High COE cars

sHy3r

2 cars same model same year same miles both selling $50k

One coe 54k and scrap value 46k.

One coe 26k and scrap value is 30k.

Which car would you buy?

Who says don't buy high coe cars? I would.

17 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

No victim here. 

Still good deal, I don't mind some air stewardess ask me rub rub their legs.

I sure can give them good them good rub rub all the way up their inner thighs

Foot reflexology tips so little.

Rub rub higher up then I get the big big tips.

I always rub aiming for the big tips.

Edited by Jamesc

I recog that when COE was low time in 2019, most ADs' margin was high. For example, in 2017, new Altis was $103K when COE was $51K. In 2019, Altis was selling at around $95K but COE was below $30K. So to dump a 2017 car for another new car in 2019, wu hua meh? I asked myself... 

The numbers are real hor...bcos i was thinking whether to change but the numbers doesn't convince me to do so.

Edited by Roh96

3 minutes ago, Roh96 said:

I recog that when COE was low time in 2019, most ADs' margin was high. For example, in 2017, new Altis was $103K when COE was $51K. In 2019, Altis was selling at around $95K but COE was below $30K. So to dump a 2017 car for another new car in 2019, wu hua meh? I asked myself... 

2 year old car not worth lah, most would have taken 5 years or more loan. So example if you buy a car at high COE during 2013/2014, you scrap the car at 5th year or 6th year (provided your loan tenure is around this number), then changing car would be wise at 2019. You'd probably be paying the same installment as before, don't even have to fork out extra for downpayment for the new car, but now with a brand new car!!! 

10 minutes ago, Roh96 said:

The numbers are real hor...bcos i was thinking whether to change but the numbers doesn't convince me to do so.

It's true.

When coe low dealers mark up very high.

When coe high margins are lower as we have to meet our sales targets.

So customers gain in both ways.

You enjoy either lower COE or lower mark ups.

Apple Google FB make billion's nobody complain.

We used car dealers make a bit of money people complain like siao.

Mee pok go up 50 cents people complain. Shake and shake until shack take my kids and my MIL over $100 for mushroom burger, fries, custard milk shakes. And have to q up and q so long some more.

And my kids tell me shake and shake cheaper than 5 gays. They were helping me save money.

Edited by Jamesc

14 minutes ago, Zxcvb said:

2 year old car not worth lah, most would have taken 5 years or more loan. So example if you buy a car at high COE during 2013/2014, you scrap the car at 5th year or 6th year (provided your loan tenure is around this number), then changing car would be wise at 2019. You'd probably be paying the same installment as before, don't even have to fork out extra for downpayment for the new car, but now with a brand new car!!! 

I know what i will get from the AD if i ask about trade in. A $20K drop in COE translate to less than $10K drop in selling price...so conclusion is forget it. Boh hua.

16 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

It's true.

When coe low dealers mark up very high.

When coe high margins are lower as we have to meet our sales targets.

So customers gain in both ways.

You enjoy either lower COE or lower mark ups.

But you know lah...people want both..low COE and low margin

5 minutes ago, Roh96 said:

But you know lah...people want both..low COE and low margin

Hehe they sell used cars lah.

I will buy from them.

Need to factor in ARF...

Buy house look at psf

Buy car look at depre 

Buy fish look at freshness 

Buy chicken look at tenderness 

Buy "ayam" look at prettiness 

Buy handbag look at your Highness 😁

Why only look at COE? Must look at TCO.

If anyone kidnap my kids I will not pay 1 cent to take them back.

When they realize how much they eat they will be paying me to take them back.

That's TCO.

27 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Apple Google FB make billion's nobody complain.

We used car dealers make a bit of money people complain like siao.

Mee pok go up 50 cents people complain. Shake and shake until shack take my kids and my MIL over $100 for mushroom burger, fries, custard milk shakes. And have to q up and q so long some more.

And my kids tell me shake and shake cheaper than 5 gays. They were helping me save money.

2 hours ago, Roh96 said:

worth it or not in terms of numbers, is always the total depreciation going forward.

6 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

worth it or not in terms of numbers, is always the total depreciation going forward.

Let's continue to compare the Altis case.

In 2017, COE $51K, Selling price $103K, Annual depre = $9.3K

In 2019, COE <$30K, Selling price $95K, Annual depre = $8.5K

Haven't count the losses if trade in to dealer using paper + body calculation. How much will dealer take in a 2 yr old car if new car is selling at $95k? Maybe $80K at most?

Worth to incur big loss just to buy another new car with 800 dollars lower in depre? 

When you buy a car with low coe you should drive to scrap. But it never works that way because when coe goes up you can sell your car for the same price you bought or even higher after driving for a few years.

So you sell and make money and buy a new car at the higher coe.

When coe drops again and you work out depreciation of a new car is same as your old car you think why not? Might as well pay the same and get a brand new car with another 10 year coe, full warranty and no need to worry about expensive repairs.

The correct way to calculate is loss offset by new car lower depreciation and another 2 years of coe and new car warranty and new car smell.

Even if it's same or slightly more. I would go for the new car.

Edited by Jamesc

4 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

When you buy a car with low coe you should drive to scrap. But it never works that way because when coe goes up you can sell your car for the same price you bought or even higher after driving for a few years.

So you sell and make money and buy a new car at the higher coe.

When coe drops again and you work out depreciation of a new car is same as your old car you think why not? Might as well pay the same and get a brand new car with another 10 year coe, full warranty and no need to worry about expensive repairs.

Is like endless chase...just keep burning $$.  

Also kids lah. When you young you buy a spot car and say will drive for 10 years until scrap.

But condom broke and you get married and have a kid then need to carry a pram so have to buy a bigger car. Haiz.