2021 Hyundai Ioniq 5 EV

Classic900

On 1/23/2024 at 9:57 PM, Rskc said:

Me too! Testdrove during weekend...wow, the space and brisk acceleration. Now my wife and I keep stealing a 2nd glance at any Ioniq 5 we spot on the road. 😍 Fortunately there is a deal breaker - there isn't a decently fast enough charger at where I stay and usage of car is high. Phew. 

Haha u are poisoned liao. Once the fast charger happens that’s it

On 1/24/2024 at 6:36 AM, Fitmugen said:

Haha u are poisoned liao. Once the fast charger happens that’s it

Ya man. Actually the most ideal scenario is if all lots come with slow charger by 2030 and residents can park and charge over night without the need to remove vehicle. 

The thought of hunting for a fast charger now and reminding myself to remove car charging lot is just deterring when I can settle petrol within 5min even without getting off the car for my current ride. Lol.

Me too! Testdrove during weekend...wow, the space and brisk acceleration. Now my wife and I keep stealing a 2nd glance at any Ioniq 5 we spot on the road. 😍 Fortunately there is a deal breaker - there isn't a decently fast enough charger at where I stay and usage of car is high. Phew. 

most shell petrol kiosks i visit (ICE car) nowadays have fast EV charger ah. 

Dont know about other petrol kiosks.

On 1/24/2024 at 7:10 AM, Rskc said:

Ya man. Actually the most ideal scenario is if all lots come with slow charger by 2030 and residents can park and charge over night without the need to remove vehicle. 

The thought of hunting for a fast charger now and reminding myself to remove car charging lot is just deterring when I can settle petrol within 5min even without getting off the car for my current ride. Lol.

SPC, I think, giving a free drink while you wait.

Shell apparently catching on in tht as well.  

BEst idea is have a starbucks or coffee shop there while u charge and TP is one of them carparks that is betting on this

On 1/24/2024 at 7:24 AM, RadX said:

SPC, I think, giving a free drink while you wait.

Shell apparently catching on in tht as well.  

BEst idea is have a starbucks or coffee shop there while u charge and TP is one of them carparks that is betting on this

The fact I need to spend, say, 30min to charge (fast DC charge hor) vs 5min to pump a petrol is a waste of my life. I calculated (using my super sophisticated Samsung phone calculator 😆) that I would probably need to charge 2x a week to full charge based on usage. It means I will be wasting 30min × 2× 4 = 4hours vs 40min (pumping petrol) in a month. It is just insane leh. This has not include the extra trip time, say 15min (no jam and drive like a mad man in town), to drive to and from Shell havelock for each trip. This is another 2 hours. Total is additional 5 hours of my life each month gone which I could spend better like exercising, doing grocery trips or having an outing with family etc. 

Conclusion: I need an overnight charging lot. 😄 Else, I wait for miracle to happen and get Ioniq 5 as 2nd car. 😁✌️🤞

Edited by Rskc

On 1/24/2024 at 7:59 AM, Rskc said:

The fact I need to spend, say, 30min to charge (fast DC charge hor) vs 5min to pump a petrol is a waste of my life. I calculated (using my super sophisticated Samsung phone calculator 😆) that I would probably need to charge 2x a week to full charge based on usage. It means I will be wasting 30min × 2× 4 = 4hours vs 40min (pumping petrol) in a month. It is just insane leh. This has not include the extra trip time, say 15min (no jam and drive like a mad man in town), to drive to and from Shell havelock for each trip. This is another 2 hours. Total is additional 5 hours of my life each month gone which I could spend better like exercising, doing grocery trips or having an outing with family etc. 

Conclusion: I need an overnight charging lot. 😄 Else, I wait for miracle to happen and get Ioniq 5 as 2nd car. 😁✌️🤞

lol....thats why the charging lot at my workplace is a boon.....no impact to my life...

if calculate like u...cham liao...😅

On 1/24/2024 at 8:19 AM, hansmith said:

Your block no chargers at all?

Thought G is installing in all blocks.

Only the super slow bluesg and need to book. Anyway even with govt installed ones, I will still need to monitor and shift once done. Can't park overnight. We should have lots like bluesg cars that allows charge overnight. The adoption rate will surge over night. 

Ultimately we spend huge amount of $$ to buy a car for convenience and lifestyle. If it adds hassle, it defeats the purpose.

Edited by Rskc

Right now charging infrastructure still slow to catch up. This is also the reason why taxi companies have yet to do the entire fleet switch to EVs. Only those who stay at condo/private that have chargers will not see an issue. For those using the public or heartland chargers if I'm not wrong are starting to queue.

