OFFICIAL: Tesla Singapore Discussion

dudez7

On 5/19/2024 at 5:41 PM, Lala81 said:

actually with EV instant torque. honestly, i doubt got much difference for most drivers even if the total output is not high. 

Most people just want quick change of speed when changing lanes etc or moving out from side lane onto an arterial road.  

Agree too. 6.1s vs 8.6s does not make a big diff at least for me cos will still see each other at the next traffic light in SG. 😆 Exterior and interior all the same, not like some models have special stitches etc. I won't pay the 10k cos I don't drive to malaysia, no chance to test top speed either. 😄

On 5/19/2024 at 8:31 PM, Rskc said:

Agree too. 6.1s vs 8.6s does not make a big diff at least for me cos will still see each other at the next traffic light in SG. 😆 Exterior and interior all the same, not like some models have special stitches etc. I won't pay the 10k cos I don't drive to malaysia, no chance to test top speed either. 😄

I drive Diesel Pickup in Msia.  Diesel pickup is similar to Cat A Model 3.

Very good pickup from standstill but lack power to overtake car from say 110km/h.

Model 3 will be in the same situation.  It will lack the power to overtake when you are driving at 110km/h.

Top Speed for Cat A & B Model 3 is the same.

Edited by inlinesix

On 5/20/2024 at 9:53 AM, inlinesix said:

Model 3 will be in the same situation.  It will lack the power to overtake when you are driving at 110km/h.

that's the problem of first lane hogging in msia highway ... 

take ages to overtake BUS that is already cheonging at 120+ .... 

I drove Diesel Pickup in Msia.  Diesel pickup is similar to Cat A Model 3.

Very good pickup from standstill but lack power to overtake car from say 110km/h.

Model 3 will be in the same situation.  It might lack the power to overtake when you are driving at 110km/h.

What you're referring to is the mid-range power and pick-up. The downtuned EVs for Singapore such as the BMW iX1 will exhibit this weakness especially on the North South Highway. Even sometimes on our expressways when you need a quick burst of acceleration to filter, this becomes a drawback. Although being an EV the feel isn't as obvious as the lack of power in an ICE, its just that you will feel that the electric motor still has a lot to give but somehow its strangulated. I think all these down-tuning restricts the max rpm which the electric motor can originally spin via software, thus limiting its power curve. 

I drove Diesel Pickup in Msia.  Diesel pickup is similar to Cat A Model 3.

Model 3 will be in the same situation.  It might lack the power to overtake when you are driving at 110km/h.

Yup makes sense in MY. If in SG, no diff. Instant torque for most EVs at low speed. 10k is not a lot but it is stupid to throw money into "drain" when everthing else is equal. 😊

On 5/20/2024 at 9:59 AM, Lethalstrike said:

What you're referring to is the mid-range power and pick-up. The downtuned EVs for Singapore such as the BMW iX1 will exhibit this weakness especially on the North South Highway. Even sometimes on our expressways when you need a quick burst of acceleration to filter, this becomes a drawback. Although being an EV the feel isn't as obvious as the lack of power in an ICE, its just that you will feel that the electric motor still has a lot to give but somehow its strangulated. I think all these down-tuning restricts the max rpm which the electric motor can originally spin via software, thus limiting its power curve. 

it's all because of the f up 130bhp limit

with ERP 2.0 ... i hope govt remove the PAY MORE FOR LESS POWER ! [mad] 

On 5/20/2024 at 9:56 AM, Wt_know said:

that's the problem of first lane hogging in msia highway ... 

take ages to overtake BUS that is already cheonging at 120+ .... 

That usually happens btw Malacca and JB.

While driving pickup, i don't have hp to overtake even MYVI at 120km/h.

On the other hand, due to huge torque, it has no problem maintain speed in steep incline (like Karak HIghway from Bukit Tinggi to Genting Exit)

On 5/20/2024 at 10:06 AM, Wt_know said:

Yes, restricting to less than 110kW (147hp) but the weight of the EVs stay the same. And many are EVs are pretty heavy. 

So yes, KNN PAP. Only here in which a manufacturer has to down-tune to get more sales. 

On 5/20/2024 at 9:59 AM, Lethalstrike said:

even on local roads... was surprised that the iX1 was so slow. 10.5s. Was next to one and i thought i would have been dusted by it. alas... 😁

On 5/20/2024 at 10:06 AM, Wt_know said:

remove which part? roadtax or CATA 130hp.

On 5/20/2024 at 10:34 AM, Mkl22 said:

remove which part? roadtax or CATA 130hp.

both .... LOL 

but we all know ... car owner must pay tax on top of another tax on top of another tax ... TAX on TAX ... huat ah!

vin-diesel-reacts-to-singapore-prius-pri

On 5/20/2024 at 10:33 AM, Mkl22 said:

even on local roads... was surprised that the iX1 was so slow. 10.5s. Was next to one and i thought i would have been dusted by it. alas... 😁

No choice. You have 147hp lugging around 1,800kg of weight. Hopefully the BMW badge is worth it 😄

• Haha! 8

On 5/20/2024 at 10:33 AM, Mkl22 said:

U think ppl want play w u ah? Chey😂

On 5/20/2024 at 11:29 AM, RadX said:

U think ppl want play w u ah? Chey😂

I know you prefer to play with the pussy lor, yah the ora good cat that one. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 5/20/2024 at 10:13 AM, Lethalstrike said:

Yes, restricting to less than 110kW (147hp) but the weight of the EVs stay the same. And many are EVs are pretty heavy. 

So yes, KNN PAP. Only here in which a manufacturer has to down-tune to get more sales. 

For once, I say, cannot everything blame PAP leh... 

I, for one will refuse to buy a detuned car model just because it is cheaper due to tax reason. I rather take public transport if I cannot afford the model that the car model is designed for. 

Although I will still kpkb the EV road tax structure... 😁

Edited by Vratenza