1fast1 Supersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Shibadog said: typical of LTA - and the general netizen - to overreact to something they know next to nothing about. as u alluded to earlier, pure methanol has higher flash point and autoignition temperature than petrol and diesel. further, most users seeking performance will use a water/meth mix of 50-50 as pure meth is highly corrosive to the engine and components - just think E85. The few I know of that used pure meth didn't do that for long due to the associated wear & tear. A 50/50 mix will have a higher flash point and autoignition temps than pure meth. A good number of users use pure water in the water/meth kit, solely for the cooling properties in a forced induction engine. Also it'll be a PITA to have to look for and top up methanol on a long road trip and one certainly doesn't want to risk running out of meth on an engine tuned for it. Many uninformed netizens are assuming that the fire was due to the meth kit (which typically comes with a 2-4L tank) but they conveniently forget that there's a 60L (or more) petrol tank under the rear seats which can also crack and leak in the event of a huge crash at the rear esp if the car oversteers into a pillar. Is this mob going to insist LTA require race-spec self-sealing fuel bladders in all cars? Especially in view that petrol and diesel are even more of a fire risk than meth whether in pure or mixed form. On that train of thought, should LTA also ban rear passengers in coupes? Reason being rear passengers will be unable to self-evacuate if the driver and front passenger are incapacitated in the event of a collision. In my non-expert opinion, this incident was mainly caused by the driver's loss of control at high speed on a street that's not designed for high speed traffic. I can only hope the regulators do not lose focus. btw FMIC rarely needs the intercooler spray. It's more typically used on TMIC. Typo I guess? If LTA bans intercooler sprays, I hope they also ban windscreen sprays LOL It is true that meth has higher flashpoint and autoignition temp than gasoline. And 50/50 water-meth would be even less susceptible to combustion. All well and good. But the weak point here is likely to be viewed as much more probably the structural integrity of the "ghetto" jerry rigged tank of meth or meth/water in the boot than the petrol tank itself. Because the latter came with the blessing of the massive car industry, billions of dollars of R&D and generally, excellent crash test ratings. The former had none of these. The attitude our LTA and indeed our "uninformed" (and baying for blood right now) netizenry often seem to adopt is KISS - Keep It Stock, Stupid! Stock is best etc etc. So even if it turns out the fuel tank ruptured and the meth tank did not, you just know what they're going to mandate. The fuel tank is essential and ubiquitous. The meth tank is purely an add-on to satisfy driver conceit in a road-going car (they don't really care if you're a "legal" weekend track hound). The fact that racing fuel tanks are up-specced to withstand even higher impacts is beside the point as the use case for racing cars is supposed to be different from road cars. Bottom line is, the add on is going to be blamed before the established and crucial component of the automobile. Look, my past posts on this should be enough to convince you that I am on the side of liberalising mods, (responsible) speed etc. I am predicting, not advocating. Just like when I predicted Trump would win in 2016. Doesn't mean I liked it. But I called it. Most didn't. Anyway, both TMICs and FMICs can have cooling sprays installed. For some models like the GD STIs, I believe they came stock with these. Not sure if they did much beyond the already mis-shapen hood scoop lol. If you're installing an IC (rather than upgrading one that came from the factory), I think one tends to go with an FMIC to begin with. For an FMIC, there are people who install sprays to cool. I had one myself (pure water). It sounds like there isn't much of a use, because when you're going fast, there's already plenty of fluid (air) flow washing over the fins at high speed for convective heat transfer. So you definitely don't need it for sustained fast driving. However, there is a use case. When you do drag racing and you're waiting (usually behind a line of cars) for your turn, you'll get lots of heat soak because you're not moving. And the spray helps give you a leg up when you actually line up since it dissipates the heat soak your FMIC has been subjected to during waiting. I used to do the Sat night sprints at PG in the old days. Interestingly for a properly designed factory TMIC, people say the spray (that comes from the factory) also doesn't do squat unless it's in the same use case as the above (heat soak during waiting for a drag). The only car I'm familiar with that came with a factory TMIC spray is the GDB STI. Kind of ironic considering the WRX / STI are marketed based on rally heritage and they're pretty poor drag cars stock because their clutches can't take massive abuse and the only advantage is AWD (but the weight caused by the drivetrain mitigates even that advantage). But an upgraded or totally aftermarket TMIC without an adequate hood scoop would benefit more from a spray. And for such a spray, a volatile plus water mix would work better than pure water in enhancing evaporative cooling while stationary or in slow condition (stuck in a jam or queue while waiting to chiong). Edited February 15, 2021 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 6 hours ago, dragonsaviour88 said: I really doubt its a racing game as there are 5 ppl onboard BMw M4 white......but surely driving more then 140km/hr and from the tires marking onroads from news paper he the moron playing difting and looks like already more then 1 round as they hear engine roar at 0540plus and who the hell so lucky the video captutre one time can get such fast spd car and shops already closed....for passby neighbor whoever capture this video ....unless its his friend who informed the timing to let video be captutred Mebbe car no spoiler at the back so jio many many friends to sit at the back for downforce lor.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 4 hours ago, Kb27 said: somebody post this, not me. just interesting reading. -Car never crash at all, just skid nia. But unsure if lost control or he wanted to do a spin u-turn to show off and drive back to their friends. They were on their last lap of 3 laps time trial to test the car. They were going on the same speed or faster in the first 2 laps so was pretty confident with the track conditions. The rest you already mentioned in all your posts liao. Just 2 cents. https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/[consolidated]-breaking-news-five-die-after-car-slams-into-tanjong-pagar-shophouse-part-2-a-6465970-118.html#post132543758 Whoever wrote that seems to think that Tanjong Pagar Road had been converted into a racetrack for the night but anyway I digress. BCA did come out with a statement that the building's structure was hardly damaged save a few scratches on a pillar: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/tanjong-pagar-conservation-shophouse-sustained-only-surface-scratches-in-fatal-car-crash Despite whatever speed they were calculated to be doing, it appears that the car had slowed down as the impact was not severe otherwise the car would be much more mangled, and whatever it hit would have sustained far more collision damage, rather than merely fire damage. It is pure speculation based on what we know at this point of time but looks like a small accident (mounting a kerb) led to a mechanical failure that consumed the car in fire quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 11 hours ago, Yewheng said: Probably no more next year.. Coz TP is looking to install humps and or speed strips over there after this accident. So by next year the hump is up..how to speed? