Sinovac showed efficacy of 50.4%

steveluv

12 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Look at the vaccine bottle. Chinese wording mean china. English mean western.

So easy.

You think so easy meh? Now everything in English. But it may be Engrish instead of English, which makes it easier. 😁

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

so sinvac vaccine is like buying lottery lor... 50/50 tio or don't tio LOL

I guess the optimistic view is that it's better than nothing [laugh]

Then again, I have been getting along well with normal life, albeit masked, without a vaccine and still going strong. 50+% or 90+% also same same. Never took a flu shot, ever.

I am also a little doubtful about the news trumpeted by the western media about western pharma companies' success rates. Events of past few weeks in the USA have shown the western society to be a "emperor's new clothes" case ...all the talk about human rights and civil rights and equality went out the window [laugh] Now we see what they truly are. They have their own agenda, so have to take their news with a pinch of salt.

Edited by Sosaria

1 hour ago, Watwheels said:

I read liao want to laugh. Apparently the efficacy rate is based on the number of ppl tested for the vaccine. Each country tested on a different number of ppl so they get all kinds of results. 

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-01-12/china-vaccine-going-global-with-four-different-efficacy-rates

Now the question comes for other vaccines. How many ppl did they test the vaccine on to get that 90%+?

Actually for us normal folks we dont even know what are the standards for testing a vaccine. Hehe...

Not forgetting, the test is also carried out on different peoples. Some of the trial results by western pharma companies are based on results obtained from a batch of majority ang moh guinea pigs. Not much testing done on asians.

Same , I suppose, for PRC vaccines, with the initial trial carried out on mainly chinese, so the results would be more representative for asians.

10 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Not forgetting, the test is also carried out on different peoples. Some of the trial results by western pharma companies are based on results obtained from a batch of majority ang moh guinea pigs. Not much testing done on asians.

Same , I suppose, for PRC vaccines, with the initial trial carried out on mainly chinese, so the results would be more representative for asians.

According to ahem ahem

968D515B-C110-40C0-A48E-3563D6ED69A5.jpeg

I do think it is a good idea to hedge by procuring these different types of vaccine, when the country is not certain which vaccine will work and which will not at the developmental stage. 

We can still achieve herd immunity if 50% of population get the 94% and 90% Pfizer and Modena respectively, while another 20% get the less effective Sinovac. 

If I'm the govt in this case and if I have the choice to procure all 3 vaccine at the developmental stage without knowing the efficacy, I will get all 3. I like to hedge especially for such important bets.

52 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

You think so easy meh? Now everything in English. But it may be Engrish instead of English, which makes it easier. 😁

The slant-eye character is so in-your-face stereotyping, I don't even want to talk about the mock Asian accent.

3 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

I do think it is a good idea to hedge by procuring these different types of vaccine, when the country is not certain which vaccine will work and which will not at the developmental stage. 

We can still achieve herd immunity if 50% of population get the 94% and 90% Pfizer and Modena respectively, while another 20% get the less effective Sinovac. 

If I'm the govt in this case and if I have the choice to procure all 3 vaccine at the developmental stage without knowing the efficacy, I will get all 3. I like to hedge especially for such important bets.

Basically, let's face it, even when majority here gets vaccinated, do you think the rules will relax as long as the virus is out there?

I bet the restrictions will still be in place, most of them, vaccine or no vaccine.

Some people have this fantasy of being free to return to normal life with a so-called vaccine "passport" - I have strong doubts that's gonna happen. This virus will be something to live with for a few years until we adapt to it and the effects become benign.

2 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Basically, let's face it, even when majority here gets vaccinated, do you think the rules will relax as long as the virus is out there?

I bet the restrictions will still be in place, most of them, vaccine or no vaccine.

Some people have this fantasy of being free to return to normal life with a so-called vaccine "passport" - I have strong doubts that's gonna happen. This virus will be something to live with for a few years until we adapt to it and the effects become benign.

Rule will slightly relax. Maybe if u have vaccinated before u wont need to do swab test or SHN

19 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

You are right. Life will not go back to normal until the last country in the world is immune and the daily infection rate stop at zero for a prolonged period... there is another greater concern which I posted in the next post.

Edited by Weez911

13 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Rule will slightly relax. Maybe if u have vaccinated before u wont need to do swab test or SHN

There is also an unknown in which we do not know how long the immunity will last for all these vaccines. Some reports say from 3 month to maybe 1 year. I doubt the whole world will get vacc within 1 year, so there is a fear that this virus will never get beaten. Hope not.. sibei sian liao. 

• Sad 1

8 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

There is also an unknown in which we do not know how long the immunity will last for all these vaccines. Some reports say from 3 month to maybe 1 year. I doubt the whole world will get vacc within 1 year, so there is a fear that this virus will never get beaten. Hope not.. sibei sian liao. 

Then got to wait 3-4 years till the pandemic dies out, like spanish flu took a couple of years as well.

36 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

The slant-eye character is so in-your-face stereotyping, I don't even want to talk about the mock Asian accent.

Yup. That's Family Guy. 

And South Park, for that matter. 

6 hours ago, Wt_know said:

why prc do not explore mRNA method for making the vaccine

the method that prc chosen is easier (old proven method) and higher rate to success [confused] 

i read the only advantage of Sinovac is no need special cold storage and easy for transport and distribution

E7E0E2CB-FB45-41D3-A2B5-1817A09D8432.jpeg

The no need cold storage is indeed very useful for countries that have lack of cold storage facilities. Logistic and planning wise will be much simpler also. So got pros and cons. 

15 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Just send us only two doses lah.

And give both to my MIL.

:grin:

Let her  try coke with salt , should give 50% chance efficiency too.🤣 

just sharing . author rebecca lim

General efficacy is different from clinical efficacy. 50.4% includes preventing asymptomatic transmission.

General efficacy, which includes asymptomatic transmission and the transferring of clinical data onto the general public, is normally far lower than clinical efficacy. Including asymptomatic infections into the datas would definitely further lower the efficacy, be it clinical or general.

According to Butantã Institute (the lab that developed the vaccine in Brazil), it is proved to have 100% protection against severe symptoms of COVID-19 and 78% effectiveness against mild cases.

As a reference, the efficacy of Oxford/AZ vaccine against asymptomatic infections is 59% (study done by a third party) and hasn’t been transferred onto real-life scenario. Pfizer and Moderna didn’t release any datas regarding asymptomatic infections and general efficacy.

https://www.bmj.com/content/371/bmj.m4777

Edited by Staff69

I wonder if 50.4 is true or adjusted up.

Maybe it's really 49.9

Why so chun just a bit over 50?

50.4 sounds like a made up figure to just pass