5 dead in Tanjong Pagar speeding accident

Karoon

2 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I think you, me, police wants the same thing during weekends. Want rest, want family time etc. 

Who wants to volunteer? Between 12am to 6am station on public roads, wait for si ginnah to speed past?

You want or not? 

aiyah then let more Si Ginnah Si... no loss to me...as long as they only kill themselves.  maybe SAF will lament the lack of reservist...

4 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I think you, me, police wants the same thing during weekends. Want rest, want family time etc. 

Who wants to volunteer? Between 12am to 6am station on public roads, wait for si ginnah to speed past?

You want or not? 

Last time one could volunteer to be TP and could speed legally. Still can? 

3 minutes ago, 1800Tii said:

..from the pics, it appears that the impact damage was minimal,... if car was travelling at 100-140kph, the impact would have  created a bigger crush zone, yes/no ?

Damage was more due to fire than Impact, Yes/No ?

Who was the person who video'd the gurl squatting ?

How big was the group, gathering around the car (before the crash, captured from cctv)?

We are only speculating here.

Hopefully, some readers here may know the persons involved and will voice out their perspectives of the event.

Damage has been done. 

More importantly, What lessons can we all learn from this ?

be a good parent to teach kids good values. if not, then double layer condoms...😁

2 hours ago, mikk123 said:

目击者在事发前,曾见到数名男女在店屋前聊天。

一名不愿透露姓名的阿叔(58岁)指出,他住在车祸现场附近,当时凌晨5时20分,他从附近巴刹走路回家途中,发现有数名男女在店前聊天,相信在等人载送。

“我回家后再出外时,发现已有多名警员在现场围着警戒线,不知道发生什么事,听到街坊是指一辆白色宝马轿车撞上店前,起火燃烧。”

附近工作人员陈先生(32岁)指出,当时他于凌晨5时,在丹戎巴葛坊(Tanjong Pagar Plaza)底楼的餐厅厨房炒着米粉时,已一直听见轿车排气管发出刺耳声,长达约半小时。

“我一度看见一辆白色马宝轿车在店前飞驰而过。”

过不久后,陈先生就听见猛烈撞击声,轿车撞入店屋引发熊熊烈火。受访的福康透露,由于他居住的地点较近,因此在事发前就听到有人聚集在该处,并隐约听到欢呼及掌声。

from all the Chinese witness account, it is obvious they are having a hell of racing at early morning. It has gone wrong...  

If police really want to investigate and take action they can.. as it's at tanjong pagar, sure have a lot of CCTV camera. So SPF could easily trace who is gathering over there for the car racing or time trial or what they called. So if these people get caught, it might send a stronger deterrence for people to think twice before doing anything stupid or for a moment of joy.

3 minutes ago, 1800Tii said:

..from the pics, it appears that the impact damage was minimal,... if car was travelling at 100-140kph, the impact would have  created a bigger crush zone, yes/no ?

Damage was more due to fire than Impact, Yes/No ?

Who was the person who video'd the gurl squatting ?

How big was the group, gathering around the car (before the crash, captured from cctv)?

We are only speculating here.

Hopefully, some readers here may know the persons involved and will voice out their perspectives of the event.

Damage has been done. 

More importantly, What lessons can we all learn from this ?

Need tougher laws (confiscate the cars of speeders beyond 30 km/h and reckless drivers and mandatory jail etc) and enforcement, enforcement, enforcement of current regulations.

6 minutes ago, Jusnel said:

Police is 24 hours shift!! U think SPF is shut down from 12am to 6am? 

U run a country, sure die.

Of Coz SPF run 24/7 that does not mean they are a lot of man power hor. If everywhere shortage of manpower how? It's easy to say deploy more people to make up for the shortage lor. But where do they get the people from if there are already shortage of manpower everywhere in the 1st place? 

2 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

Whoever wrote that seems to think that Tanjong Pagar Road had been converted into a racetrack for the night but anyway I digress.