Those at petrol kiosk will see more commercial electric vans queueing to charge, especially at night before the drivers go home. EV vans will not want to charge to 80%. They will surely charge 100% so they can maximise the EV van the next day. They will occupy the charger for a couple of hours to have it fully charged. Petrol kiosk chargers dont need to pay for parking so will likely be the preferred choice.

Hdb carparks will be the next choice for charging. So it's depending on what and where you stay. Not just more individual car owners will do the switch, there will be more companies doing the switch too. When the taxi companies make the full switch, good luck finding a charger.

• Sad 1

On 1/24/2024 at 9:00 AM, Rskc said:

Only the super slow bluesg and need to book. Anyway even with govt installed ones, I will still need to monitor and shift once done. Can't park overnight. We should have lots like bluesg cars that allows charge overnight. The adoption rate will surge over night. 

Ultimately we spend huge amount of $$ to buy a car for convenience and lifestyle. If it adds hassle, it defeats the purpose.

Depends on battery size and charger output, you can time it to charge overnight.

On 1/24/2024 at 9:53 AM, Watwheels said:

Right now charging infrastructure still slow to catch up. This is also the reason why taxi companies have yet to do the entire fleet switch to EVs. Only those who stay at condo/private that have chargers will not see an issue. For those using the public or heartland chargers if I'm not wrong are starting to queue.

Those at petrol kiosk will see more commercial electric vans queueing to charge, especially at night before the drivers go home. EV vans will not want to charge to 80%. They will surely charge 100% so they can maximise the EV van the next day. They will occupy the charger for a couple of hours to have it fully charged. Petrol kiosk chargers dont need to pay for parking so will likely be the preferred choice.

Hdb carparks will be the next choice for charging. So it's depending on what and where you stay. Not just more individual car owners will do the switch, there will be more companies doing the switch too. When the taxi companies make the full switch, good luck finding a charger.

I am imagining the china scenes of people fighting over a charger happening in singapore with police called in. 😆 

On 1/24/2024 at 11:43 AM, Rskc said:

I am imagining the china scenes of people fighting over a charger happening in singapore with police called in. 😆 

I regularly have to charge office van at Shell station.  So far, i haven't really see what he said.

I will go to Shell station before lunch. Plug it and go to nearby coffeeshop for lunch.

By the time, i finish lunch.  Van also full full liao

On 1/24/2024 at 11:43 AM, Rskc said:

There is a big diff between China and Singapore.

China - maybe 5 EV to 1 charger, give real incentive to EV owner, 6G network

SG - Maybe 5 chargers to 1 EV, give real incentive to EV owner seller 😷,  6G 5G 4G network 😁

On 1/24/2024 at 2:28 PM, L23 said:

There is a big diff between China and Singapore.

China - maybe 5 EV to 1 charger, give real incentive to EV owner, 6G network

SG - Maybe 5 chargers to 1 EV, give real incentive to EV owner seller 😷,  6G 5G 4G network 😁

This is now. When the carpark is 50% ev cars, the scene may flip. 😁

I am a gentleman, I don't fight so I can't win. 🤪

i have always been a fan of how the Ioniq5 looks.

But interior is abit bland. the experience from the short test drive was acceptable, but not memorable.

it is not something that i can see myself buying, but i still enjoy seeing it on the road.

the Ioniq6 is nicer internally. love the rear legroom too. But the SE said no car was available for test drive and i think he knows its because i can't afford the dual motor version 😞

On 1/24/2024 at 7:59 AM, Rskc said:

A tip on owning an EV is to have it adapt to your routines, and not the other way round.

Just treat it as any electronic device, and charge it when its convenient and when you can.

For eg: workplace carpark charging, or when you're doing your grocery shopping, or when you're in a mall for a meeting etc. Try to kill 2 kornek with 1 ball.

This way, it won't be a waste of time in your life.

And with availability of chargers readily available in apps like SP.. you can plan accordingly. Just don't bump into a CB who cuts in from the opposite side and potong jalan the last charger in your face. 

On 1/24/2024 at 4:32 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

i have always been a fan of how the Ioniq5 looks.

But interior is abit bland. the experience from the short test drive was acceptable, but not memorable.

it is not something that i can see myself buying, but i still enjoy seeing it on the road.

the Ioniq6 is nicer internally. love the rear legroom too. But the SE said no car was available for test drive and i think he knows its because i can't afford the dual motor version 😞

The I6 is available to test drive for sure. 

I have been offered to do so.

Oh ! By the way, I wear slipper into the show room the other day if you are thinking I am super rich. 😁