sanlynn 1st Gear February 4, 2021 Share February 4, 2021 (edited) Hi ALL, I'm seeking advice for abnormal sound my car generates. In fact, car generating sound when reverse especially breaking time. ONLY REVERSE TIME! No issue when moving forward or normal driving until 100KM/HR. If 1 - 10 for honk level sound, the sound is pretty noisy @ 4 and worsening. I believe, if something scratching break-disk or somewhere, sound should be heard when moving forward. But my case is different. REVERSE - SOUND FORWARD DRIVING - NO SOUND AT ALL - VERY SMOOTH Before I go & consult with mechanic, please share you experience on TEANA similar abnormal sound. Thank you in advance. Regards. MY CAR SPECIFICATION AND DATA. Make/model NISSAN / TEANA 2.0 XL CVT Year of Manufacture:2015 Edited February 4, 2021 by sanlynn ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 4, 2021 Share February 4, 2021 Is it due to uneven wear on the brake pads? When was the last time you replace them? Or never done before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged February 4, 2021 Share February 4, 2021 reverse w/o braking have sound? if no then either brake disc or pad uneven wear. mine was braking going forward & after disc brake warmed up. the sound quite loud and other drivers looked at me at traffic stop. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanlynn 1st Gear February 4, 2021 Author Share February 4, 2021 (edited) @Watwheels bro thanks for prompt response Check with Borneo WShop supervisor, not need to change Pad 6 months ago. Car Mileage total also - moderate to less drive within 5 years No scratch(es) had been found on DISK SURFACE. I was wondering and wandering . . . REAR WHEELS only having sound, not sure left or right wheel Thank for your advice. Edited February 4, 2021 by sanlynn info added Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear February 4, 2021 Share February 4, 2021 had the same issue previously (different car model, but symptoms the same, reverse have scratchy sound) changed brake pads and issue was resolved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged February 6, 2021 Share February 6, 2021 On 2/4/2021 at 12:33 PM, sanlynn said: @Watwheels bro thanks for prompt response Check with Borneo WShop supervisor, not need to change Pad 6 months ago. Car Mileage total also - moderate to less drive within 5 years No scratch(es) had been found on DISK SURFACE. I was wondering and wandering . . . REAR WHEELS only having sound, not sure left or right wheel Thank for your advice. I know why your car got sound, cos you went to the wrong workshop. You sent a Nissan to Borneo? BTW, your English gives me a headache. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edge_sg Neutral Newbie February 7, 2021 Share February 7, 2021 Likely the noise is caused by the rear brake pads. Could be the brake pads harden over period of time if not changed before. If changed, recommend to use the original brake pads. Try experimenting by sanding the brake pads surface and test. If the noise is gone(or lesser), that should be the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanlynn 1st Gear March 10, 2021 Author Share March 10, 2021 On 2/7/2021 at 4:00 PM, Edge_sg said: Likely the noise is caused by the rear brake pads. Could be the brake pads harden over period of time if not changed before. If changed, recommend to use the original brake pads. Try experimenting by sanding the brake pads surface and test. If the noise is gone(or lesser), that should be the problem. Thanks, yes it was found that the reason was harden pads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 10, 2021 Share March 10, 2021 Get someone to stand behind when you reversing to hear where the sound is coming from. Left or right and from where. I can ask my MIL to help you and stand behind when you reversing. Just drive faster a bit so she can hear clearly where the sound coming from. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 10, 2021 Share March 10, 2021 My MIL can help you confirm it's harden pads. Maybe reverse faster and brake later? If cannot stop in time then chop confirm guaranteed it's the pads. No point wasting money if the pads are still good right? Best to be absolutely sure 100%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged March 10, 2021 Share March 10, 2021 Btw, does it sound like "Do-Re-Mi...Mi-Re-Do...Do-Re-Mi...Mi-Re-Do"? If yes, I can probably help you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 On 2/6/2021 at 11:43 PM, Toeknee_33 said: I know why your car got sound, cos you went to the wrong workshop. You sent a Nissan to Borneo? BTW, your English gives me a headache. Wahahaa.....speak headache engrish to a wrong workshop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 On 2/6/2021 at 11:43 PM, Toeknee_33 said: I know why your car got sound, cos you went to the wrong workshop. You sent a Nissan to Borneo? BTW, your English gives me a headache. Pardon TS. A look at the keyboard letter 'n' right next 'b'. Probably typo. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 22 minutes ago, Kopites said: Pardon TS. A look at the keyboard letter 'n' right next 'b'. Probably typo. Honest mistake. But I learnt something new today I so oso gotta be careful. Keyboard letter A is next to S. I might type wrongly and show up at Sssssangyong to fix my car 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 13 minutes ago, mikk123 said: go and look for a mechanic for advice. Here are all old uncles good at talking cock😁 Therein lies the problem. He went to Borneo mechanic to ask how to solve Nissan problem Not unker anyhow tok kok one hor 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 28 minutes ago, Soya said: Therein lies the problem. He went to Borneo mechanic to ask how to solve Nissan problem Not unker anyhow tok kok one hor Another possibility.... TS is from East Malaysia. Borneo mechanic literally is mechanic from Borneo! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2021 Share March 11, 2021 1 hour ago, mikk123 said: Maybe he should have gone to Kah Motor? or maybe Performance motor? 🤣 Cannot. Go to KM, they might say the noise is from the Vtec (yo!) Go to PML, they might say it sounds like a turn signal - but cannot be spoilt coz BMW owners dun use one......... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...