kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 source: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/some-singaporeans-willing-pay-more-12000-dog Would you pay more than $12,000 for a dog? Some Singaporeans can - and will. And demand for these costly canines shows no signs of abating, despite prices for many breeds ballooning since last year. Checks by The Straits Times found that a golden retriever can cost up to $12,800, compared with about $5,000 last January. A poodle can go for as much as $11,800, when one cost around $4,000 in the previous year. Demand for puppies surged right after the circuit breaker ended, and all five shops suggest that prices will continue to rise. Dogs are imported from places like Ireland, Taiwan and Australia, or come from local breeders. Nanyang Technological University student Isabel Joy Kua, 20, who bought her three-month-old bichon frise, Sunny, for $8,900 last month, said: "Several shops tried to get me to reserve a dog even before I interacted with it, which didn't make sense. But they said that if I went the next day, the dog would probably have been bought by another customer." A dog owner in his 30s, who gave his name only as Maxime, bought a local toy poodle last June and a pomsky - a pomeranian-husky mix - from Ireland in November. He told ST that once dog sales resumed on June 19, when phase two started, all the time slots for viewings at pet shops were fully booked for the first two days. Buyers said that they were willing to pay "pandemic premiums" due to money saved from cancelled holidays and work from home arrangements. Ms Kua had wanted a dog since primary school and finally managed to persuade her parents to let her buy one. She said: "We used the money saved on travelling to pay for Sunny." Maxime, who paid $10,300 in all for both his dogs, said: "Working from home during the circuit breaker period was a major factor for me as I now had time to invest in training the puppy." Others like Ms Joanna Cheng-Ajlani chose to adopt dogs from animal shelters instead. "To be honest, if not for the change in work arrangements for both my husband and myself, we would not have even considered a pet," said Ms Cheng-Ajlani, who adopted nine-year-old Polo, a Singapore special from Action for Singapore Dogs (ASD). Depending on the animal shelter, adopting a dog can cost between $250 and $531.50. While adoption queries were reported to have increased in August, the number of adoptions have returned to pre-pandemic levels for animal welfare groups Causes for Animals (CAS) and Save Our Street Dogs. In-person adoption drives have yet to resume. Mr Ricky Yeo, founder of ASD, said: "We are always operating at full capacity. While adoptions peaked at 247 last year, the take-in rate is still high." The organisation shelters around 150 dogs, of which 90 per cent are Singapore specials. CAS fundraising coordinator Christine Bernadette said while there is nothing intrinsically wrong with buying dogs, it is important to get them from ethical breeders. "Many buyers are unaware about the conditions that the parents of their dogs are subjected to, which often mean being caged and kept alive just for breeding," Ms Bernadette, 32, added, "There needs to be more education on the cruelty of puppy mills." Quote Recently my neighbour upstairs also just bought a puppy for $8K. That's ridiculous. I am willing to spend $8K for thier food and well being, but not to buy them I am a true beliver of Adopt don't shop. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 I adopt. Our local moogies' external beauty will shine through after a good bath, fur dematting, ear cleaning, flea/mite treatment etc and with good food and sufficient rest. Character is up to you to choose. Whether playful, cheeky, mischievous, loves cuddling etc is up to the potential owner to spot and select. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 Because these fools who buy are materialistic and want the bragging rights to something along the lines of "I have a purebred premium breed from dunno smlj country and it costs more than 6 months of your salary" 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 No need to pay so much lah. Go to the dogs home and get them for free. Get one boy one and one girl one and sell the babies for thousands. 3 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 LoL....I didn't realised WFH can push up the demand to buy or adopt pets. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 If others can pay S$60,000/- for a Red Arowana, what is a S$12,000/- for a dog ... Dog at least can accompany you for 12 years. Some willing to pay S$180/- for a 1kg 'Rock Melon" 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 Its their money they want to buy fine with me. But i hope they dun treat dogs like car. Want to compare brand compare breed. Atlas or non atlas. They want buy a dog pls care for it till they pass away naturally. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 (edited) 52 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: source: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/some-singaporeans-willing-pay-more-12000-dog Would you pay more than $12,000 for a dog? Some Singaporeans can - and will. And demand for these costly canines shows no signs of abating, despite prices for many breeds ballooning since last year. Checks by The Straits Times found that a golden retriever can cost up to $12,800, compared with about $5,000 last January. A poodle can go for as much as $11,800, when one cost around $4,000 in the previous year. Demand for puppies surged right after the circuit breaker ended, and all five shops suggest that prices will continue to rise. Dogs are imported from places like Ireland, Taiwan and Australia, or come from local breeders. Nanyang Technological University student Isabel Joy Kua, 20, who bought her three-month-old bichon frise, Sunny, for $8,900 last month, said: "Several shops tried to get me to reserve a dog even before I interacted with it, which didn't make sense. But they said that if I went the next day, the dog would probably have been bought by another customer." A dog owner in his 30s, who gave his name only as Maxime, bought a local toy poodle last June and a pomsky - a pomeranian-husky mix - from Ireland in November. He told ST that once dog sales resumed on June 19, when phase two started, all the time slots for viewings at pet shops were fully booked for the first two days. Buyers said that they were willing to pay "pandemic premiums" due to money saved from