BCA did come out with a statement that the building's structure was hardly damaged save a few scratches on a pillar:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/tanjong-pagar-conservation-shophouse-sustained-only-surface-scratches-in-fatal-car-crash

Despite whatever speed they were calculated to be doing, it appears that the car had slowed down as the impact was not severe otherwise the car would be much more mangled, and whatever it hit would have sustained far more collision damage, rather than merely fire damage.

It is pure speculation based on what we know at this point of time but looks like a small accident (mounting a kerb) led to a mechanical failure that consumed the car in fire quickly. 

The whole chassis seemed intact. Even the front bumper was intact. 

Probably the right-rear wheel axle broken upon hitting the kerb and punctured the fuel tank.... 

If fuel splashed onto super hot brake disc.... 

59 minutes ago, Mustank said:

SeeKali at night can hear car zooming and cheering but look out see no one :blink:

Don't scare others lah.

Somebody must be playing and blasting the car zooming sound and cheering from the home hifi.

My home hifi is very realistic, i always thought somebody is knocking on my door.

12 hours ago, Tohto said:

Too straight these people will said no kick,  how to test their car handling. 

Go south buona vista Road? :D

3 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Look, my past posts on this should be enough to convince you that I am on the side of liberalising mods, (responsible) speed etc. I am predicting, not advocating. Just like when I predicted Trump would win in 2016. Doesn't mean I liked it. But I called it. Most didn't. 

The problem about liberalisation of modifications is the lack of concern for safety or integrity in carrying out some of these mods either DIY or by workshops only concerned about selling the product and installing it quickly enough to clear the shop bay for the next car, or to go on smoke break. 

You probably seen those - electrical tape hastily wrapped around wire connections, plumbing tape used to make seals, insulation and panels missing. And the scary thing is that they mostly do this in the quest for more speed and more power. 

With the complexity of current cars, the hazards only increase. 

I am not against modifications either, but standards should be more stringent, similar to German TÜV. 

Just now, Macrosszero said:

The problem about liberalisation of modifications is the lack of concern for safety or integrity in carrying out some of these mods either DIY or by workshops only concerned about selling the product and installing it quickly enough to clear the shop bay for the next car, or to go on smoke break. 

You probably seen those - electrical tape hastily wrapped around wire connections, plumbing tape used to make seals, insulation and panels missing. And the scary thing is that they mostly do this in the quest for more speed and more power. 

With the complexity of current cars, the hazards only increase. 

I am not against modifications either, but standards should be more stringent, similar to German TÜV. 

I agree. Unfortunately, our regulatory authorises are rather lazy, and more likely to just ban mods outright rather than setting standards. I was actually impressed when they even approved certain aftermarket exhausts certified by various bodies (of course the process was still unduly onerous). 

14 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

The lesson is, if you want to race, do it alone. Don't bring other kah kia to die with you.

Actually, the best lesson is whatever is on the road is not racing. 

The best place to test limits is at Sepang, but damn this COVID-19 man. I would've gone at least twice more by now. 

1 hour ago, Vinceng said:

Here also poses a safety issue of the door failing to auto unlock, hence preventing the victims from opening the front doors to escape.

I think it's the same for all cars. The doors won't auto unlock unless you turn off the engine & remove the key or manually unlock the driver door before all.doors unlock.

Car manufacturers should programme all doors to auto unlock upon impact, or when ABS is activated.

Left side or passenger door blocked by the roller shutter, basically the car was trapped in the 5 foot way. 

The driver didn't managed to open his door too. Maybe unconscious or door also stuck? 

39 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

You want or not? 

Now that I recalled. Police used to set up road block at the junction in between maxwell market/church. I reckon to check on drink driving. 

5 minutes ago, Giordanogavin said:

Looks like nice lady. Too bad choose the wrong guy as bf. 

Usually gal prefer pai kia or bad boy type as bf. should choose guai guai type safer.

As they say 男人不坏,女人不爱!😅