX million per year to the principal manufacturer as a franchise fee? Some people always cite Tesla 3 has a PARF of about $12k after 10 years and hence depreciation is lower. $12k in 2034 is worth how much today? Maybe $8k? PARF rebate is like putting money in the bank with zero interest. Forget about dealer margin. Compare the upfront cost and the depreciation (factor in time value of money) and most importantly, whether you like the car. if you ask me, Atto at $154k, Ioniq 5 at $190k are the most value for money EVs. I won’t spend $230k on iX1. $220k for Model Y is a much more compelling proposition for a car with some badge appeal. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 16, 2024 Share February 16, 2024 On 2/16/2024 at 9:46 PM, Fitmugen said: It’s overly simplistic to look at car OMV when determining dealer margin. How do you know what is the real cost to the dealer? Maybe they pay $XX million per year to the principal manufacturer as a franchise fee? Some people always cite Tesla 3 has a PARF of about $12k after 10 years and hence depreciation is lower. $12k in 2034 is worth how much today? Maybe $8k? PARF rebate is like putting money in the bank with zero interest. Forget about dealer margin. Compare the upfront cost and the depreciation (factor in time value of money) and most importantly, whether you like the car. if you ask me, Atto at $154k, Ioniq 5 at $190k are the most value for money EVs. I won’t spend $230k on iX1. $220k for Model Y is a much more compelling proposition for a car with some badge appeal. Residual value and market value is 2 different things. Residual value only matters if you scrap your car because that’s the amount the gahmen will return to you. Else it’s usually the market value that matters and dealers will offer a trade in value based on discounting a certain percentage off the market value. When selling the car on your own, it’s also based on market value. If get into accident or total loss, if car is less than a year old, there’s usually 1:1 replacement, or payout at prevailing market value. so.. I’m not sure why someone is so fixated on dealer margin, or residual value. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...