cancelled holidays and work from home arrangements. Ms Kua had wanted a dog since primary school and finally managed to persuade her parents to let her buy one. She said: "We used the money saved on travelling to pay for Sunny." Maxime, who paid $10,300 in all for both his dogs, said: "Working from home during the circuit breaker period was a major factor for me as I now had time to invest in training the puppy." Others like Ms Joanna Cheng-Ajlani chose to adopt dogs from animal shelters instead. "To be honest, if not for the change in work arrangements for both my husband and myself, we would not have even considered a pet," said Ms Cheng-Ajlani, who adopted nine-year-old Polo, a Singapore special from Action for Singapore Dogs (ASD). Depending on the animal shelter, adopting a dog can cost between $250 and $531.50. While adoption queries were reported to have increased in August, the number of adoptions have returned to pre-pandemic levels for animal welfare groups Causes for Animals (CAS) and Save Our Street Dogs. In-person adoption drives have yet to resume. Mr Ricky Yeo, founder of ASD, said: "We are always operating at full capacity. While adoptions peaked at 247 last year, the take-in rate is still high." The organisation shelters around 150 dogs, of which 90 per cent are Singapore specials. CAS fundraising coordinator Christine Bernadette said while there is nothing intrinsically wrong with buying dogs, it is important to get them from ethical breeders. "Many buyers are unaware about the conditions that the parents of their dogs are subjected to, which often mean being caged and kept alive just for breeding," Ms Bernadette, 32, added, "There needs to be more education on the cruelty of puppy mills." You got offer yourself to these ladies whether they wanna pay 10K for a boyfriend? You got a pet dog already? Throw in another 5K they get the whole package for 15K. Edited January 26, 2021 by Watwheels 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Author Share January 26, 2021 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: Its their money they want to buy fine with me. But i hope they dun treat dogs like car. Want to compare brand compare breed. Atlas or non atlas. They want buy a dog pls care for it till they pass away naturally. Apparently, my friend is like that. They don't like their dog to mixed around with mongrel. They say they will play very rough. But they okay for his dog to hang around with golden retriever. hahah. Most of them when got kids liao, they will say not good for the baby, too many furs. unhygienic. Then, in the end, the dog has to leave. 😭 1 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Author Share January 26, 2021 5 minutes ago, Watwheels said: You got offer yourself to these ladies whether they wanna pay 10K for a boyfriend? You got a pet dog already? Throw in another 5K they get the whole package for 15K. AYE! SOUND LIKE A PLAN! WHY I NEVER THINK OF THAT! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 2 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: Apparently, my friend is like that. They don't like their dog to mixed around with mongrel. They say they will play very rough. But they okay for his dog to hang around with golden retriever. hahah. Most of them when got kids liao, they will say not good for the baby, too many furs. unhygienic. Then, in the end, the dog has to leave. 😭 Exactly. Not only your friend. I know close ppl like that. Buy dog like buy car want compare altas. I talk too much wait become no friend do. Starting when puppy time very excited But三分钟热度。they got tired of caring for it. Both husband n wife working. Dog alone at home got depression destroy their stuff bababa. Then kid come out. In the end give away the dog. Its totally different from the start when they visit every shop to choose a dog. The enthusiasm become zero. The dog become a chores a liabilities instead. Its super sad( i knew its going to happen even b4 they buy it)... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 25 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: Apparently, my friend is like that. They don't like their dog to mixed around with mongrel. They say they will play very rough. But they okay for his dog to hang around with golden retriever. hahah. Most of them when got kids liao, they will say not good for the baby, too many furs. unhygienic. Then, in the end, the dog has to leave. 😭 The most common excuse is allergy to fur. Lol 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 21 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: AYE! SOUND LIKE A PLAN! WHY I NEVER THINK OF THAT! Errr... I think you will have to pay them instead not they pay for you. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: AYE! SOUND LIKE A PLAN! WHY I NEVER THINK OF THAT! Don't know what you always thinking .... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Author Share January 26, 2021 4 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Don't know what you always thinking .... I daydream more than I think. hahahaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Author Share January 26, 2021 10 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said: Errr... I think you will have to pay them instead not they pay for you. Some fool buy, some fool sells. I just have to find the right buyer only mah. 🤣 Woof woof! hahahhahaha. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 26 minutes ago, Beregond said: Exactly. Not only your friend. I know close ppl like that. Buy dog like buy car want compare altas. I talk too much wait become no friend do. Starting when puppy time very excited But三分钟热度。they got tired of caring for it. Both husband n wife working. Dog alone at home got depression destroy their stuff bababa. Then kid come out. In the end give away the dog. Its totally different from the start when they visit every shop to choose a dog. The enthusiasm become zero. The dog become a chores a liabilities instead. Its super sad( i knew its going to happen even b4 they buy it)... maybe their kid will probably end up like the dog? semi give away?hahahaha 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Author Share January 26, 2021 19 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said: The most common excuse is allergy to fur. Lol they should know what. Comes in a package one mah. Got dog that have no fur one meh? hahaha. See lah. No fur, they will say it is ugly. hahaha. I like this kind of dog. Can play rough. hahaha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...