Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 10 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I chose a 1 day CCA for my kid cos i don't want her to spend too much time at school. Lol But then she's not a sporty person. If physical sports, i don't mind twice a week. But then actually i believe that CCA should be democratic to some extent. Interest, not just talent, should play a big part. But it's hard to balance for both lah. Good thing is that nowadays youtube/internet is the democratic equaliser. U can pursue your interest while outside of a CCA/school. yah, CCA actually can take up a lot of time, even 1 day a week is 3 hours a week, I think social study doesnt even get 3 hours a week in class. For Physical sports as CCA, twice a week is never enough, esp if in team sports. For NSGs they start with zoner up to nationals, so its a long term, unless the team end their present at zone state and go home early. Otherwise those popular ones train as much as 5-6 days a week.... Yes, they always start by interest, at the primary school level. That's where they get to try and switch CCA because its not compulsory. At secondary level, many talents were carry forward from Primary schools already. Thats where they need to decide what they want for CCA among the many interests. I mean we all have more than one interest outside of study, but then we can never get to do them all for CCA, some we will have to do it on our own OTOT. CCA is actually just another subject in school, but given the option to choose one you are strong at so you can perform well and make your portfolio looks better. If you have intention for your children to DSA or IP, CCA is very important, same goes to leadership portfolio. As for other interests, do it OTOT as an interest. When you do well in that interest with good results, schools are then open for discussion. Thats how schools operate here... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 27 minutes ago, Wind30 said: I am still stuck in the ECA era... I got F9 for ECA in secondary school. That is how switched off ECA was at my time, no one came after me when I did not sign up for anything 🙂 My kid have like one afternoon a week free... 2 days for her CCA, 1 day for third language, 1 day for her maths DSA. I just feel it is very different from my secondary school days, I have every afternoon of the week free. That came to bite me in the scholarship race in JC though so now we are asking her to excel in her CCA... getting off topic. But I think CCA stress might be part of the problem... Yes, when it was ECA, it was meant as something "EXTRA" outside of school work, I have many friends went without any ECA too, but things changed when it was changed to "CO", it became compulsory at secondary level. like I mentioned, if you have intention for your children to DSA or IP, the route starts in Primary school, CCA and leadership plays a BIG role, do take note of that. Anyway, nobody thought of the kid having some condition he did not declare before the activities? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 34 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Should have some not so serious CCA. The kind of CCA like 'Tiko Ranger Club' where you the "yen tau kia " be their Chief Instuctor. All very safe as only sits and do 'bird' watching ... This CCA only exclusive to all boys school, and no "bird" watching, we go catch "pussies", as in "cats".... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Tianmo said: This CCA only exclusive to all boys school, and no "bird" watching, we go catch "pussies", as in "cats".... Who told you that all Girl's schools never ???? Just that males watch quietly whereas females scream to the top of their voices ... Like male singers appear on stage, the female fans goes Edited February 5, 2021 by Picnic06-Biante15 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 18 hours ago, Watwheels said: Now where got so many grenade to throw? My time dont even bother with the dummy wan. I think no budget. What m203 curry powder also no hab. I think they spent the money on the virtual reality like play game wan. Now that peace time training got so many soldier die they wont let anyone throw grenade. Shoot the virtual m203 good enough. Heng ha, luckily I get to throw live grenade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 1 hour ago, Wind30 said: Not sure if that kid took something that was super terrifying for him.... sometime also hard to judge. cannot say everything u feel abit dangerous then u dun let your kids do, like that how to build up his confident 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 47 minutes ago, Tianmo said: yah, CCA actually can take up a lot of time, even 1 day a week is 3 hours a week, I think social study doesnt even get 3 hours a week in class. For Physical sports as CCA, twice a week is never enough, esp if in team sports. For NSGs they start with zoner up to nationals, so its a long term, unless the team end their present at zone state and go home early. Otherwise those popular ones train as much as 5-6 days a week.... Yes, they always start by interest, at the primary school level. That's where they get to try and switch CCA because its not compulsory. At secondary level, many talents were carry forward from Primary schools already. Thats where they need to decide what they want for CCA among the many interests. I mean we all have more than one interest outside of study, but then we can never get to do them all for CCA, some we will have to do it on our own OTOT. CCA is actually just another subject in school, but given the option to choose one you are strong at so you can perform well and make your portfolio looks better. If you have intention for your children to DSA or IP, CCA is very important, same goes to leadership portfolio. As for other interests, do it OTOT as an interest. When you do well in that interest with good results, schools are then open for discussion. Thats how schools operate here... yeah i know. More you practice/do the better you get. My girl's school not much CCA choices though. And she already has an academic long day (her school ends bit earlier for 4 days, but has a long school day for 1 day). She's already doing piano once a week on wkday pm. If she continues to keep up her academics, then there will be another academic long day for her in upper primary. So that's already 3-4 "long days" per week liao. If 2 day CCA, then that's too much. Though her current CCA may have a 2nd day if got SYF practice or what not (though dunno how that works out nowadays). