Allanh41 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 Hi everyone, I’m looking to buy a car from an owner directly and seeking opinions on how to do the transfer The car is still under financing and I intend to buy with cash (no financing) Just like to seek an opinion what’s the best way to do this to minimise any risk of seller MIA with my money Should I.... 1. Issue 2 cashier order (1 to bank, 1 to owner) and collect the car. Owner to do transfer after full settlement 2. Issue cashier order to bank. After settlement, meet owner to pay balance and collect car or any suggestions? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 1 hour ago, Allanh41 said: Hi everyone, I’m looking to buy a car from an owner directly and seeking opinions on how to do the transfer The car is still under financing and I intend to buy with cash (no financing) Just like to seek an opinion what’s the best way to do this to minimise any risk of seller MIA with my money Should I.... 1. Issue 2 cashier order (1 to bank, 1 to owner) and collect the car. Owner to do transfer after full settlement 2. Issue cashier order to bank. After settlement, meet owner to pay balance and collect car or any suggestions? Thanks In this kind of difficult times, don't play play loh....... get a middle man laaaa ..... https://connect.sgcarmart.com/index.php 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DylanChen 2nd Gear January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 motorist service not bad. than less than $500 . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 1 hour ago, Apple-Tree said: In this kind of difficult times, don't play play loh....... get a middle man laaaa ..... https://connect.sgcarmart.com/index.php Do transfer in his presence. Meet at LTA and get it done @Vratenza pls weigh in 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 5 hours ago, Apple-Tree said: In this kind of difficult times, don't play play loh....... get a middle man laaaa ..... https://connect.sgcarmart.com/index.php Is this a proper escrow service, I wonder? Or just a form - filling hand-holding type deal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allanh41 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2021 Author Share January 25, 2021 Thanks for the reply, but I think bank need 1-2 days to release form b, so can’t pay for him on the spot and do the transfer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 Ask seller to settle his own loan before transfer of ownership...few ways to do it...just need to weigh the options... LTA won't allow transfer to go through if loan not clear on seller part and insurance not purchase yet on your part. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic January 25, 2021 Share January 25, 2021 (edited) 8 hours ago, Allanh41 said: Hi everyone, I’m looking to buy a car from an owner directly and seeking opinions on how to do the transfer The car is still under financing and I intend to buy with cash (no financing) Just like to seek an opinion what’s the best way to do this to minimise any risk of seller MIA with my money Should I.... 1. Issue 2 cashier order (1 to bank, 1 to owner) and collect the car. Owner to do transfer after full settlement 2. Issue cashier order to bank. After settlement, meet owner to pay balance and collect car or any suggestions? Thanks What i did was i asked the seller to settle his own loan payment, then go to LTA to do the transfer together. Hand over casher order on the spot . You drive off the car after you walk out of LTA Sin Min office. Edited January 26, 2021 by Ct3833 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 also, now have cashier order? iFast can trf up to $200k liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 CO is still the preferred choice...even exporters use it to show their sincerity to buy the car body with residual paper value when I don't take deposit from them after viewing... I do the same to direct seller with screenshot of the CO to show my commitment to purchase...likewise, never need to place a deposit with them. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 2 hours ago, Turboflat4 said: Is this a proper escrow service, I wonder? Or just a form - filling hand-holding type deal? Is not a full escrow service. but the buyer and seller can meet at our office and do the transfer of ownership. There will also be proper documentation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SiLangKia Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 28 minutes ago, RadX said: also, now have cashier order? iFast can trf up to $200k liao hahahah this reminds me of how i used paynow to buy my car. meet seller at hdb void deck and do transfer then paynow him the car cost, sounds so illegal HAHAHAHA 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 4 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: Is not a full escrow service. but the buyer and seller can meet at our office and do the transfer of ownership. There will also be proper documentation Thanks for clarifying. What safeguards do you have that the guy who acquires the asset (either car or money) first doesn't just get up and walk away? What liability does SGCM bear if that happens? If the answer is none and none, then this is nowhere near confidence-inspiring. Legally binding escrow agreements with an unbiased third party are the only secure way to exchange assets in my view. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 Just now, SiLangKia said: hahahah this reminds me of how i used paynow to buy my car. meet seller at hdb void deck and do transfer then paynow him the car cost, sounds so illegal HAHAHAHA THRUST you to always do these kinky stuff...knn 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 5 minutes ago, RadX said: THRUST you to always do these kinky stuff...knn 🤣 Sekali is paynow then transfer body fluid in the car...better be chio and shiok to make it worth the risks... 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 6 minutes ago, SiLangKia said: hahahah this reminds me of how i used paynow to buy my car. meet seller at hdb void deck and do transfer then paynow him the car cost, sounds so illegal HAHAHAHA Sounds almost like how I bought my Alfa Mito, actually, except I did it in my house living room and via internet bank transfer. 😂 I sort of trusted the parties involved (related to a colleague) and it was only about 20k plus anyway. So wasn't too worried. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 Just now, Turboflat4 said: Sounds almost like how I bought my Alfa Mito, actually, except I did it in my house living room and via internet bank transfer. 😂 I sort of trusted the parties involved (related to a colleague) and it was only about 20k plus anyway. So wasn't too worried. trusted...or tHrusted...dun @SiLangKia hor 😂😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear January 26, 2021 Share January 26, 2021 need to pay up / clear the loan first meet somewhere convenient to view / check the car .. no need meet at LTA Transfer the payment Log using Singpass to transfer the ownership of the car done ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...