OFFICIAL: Tesla Singapore Discussion

dudez7

On 1/18/2024 at 7:13 PM, Jamesc said:

Why they never thought of burning a pile of wood to heat up the charger? Can have burnt marshmallows at the same time. 

On 1/21/2024 at 10:10 PM, Heartlander said:

This video is for those keen to know why Hertz has dropped its agreement with Tesla to buy 100,000 of its car. Very informative. One key takeaway is that Elon Mask has single handedly destroyed its secondhand car market by slashing its car prices whenever its sales become stagnant or when it needs to stimulate the market. Imagine you buy Tesla model 3 for example, and for next 2 years its prices drop 10% every year. Think that is the last straw that broke the camel's back that led Hertz to the drastic move.

Tesla is the best car to buy in Singapore.

If trade in value lower than paper, scrap it.

On 1/21/2024 at 12:02 PM, hansmith said:

Except most EVs hardly have any PARF (WHICH YOU MOST LIKELY PAID FOR EEAI and VES EVEN WHEN YOU DID NOT NEED TO PAY FOR IT). So, you are fuc*ed when you want to trade the EV in. Most EV car buyers driving around in their BYD, Merc, BMW EVs still dont realise this point or minority rich ones did not care. But, i suspect most unaware. 

Above comment does not include direct Tesla cars because you did not need to pay for EEAI and VES and Tesla did not make you!

As long as there are buyers for the new car, there will be buyers for the same model used car. You think all 2nd car dealers only quote paper + body meh. like that who will sell their cars to them.
In any case, Tesla ARF how much only? $20k? Divide by 2, 10k only like it’s a big deal 😃

On 1/22/2024 at 6:43 AM, Fitmugen said:

As long as there are buyers for the new car, there will be buyers for the same model used car. You think all 2nd car dealers only quote paper + body meh. like that who will sell their cars to them.
In any case, Tesla ARF how much only? $20k? Divide by 2, 10k only like it’s a big deal 😃

I try another way to write so people understand because you don't seem to get what the issue is because you said the part in bold which means you dont understand how the maths works.

Tesla

Tesla lets the buyer have the EEAI and VES rebate of $40,000. So, the Tesla's PARF is low/reduced. But, that is ok because the buyer did not pay for the ARF that was discounted by EEAI and VES. Buyer already got the EEAI and VES upfront. Fair!

non-Tesla EVs

The distributer does not let the buyer have the EEAI and VES rebate. They make the buyer pay full ARF taxes even though there is EEAI and VES discounts directly on the ARF taxes. So! The vehicle's PARF is low because of EEAI and VES discounts but the buyer still paid full ARF. You are double screwed. Not a good deal!

Hopefully this is more understandable to readers.

OF COURSE! There are buyers who do not care! But, you really should when you are buying a car. That's my view.

Edited by hansmith

On 1/22/2024 at 11:35 AM, hansmith said:

I try another way to write so people understand because you don't seem to get what the issue is because you said the part in bold which means you dont understand how the maths works.

Tesla

Tesla lets the buyer have the EEAI and VES rebate of $40,000. So, the Tesla's PARF is low/reduced. But, that is ok because the buyer did not pay for the ARF that was discounted by EEAI and VES. Buyer already got the EEAI and VES upfront. Fair!

non-Tesla EVs

The distributer does not let the buyer have the EEAI and VES rebate. They make the buyer pay full ARF taxes even though there is EEAI and VES discounts directly on the ARF taxes. So! The vehicle's PARF is low because of EEAI and VES discounts but the buyer still paid full ARF. You are double screwed. Not a good deal!

OF COURSE! There are buyers who do not care! But, you really should when you are buying a car. That's my view.

If what you've said about non-Tesla EVs is true, can I say Citroen is misleading and taking everyone for a ride by specifically putting down list price as "after VES and EEAI"? As it was mentioned that the distributor does not let the buyer have the EEAI & VES rebate. 

The only thing about Tesla is I probably don't lose as much for annual depreciation because of its comparatively higher OMV vs its direct competitor, assuming both have a similar purchase price. 

image.png

On 1/22/2024 at 11:35 AM, hansmith said:

Tesla

non-Tesla EVs

Wah your statements are very misleading. Don’t have to do this to support Tesla right?

