inlinesix Hypersonic January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 2 minutes ago, teomingern said: That's about 35,000 km a year... I wonder what's the break even mileage... Depends on the ICE used. β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 2 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Depends on the ICE used. I suppose a 2.0 L NA would be a good comparison? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 7 hours ago, Freeder said: Recently rented this car for 5 days in Jeju. One word.. Smooth and shiok to drive unlike Tesla.. Spacious and comfy ride with nice expansive view for driver. Leg rooms areΒ very impressive and everything was great for me except the rimsπ. Will definitely consider this as my first foray into EV car.. I wish that there is darker-theme colour option for the dash panel. The white and light-colour surface is too glaring to the eyes in harsh sunlight conditions; and makes the display panels look comparatively dimmer. Other than the above,Β I like its knobs and stalks placement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 40 minutes ago, teomingern said: I suppose a 2.0 L NA would be a good comparison? Must be like for like in terms of hp.Β That affect road tax and consumption Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: Unless your mileage is like carbon82, there will not be much saving as compared ICE. That'sΒ road tax + electric cost. Yes,Β itβs quite rare that we can find drivers who goes above 20K per year.Β But again if one go above 20K and really wantΒ savings, Hybrid is the way to go for now. But of course Jap and Korean hybrids got no supercar straight line performance.Β I still think if we were to take away EVβsΒ straight line performance, many people will really struggle to find a reason to buy it, at least based on our pricing structure now. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 40 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Must be like for like in terms of hp.Β That affect road tax and consumption Β Hmm... that would unnecessarily skew the calculation in favour of the electric car, no? After all the Ioniq 5 is not considered a luxury car even though it may produce power in that category by virtue of it's propulsion mechanism? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 38 minutes ago, Rickster said: Yes,Β itβs quite rare that we can find drivers who goes above 20K per year.Β But again if one go above 20K and really wantΒ savings, Hybrid is the way to go for now. But of course Jap and Korean hybrids got no supercar straight line performance.Β I still think if we were to take away EVβsΒ straight line performance, many people will really struggle to find a reason to buy it, at least based on our pricing structure now. Definitely man... want to be car lite but also want to promote electric cars... a bit schizophrenic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 7 minutes ago, teomingern said: Hmm... that would unnecessarily skew the calculation in favour of the electric car, no? After all the Ioniq 5 is not considered a luxury car even though it may produce power in that category by virtue of it's propulsion mechanism? Ioniq 5 RWD vs Toyota Camry (non-hybrid) Both about the same HP 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic January 27, 2023 Share January 27, 2023 (edited) 6 hours ago, teomingern said: Aiyoh... Tesla can test drive one meh? Ha ha... I not so free and don't intend to buy one... so thought I'll ask you... Just go to Millenia Walk and ask for a test drive if u want to.. They are not those chao ah beng shop and they will ask you consider carefully before buying.. Pls request for the chiobu there as the feel and drive will be a lot of diff.. Edited January 27, 2023 by Freeder 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 23 hours ago, teomingern said: Hopefully the intend is High paying job for Singapore citizen to redeem the sins of our educational system that does not cater to this growth area 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 17 hours ago, teomingern said: I suppose a 2.0 L NA would be a good comparison? Sorry no turbo no talk. Just saying.....π€£ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 16 hours ago, teomingern said: Hmm... that would unnecessarily skew the calculation in favour of the electric car, no? After all the Ioniq 5 is not considered a luxury car even though it may produce power in that category by virtue of it's propulsion mechanism? Thatβs the new reality for cars. Like SSD vs HDD. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 1st Gear January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 Wondering how Hyundai is going to respond to Teslaβs price cut (20% on Model Y) across the board on their vehicles?Β https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-transportation/tesla-cuts-prices-electric-vehicles-us-market-2023-01-13/ Tesla has started the price war and thereβs going to be casualties on some car manufacturers. Good for consumers. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 On 1/27/2023 at 11:43 AM, Rickster said: Ya, the govt is trying to balance the cost of rolling out the charging infra together with EV adoption. In short, whatever they say, I think they just do not want to run at a large budget deficit. Whatever the money that gets put into the infra, they want a return thru taxes and and what not. That said, itβs only a matter of time and if the govt really wants to do it and put in the investment, Iβm sure within the next 5 years, 50% of cars sold will be EVs. I seriously doubt in 5years, half of all cars sold are EV. If 30% very very good already.Β 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 23 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: I seriously doubt in 5years, half of all cars sold are EV. If 30% very very good already.Β 2022: 12% 2021: 4% 2020: 0.2% 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 5 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: Hopefully the intend is High paying job for Singapore citizen to redeem the sins of our educational system that does not cater to this growth area Both government and citizens can't let go of the piece of paper leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 56 minutes ago, steveting99 said: Wondering how Hyundai is going to respond to Teslaβs price cut (20% on Model Y) across the board on their vehicles?Β https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-transportation/tesla-cuts-prices-electric-vehicles-us-market-2023-01-13/ Tesla has started the price war and thereβs going to be casualties on some car manufacturers. Good for consumers. Good for us... Tesla really like electronic goods right? Early adopters have to pay the early bird tax... then the value depreciates... which means that the early adopters may end up with negative equity should they sell their cars? And so Tesla angers their main supporter base... and other major manufacturers come in and undercut Tesla since they have better economies of scales for production... and so Tesla bites the dust... sounds familiar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2023 Share January 28, 2023 20 hours ago, inlinesix said: Ioniq 5 RWD vs Toyota Camry (non-hybrid) Both about the same HP This one a good comparison... Camry is 2.5 L NA right? I guess you gain only if you drive at least 50,000 km a year in an electric car... and if the electricity price doesn't surge as a result of more people demanding electricity to charge their cars... otherwise, any gain will vaporise in an instant when suppliers raise electricity price... β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...