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/spore-traffic-police-exploring-enforcement-and-road-calming-measures-at-tanjong-pagar Just fxxking kantong license and confiscate cars... it's really not hard. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 9 hours ago, Jusnel said: Residents staying there had been saying that on weekends, there are lots of car racing with loud sounds in that area. I rem TP and police used to station themselves on weekend nights there. What happened now? Now the finger pointing begins, looking at the way you type this post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 16 hours ago, Lala81 said: So the Baux score for the lady is, 80 + high 20s = <110 Given it's SGH burns center, she should survive. But it will be many months for recovery. And she's malaysian. She's going to end up with a massive hospital bill, even no matter how much they waive off some of the charge for humanitarian reasons. Oh, good point she's Malaysian. Is she a PR? I think we do provide massive subsidy for PRs right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 14 hours ago, RadX said: Nothing yet grapevine has not updated I guess no news is good news for now, thanks bro 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 10 hours ago, Tianmo said: OK then 2.30am , take PIE (changi ) from jurong, exit the bend at Clementi Ave 6, turn right into clementi loop, one round come out, turn left back to PIE (Jurong), exit Jurong East, make a sharp u turn onto PIE (changi). This race track got 弯来弯去 many many... Like that might as well go to south buona vista road? Should be more thrilling? 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 (edited) 16 hours ago, Lala81 said: Given it's SGH burns center, she should survive. But it will be many months for recovery. And she's malaysian. She's going to end up with a massive hospital bill, even no matter how much they waive off some of the charge for humanitarian reasons. Do car insurers pay out for people trying to rescue people from their insured burning car? I don't think so. Can crowdfund - I will donate my share to help her with her medical cost. I would love to have my wife or girlfriend doing what she did (risking her own life saving a helpless self in an accident) despite my own stupid act. I have lots of admiration for such brave people. Of course on hindsight if I know she will be severely injured because of me, then I will shout for her to stay away.. but who knows at the time of the explosion and fire... Edited February 15, 2021 by Weez911 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 13 hours ago, Throttle2 said: I didnt read deep into their background well educated? Thought they were basically just insurance agents A lot of young insurance agents are quite YOLO, not surprising when wealth comes so easily plus there's no need to support family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 13 hours ago, Kopites said: hahaha ok ok. I am just generalising. one need to be of certain academic qualification to be an agent, don't they? To summarize; quite easy to become one. Just recently the son of my wife's boss wanted to become a insurance agent after failing as a property agent. When she asked why not find a proper brick and mortar job, her job said her kid wanted something that earns big bucks without sucking too much of his time. YOLO mentality, want to enjoy life but don't want to put in hard work, think study hard and graduate from university is a big thing already lol. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 16 hours ago, Lala81 said: So the Baux score for the lady is, 80 + high 20s = <110 Given it's SGH burns center, she should survive. But it will be many months for recovery. And she's malaysian. She's going to end up with a massive hospital bill, even no matter how much they waive off some of the charge for humanitarian reasons. Do car insurers pay out for people trying to rescue people from their insured burning car? I don't think so. Still got crowd funding, like giveasia.com. Singaporean suckers for sob story, most likely will exceed target, given the high profile of the news and she is a chio bu trying to save her bf. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 33 minutes ago, 13177 said: Like that might as well go to south buona vista road? Should be more thrilling? 😅 Now too many cyclists, even crazy joggers wearing black attire. And cars that can't stay on their side of the double whites. Not worth risking it. Old Upper Thomson at night better. Much more challenging, highly dangerous also, got additional animal hazards (macaques, dogs) that can make your heart pump. The only humans you have to worry about hitting are pak tor champions in parked cars, but they'll die cock standing which means they'll die happy. And if you don't make it, tia gong got hantu society there to welcome you so you'll never feel lonely. Disclaimer: if you can't recognise or appreciate sarcasm, don't bother replying. Thank you. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 12 hours ago, Yewheng said: Probably no more next year.. Coz TP is looking to install humps and or speed strips over there after this accident. So by next year the hump is up..how to speed? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/spore-traffic-police-exploring-enforcement-and-road-calming-measures-at-tanjong-pagar Don’t have to spend more money for humps.. already go eco friendly with out mending the road with portholes will create a lot of cars having to slow down with alot of variables every other day. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmadman 6th Gear February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 The winding rd to upper pierce along upp thomson rd.... nowadays closed from 7.30pm - 6am. Hv barrier to block road. Was there at upper pierce last evening. By 7.30pm nvr leave wen hear siren... collect vehicle after 6am next day. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 RIP....to 5 Fast & Furious guys 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JanM 2nd Gear February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 I think Medishield insurance is compulsory for PRs 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 15, 2021 Share February 15, 2021 On 2/13/2021 at 8:11 PM, D3badge said: Fake news? Opportunity to flame someone? As straits times reported driver is 29 years old Jonathan Long from Aviva Financial Services. I simply don't understand people can be so heartless!😥 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...