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 (edited) 40 minutes ago, Lala81 said: yeah i know. More you practice/do the better you get. My girl's school not much CCA choices though. And she already has an academic long day (her school ends bit earlier for 4 days, but has a long school day for 1 day). She's already doing piano once a week on wkday pm. If she continues to keep up her academics, then there will be another academic long day for her in upper primary. So that's already 3-4 "long days" per week liao. If 2 day CCA, then that's too much. Though her current CCA may have a 2nd day if got SYF practice or what not (though dunno how that works out nowadays). some schools have limited CCA because of the lesser population, or some of their CCA require more man, so choice become limited, boh bian one. Having another interest outside of school and CCA will always help her portfolio. When she move up to upper Primary, if possible tell her to try and get some leadership role, helps portfolio too. If she gets involve in SYF, be prepare to burn many many afternoons and Sat, esp if the school CCA has always been in the gold or diamond award. My younger daughter was involved in SYF twice, the prep is really tiring. There was almost no life during the lead up to SYF, but do let her be, good training also.... Edited February 5, 2021 by Tianmo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Tianmo said: some schools have limited CCA because of the lesser population, or some of their CCA require more man, so choice become limited, boh bian one. Having another interest outside of school and CCA will always help her portfolio. When she move up to upper Primary, if possible tell her to try and get some leadership role, helps portfolio too. If she gets involve in SYF, be prepare to burn many many afternoons and Sat, esp if the school CCA has always been in the gold or diamond award. My younger daughter was involved in SYF twice, the prep is really tiring. There was almost no life during the lead up to SYF, but do let her be, good training also.... hmm she's in guzheng. School is certificate of distinction in 2018 SYF and in previous SYFs. Gold/diamond is above that? Edited February 5, 2021 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: hmm she's in guzheng. School is certificate of distinction in 2018 SYF and in previous SYFs. Gold/diamond is above that? Oh ok. Quote In 2012, as part of the MOE's revamp of the festival, the former SYF Central Judging was renamed as the SYF Arts Presentation. The award structure was also revamped from Gold (with Honours), Gold, Silver, Bronze and certificate of participation to Distinction, Accomplishment and Commendation. The score needed to obtain the highest award was also lowered from 85% to 75% 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 (edited) 59 minutes ago, Beregond said: sometime also hard to judge. cannot say everything u feel abit dangerous then u dun let your kids do, like that how to build up his confident I'm not one for heights definitely. There's a high obstacle confidence course during SISPEC. I have to say i was quite terrified during it. Though i siamed the part which i was probably weakest at (I can't remember why i managed to siam it), the crawling along the high ropes. Did the rapelling, the high rope ladder though. I think it's good to go through, but really scary siah. Palms sweating OBS was not that scary i guess, since non military environment. Edited February 5, 2021 by Lala81 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 6 minutes ago, Lala81 said: hmm she's in guzheng. School is certificate of distinction in 2018 SYF and in previous SYFs. Gold/diamond is above that? IIRC, within distinction, there is another level of Gold and diamond award, with diamond as the highest level. That is as far back as i can remember when my daughter was involved, things might have change. 古筝? 恭喜你!!!!.....lots of afternoons going to get burn liao. I know because in primary school, my younger daughter was in Chinese Orchestra, and was involved in SYF, she played 扬琴. Then in Sec sch her sch has no CO, only 古筝, so she ended up switching and got involved in another SYF. So yah, next time our girls can play for us some 古筝 music, while we have a cup of tea.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: It's hard to say unless u were a witness. Since theres no acute trauma per say. Is it he lost consciousness and fell? He may just had an arrhythmia that caused him to lose balance and fall down. Issit suspension trauma, I dunno. Many people fell off such obstacles before, myself included. The force is not a lot. Coroners case then. Doc, assuming this event is closely supervised, and closest intervention in the event of an accident is 1 to 2 minutes away, and in a non-impact (ie no physical blow to the body or head) event like this, what could possibly cause a boy to lose his life in that 1 to 2 minutes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 9 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I'm not one for heights definitely. There's a high obstacle confidence course during SISPEC. I have to say i was quite terrified during it. Though i siamed the part which i was probably weakest at (I can't remember why i managed to siam it), the crawling along the high ropes. Did the rapelling, the high rope ladder though. I think it's good to go through, but really scary siah. Palms sweating OBS was not that scary i guess, since non military environment. Still remember good old days of Suffer In Silence Plus Extra Confinement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 5 minutes ago, Weez911 said: Doc, assuming this event is closely supervised, and closest intervention in the event of an accident is 1 to 2 minutes away, and in a non-impact (ie no physical blow to the body or head) event like this, what could possibly cause a boy to lose his life in that 1 to 2 minutes? generally speaking, from an article i read that my emergency medicine friend sent me, suspension trauma is usually gradual and takes time. At least quite a number of minutes, and can be up to 1 hr, some 10-15% of people are still ok. Generally speaking, not many things can kill you almost instantly within minutes without trauma. Heart rhythm dysfunction is probably high on the list, followed by pulmonary embolism (but that's not really common at his age group). 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 20 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I'm not one for heights definitely. There's a high obstacle confidence course during SISPEC. I have to say i was quite terrified during it. Though i siamed the part which i was probably weakest at (I can't remember why i managed to siam it), the crawling along the high ropes. Did the rapelling, the high rope ladder though. I think it's good to go through, but really scary siah. Palms sweating OBS was not that scary i guess, since non military environment. Aren't you a doctor? I thought that means you are an officer. Why need to go to suspect? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 5, 2021 Author Share February 5, 2021 1 minute ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Aren't you a doctor? I thought that means you are an officer. Why need to go to suspect? Pre-disruption. Need to serve 6 months before u get chosen for disruption. Before returning to do MOCC after your studies. Not good enough to be chosen for OCS at Sit test lor. My best friend also went sispec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 5, 2021 Share February 5, 2021 24 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I'm not one for heights definitely. There's a high obstacle confidence course during SISPEC. I have to say i was quite terrified during it. Though i siamed the part which i was probably weakest at (I can't remember why i managed to siam it), the crawling along the high ropes. Did the rapelling, the high rope ladder though. I think it's good to go through, but really scary siah. Palms sweating OBS was not that scary i guess, since non military environment. yes i am not good at height. the most terrifing 1 i hate at the commando camp there is the high tower. alot of round thick wooden beam that stack up very high, u need climb over it and cross the top 1. i wayang siam that 1 . see already my face also green ↡ Advertisement 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...