mersaylee Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 What do you expect from the middle Kingdom...? 😁 ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 I read liao want to laugh. Apparently the efficacy rate is based on the number of ppl tested for the vaccine. Each country tested on a different number of ppl so they get all kinds of results. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-01-12/china-vaccine-going-global-with-four-different-efficacy-rates Now the question comes for other vaccines. How many ppl did they test the vaccine on to get that 90%+? Actually for us normal folks we dont even know what are the standards for testing a vaccine. Hehe... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 30 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said: Look at the bright side. All three vaccines prevent severe cases and hospitalization. This effectively turns covid-19 into another flu just as Donald wished. Yes. I think it does prevent hospitalisation to a significant degree (though they really need to properly publish their results...) Which is really important as well. Overall I think only azn vaccine has shown some reduction of transmission in the studies. The mrna based vaccines didn't study for that. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Watwheels said: I read liao want to laugh. Apparently the efficacy rate is based on the number of ppl tested for the vaccine. Each country tested on a different number of ppl so they get all kinds of results. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-01-12/china-vaccine-going-global-with-four-different-efficacy-rates Now the question comes for other vaccines. How many ppl did they test the vaccine on to get that 90%+? Actually for us normal folks we dont even know what are the standards for testing a vaccine. Hehe... i think Sinovac or Sinopharm kena all the skepticism because they dont publish or release their data for "scrutiny" unless amdk pfizer, moderna and astrazeneca massage their data swee swee for the world to see (or believe) the 2 vaccines that do not publish data are PRC and Russia ... Edited January 13, 2021 by Wt_know 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 22 minutes ago, mersaylee said: What do you expect from the middle Kingdom...? 😁 The Chinese had hua tuo in B.C. era. Counted? Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 Please lah. Even with mature vaccines like BCG with widespread vaccination in Singapore, there are still Singaporeans that get infected and pass it on to other Singaporeans most, if not all having been immunized in Primary school. True, yeah Sinovac is clinically “worse” than the others but who would have known that at the start? Hindsight is 20/20. Talk is cheap. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Wt_know said: i think Sinovac or Sinopharm kena all the skepticism because they dont publish or release their data for "scrutiny" unless amdk pfizer, moderna and astrazeneca massage their data swee swee for the world to see (or believe) the 2 vaccines that do not publish data is PRC and Russia ... what does that tell us? Our gahment says will review it so likely it will be sent to our HSA lab for a breakdown to see how it goes. If they say ok, means ok. If really only 50% effective then maybe our gahment can ask for 50% off the price. LoL... Edited January 13, 2021 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 1 hour ago, CremornePt said: Correct. We really shouldn't see perceived "sub par" results as the end-all. These are all 1st gen COVID vaccines. They're meant to control our current runaway situation around the world, not eradicate COVID by end of 2021 - that's just not going to happen. Next & subsequent years the vaccines will be further developed & become more effective & plentiful. I think many govt warning their people this is going to be a new norm. Semi Lockdown, border restrictions. Cos the truth is until covid mortality becomes really another flu (which will dunno take how many mutation cycles...) , there will be repeated smaller scale outbreaks. Maybe targeted mass vaccination again. With no one below 16 years old eligible, the potential reservoir is still huge. Any parent will know how often they catch their kids viruses. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I think many govt warning their people this is going to be a new norm. Semi Lockdown, border restrictions. Cos the truth is until covid mortality becomes really another flu (which will dunno take how many mutation cycles...) , there will be repeated smaller scale outbreaks. Maybe targeted mass vaccination again. With no one below 16 years old eligible, the potential reservoir is still huge. Any parent will know how often they catch their kids viruses. yeah ... when a kid fall sick at home ... the whole family fall sick - parent and sibling likely to catch the virus too Edited January 13, 2021 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 14 minutes ago, Lala81 said: The Chinese had hua tuo in B.C. era. Counted? Haha Lust time no covid...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 And whether we like Sinovac or not. Reality is its a substantial vaccine supplier to our neighbours particularly Indonesia, phillipines. Malaysia has some agreement with either sinopharm or sinovac. China sure use 100% Chinese vaccine (though maybe the leaders secretly buy some from Pfizer or moderna) haha. So MIC is every where. Can't escape lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 If 50% not good enough take 2 doses! 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 4 minutes ago, Lala81 said: And whether we like Sinovac or not. Reality is its a substantial vaccine supplier to our neighbours particularly Indonesia, phillipines. Malaysia has some agreement with either sinopharm or sinovac. China sure use 100% Chinese vaccine (though maybe the leaders secretly buy some from Pfizer or moderna) haha. So MIC is every where. Can't escape lol. Someone here share this news with me https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/Caixin/China-s-Fosun-to-import-7.2m-doses-of-BioNTech-Pfizer-COVID-vaccine China's Fosun to import 7.2m doses of BioNTech-Pfizer COVID vaccine 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 15 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Our gahment says will review it so likely it will be sent to our HSA lab for a breakdown to see how it goes. If they say ok, means ok. If really only 50% effective then maybe our gahment can ask for 50% off the price. LoL... Ah tiong will say don't worry... buy one gets one free...one jab on each arm you get 100% liao 🤪 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 (edited) 3 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Someone here share this news with me https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/Caixin/China-s-Fosun-to-import-7.2m-doses-of-BioNTech-Pfizer-COVID-vaccine China's Fosun to import 7.2m doses of BioNTech-Pfizer COVID vaccine like PRC buying OZ and NZ baby formula while they dont buy local made if they have a choice ... Edited January 13, 2021 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 4 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Someone here share this news with me https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/Caixin/China-s-Fosun-to-import-7.2m-doses-of-BioNTech-Pfizer-COVID-vaccine China's Fosun to import 7.2m doses of BioNTech-Pfizer COVID vaccine Ah... BioNtech is German. More politically acceptable in terms of 面子。and surely going to sell like hot cakes vs a MIC version. My doctor friend was bit apprehensive about the Pfizer one. He prefers the AZN one which we haven't got any agreement with so far. But now he's thinking if he delay and get the Sinovac one... Lagi worse. Lol its all relative! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 It's funny how countries talk as though our body will immediately react to the vaccine. It takes time. You also have to look at the vaccination history of the ppl in that particular country. For us we are the kiasu type so we have some sort of viral resistance(thru the many viral vaccination) and may only develop mild symptoms or no symptoms if really kenna covid. For other poorer countries ppl might not be so lucky to get so many vaccination like us. To me it has many factors to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 13, 2021 Share January 13, 2021 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Ah... BioNtech is German. More politically acceptable in terms of 面子。and surely going to sell like hot cakes vs a MIC version. My doctor friend was bit apprehensive about the Pfizer one. He prefers the AZN one which we haven't got any agreement with so far. But now he's thinking if he delay and get the Sinovac one... Lagi worse. Lol its all relative! I thought our 1st batch is Pfizer-BioNTech. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...