What is factual is Tesla pricing does not include a mark-up after the EEAI and VES rebates, while the other ADs have a mark-up, which varies from brand/model. This mark-up has no correlation to what the ARF would have been without the EEAI and VES rebates.

What is factual is Tesla Model 3 ARF is $22k, which translates to only $11k in additional paper value at Year 10. Factor in the time value of money. This $11k is worth much less today.

What is factual is Tesla has been reducing prices for their cars, screwing the previous buyers whose resale value of their cars have dropped.

On 1/22/2024 at 12:18 PM, hansmith said:

@Lethalstrike why dont you just press a calculator and prove it to yourself?

I don't have to as I was considering a Tesla sometime back myself as well. But eventually, I went for something else with a higher depreciation. When you say non Tesla distributors did not give customers the EEAI & VES, it's not the truth also lah. 

On 1/22/2024 at 12:40 PM, Lethalstrike said:

When you say non Tesla distributors did not give customers the EEAI & VES, it's not the truth also lah. 

It is true because it is easily checked with a few button presses on my calculator.

Why are people arguing with me on this?

It is simple maths. There is nothing to argue.

I am not supporting Tesla. I am only saying it because i have checked it THOROUGHLY that Tesla is the only one that is doing full EEAI and VES rebate TO THE CUSTOMER. 

If anybody want to argue with me, show me your calculations. Dont waste time.

Edited by hansmith

On 1/22/2024 at 12:50 PM, hansmith said:

It is true because it is easily checked with a few button presses on my calculator.

Why are people arguing with me on this?

It is simple maths. There is nothing to argue.

I am not supporting Tesla. I am only saying it because i have checked it THOROUGHLY that Tesla is the only one that is doing full EEAI and VES rebate TO THE CUSTOMER. 

If anybody want to argue with me, show me your calculations. Dont waste time.

I did not say you are a die hard Tesla supporter. But I get your point a Tesla depreciates less, this is true due to their higher OMVs. A lower OMV and thus PARF, doesn't mean other brands are not passing on the EEAI/VES to the consumers. 

BMW electric iX3 has a lower asking price than the petrol X3. iX3 has a higher OMV at $57k vs petrol X3 at $47k. How to conclude that the VES/EEAI are not passed on to customers? 

On 1/22/2024 at 1:12 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I did not say you are a die hard Tesla supporter. But I get your point a Tesla depreciates less

Where on earth did i say anything about depreciation.

I am talking about whether buyers are getting their EEAI and VES rebates from the distributors.

It does affect depreciation but that is not the main point. I never even used the world depreciation at all.

Edited by hansmith

On 1/22/2024 at 1:12 PM, Lethalstrike said:

How to conclude that the VES/EEAI are not passed on to customers? 

Sorry, is it that you dont know how to calculate this stuff is it?

Cuz, if you just press the calculator it is clear cut.

So, you have been arguing with me but you acutally dont know to calculate motor vehicle costs is it?

Is that what has been going on?

Edited by hansmith

On 1/22/2024 at 1:20 PM, hansmith said:

Sorry, is it that you dont know how to calculate this stuff is it?

Cuz, if you just press the calculator it is clear cut.

So, you have been arguing with me but you acutally dont know to calculate motor vehicle costs is it?

Is that what has been going on?

Then you answer me why BMW is selling the iX3, which has a higher OMV cheaper than the X3 lor. If this is not after factoring in EEAI and VES rebates, I don't know what is. Stop challenging people to press calculator lah. 

On 1/22/2024 at 1:29 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Then you answer me why BMW is selling the iX3, which has a higher OMV cheaper than the X3 lor. If this is not after factoring in EEAI and VES rebates, I don't know what is. Stop challenging people to press calculator lah. 

He does sound like a certain condescending being that walked the forums a while ago OR a certain TeslaNazi renowned to the community OR just a salesman bah😂😂.  @Jamesc kind

abyway this is becoming a pricing thread? Maybe bring to tesla side la