Jman888 Moderator February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 26 minutes ago, Tianmo said: IIRC, within distinction, there is another level of Gold and diamond award, with diamond as the highest level. That is as far back as i can remember when my daughter was involved, things might have change. 古筝? 恭喜你!!!!.....lots of afternoons going to get burn liao. I know because in primary school, my younger daughter was in Chinese Orchestra, and was involved in SYF, she played 扬琴. Then in Sec sch her sch has no CO, only 古筝, so she ended up switching and got involved in another SYF. So yah, next time our girls can play for us some 古筝 music, while we have a cup of tea.... my girl also took guzhen in sec sch and involved in SYF, almost bought one bulky elephant to keep at home ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 4 minutes ago, Beregond said: yes i am not good at height. the most terrifing 1 i hate at the commando camp there is the high tower. alot of round thick wooden beam that stack up very high, u need climb over it and cross the top 1. i wayang siam that 1 . see already my face also green I was doing that high rope ladder with a metal/wooden frame. So once u reach the top, u are supposed to cross over the other side. When i was trying to cross over (already being terrified), Instructors ordered some HALT where everyone is supposed to freeze (cos i think someone fell down while on the way down and they need to help that guy off the bottom of the rope ladder. KNN i was straddling across one leg on each side of the top horizontal beam and hanging on for dear life while they took a few minutes. I still remember to this day 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 (edited) Just now, Jman888 said: my girl also took guzhen in sec sch and involved in SYF, almost bought one bulky elephant to keep at home I'm looking at pre-owned ones. Edited February 5, 2021 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 7 minutes ago, Beregond said: yes i am not good at height. the most terrifing 1 i hate at the commando camp there is the high tower. alot of round thick wooden beam that stack up very high, u need climb over it and cross the top 1. i wayang siam that 1 . see already my face also green turn green and you can do this....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 Just now, Lala81 said: I was doing that high rope ladder with a metal/wooden frame. yes yes this is the 1. i totally wayang and siam this, i hide inside the under ground tunnel like a maze that 1.🤣 while i was attending that course, i was a total non swimmer. they just tie a yellow ribbion around my arm and make me do the jump into the sea and climb up using the robe net. 😞 i remember i keep telling my sgt i was a non swimmer, the csm say jump, thats it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 11 minutes ago, Beregond said: The most terrifing 1 i hate at the commando camp there is the high tower. alot of round thick wooden beam that stack up very high, u need climb over it and cross the top 1. Wait till your OC made you do the whole course again and again whole afternoon because a VIP came to visit the camp. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 1 minute ago, Weez911 said: Wait till your OC made you do the whole course again and again whole afternoon because a VIP came to visit the camp. you all red beret. I only training to be ice-cream cone corporal 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 6 minutes ago, Beregond said: yes yes this is the 1. i totally wayang and siam this, i hide inside the under ground tunnel like a maze that 1.🤣 while i was attending that course, i was a total non swimmer. they just tie a yellow ribbion around my arm and make me do the jump into the sea and climb up using the robe net. 😞 i remember i keep telling my sgt i was a non swimmer, the csm say jump, thats it.... haha i remember that maze thing. That was actually quite fun, scrambling in the tunnel. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 7 minutes ago, Jman888 said: my girl also took guzhen in sec sch and involved in SYF, almost bought one bulky elephant to keep at home another one to join the music and tea party.....lai lai lai...品茶赏乐... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 (edited) 37 minutes ago, Jman888 said: my girl also took guzhen in sec sch and involved in SYF, almost bought one bulky elephant to keep at home Yeah man. I didn't realise how bulky it is until i'm looking to buy one. Think i'll hold off first. Edited February 5, 2021 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 Nowadays CCA is very competitive and schools also compete to come up with interesting programmes. So much so that the range and depth of the activity is beyond teacher's expertise and teachers are now relegated to admin / manager only . The training is done by external coaches that bid for the jobs. But at the same time, activities are more professional and structured too. I recall last time in JC, even in the sports CCA, the coaches were the PE teachers themselves, no outsourcing. We went kayaking / canoeing for a jolly variation to training and those days where got 1-star, 2-star qualification ..... Just took to the water and start paddling. Actually drifted out quite far at ECP and panic a little fighting the current to get back. Can't imagine if someone had capsized or couldn't get back. Those days, simi risk assessment what-not simply not part of the consideration. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 ACS practise a 2 CCA policy. Most boys there take up a Uniformed Group and another CCA. Exceptions are those in the core sports CCAs where intensive training is conducted, eg rugby, competitive swimming, water polo, etc. Any such unfortunate incident will affect students and staff in the respective school. More so for a close-knit school like ACS. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 15 minutes ago, Flying_genie said: ACS practise a 2 CCA policy. Most boys there take up a Uniformed Group and another CCA. Exceptions are those in the core sports CCAs where intensive training is conducted, eg rugby, competitive swimming, water polo, etc. Any such unfortunate incident will affect students and staff in the respective school. More so for a close-knit school like ACS. I always believe in lesser sports around a table & safe in card games like "Gin Rummy", "Si Ki Pi", "Tua Tai Tee", "Mahjong", "Black Jack", "Poker", ....etc Since they are under 18, so 'Snake & Ladder', 'Aeroplane' , 'Chinese Chess', 'Monopoly', '5-stones', 'kuti kuti', .... etc. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 1 hour ago, Beregond said: yes i am not good at height. the most terrifing 1 i hate at the commando camp there is the high tower. alot of round thick wooden beam that stack up very high, u need climb over it and cross the top 1. i wayang siam that 1 . see already my face also green hehe. I am scared of heights too but the commando camp high obstacle course was quite fun la. Esp the jump into water from dunno how high 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: you all red beret. I only training to be ice-cream cone corporal Wayang only. Our company did the high confidence course. One did the swimming pool tower jump, one did the tower rappelling, and the sartki SOF demonstrated counter-terrorism. We will repeat again whenever VIP came again. Sometimes I cannot remember whether we were soldiers, or actors. 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 Ok to bring this somewhat back to topic. Supposing you are parents of say teenage children/adolescents, what would you not let your kids attempt? As in activities with some element of danger. NS not included as it's mostly out of our control beyond keng-ing or siaming. Diving in open water? *I just googled, open water PADI certification can start around 13-15 years old. I guess regular rock climbing is quite widely available nowadays with those indoor climbing walls inside malls even eg. Funan. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 21 hours ago, Throttle2 said: RIP Classic MOE - suspends ALL height related activities. No head no tail, but just suspend first lah. If dies during Normal PE, you can be sure ALL PE will be suspended too. Being seen to be coming up with a wayang solution is much more important than the solution itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 1 minute ago, Jellandross said: Being seen to be coming up with a wayang solution is much more important than the solution itself. Safety time out lor. I think it's good lah. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...