brake pad labour cost

Saggi

22 minutes ago, Saggi said:

anyone have idea of labour cost for brake pad..any recoomendation ?

normal jap or kimchi make, i would say about 40+- for both side. ( they might charge more for rear)

48 minutes ago, Saggi said:

anyone have idea of labour cost for brake pad..any recoomendation ?

We are looking at around $80 for the labour. I wouldn't recommend you to buy your own brake pads if you are not familiar with your car.

Last time, I bought my own brake pads and ask my mechanic to change, then, in the end, my brake pads cannot fit, I have to buy the brake pads from my mechanic.

12 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

We are looking at around $80 for the labour. I wouldn't recommend you to buy your own brake pads if you are not familiar with your car.

Last time, I bought my own brake pads and ask my mechanic to change, then, in the end, my brake pads cannot fit, I have to buy the brake pads from my mechanic.

Wah. Even guru like you also can't get it right?

Which stockist did you buy from? Those I buy from usually help me check via chassis number.

Actually for the 1-2 years I've been hearing some minor squealing when i brake. But i feel braking performance is still ok. 
Lol i honestly didn't think anything about it cos i assumed the workshop would always want me to change brake pads at the sign of wear, but they never say anything.

13 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

Which stockist did you buy from? Those I buy from usually help me check via chassis number.

dun be surprise.

even with same chassis there are different design or size,

for example certain model jazz or fit, 

17 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

I bought from fitinparts. is like an online store, so i think is my fault never input my car details properly.  haha. I am not guru lah. trial and error one. Now I have one pair of brake pads at home as paperweight. hahah.

5 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Actually for the 1-2 years I've been hearing some minor squealing when i brake. But i feel braking performance is still ok. 
Lol i honestly didn't think anything about it cos i assumed the workshop would always want me to change brake pads at the sign of wear, but they never say anything.

you change to e-serena liao right? hahaha. one pedal driving liao?

24 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

you change to e-serena liao right? hahaha. one pedal driving liao?

no lah. I won't ever drive a bread van

36 minutes ago, Beregond said:

dun be surprise.

even with same chassis there are different design or size,

for example certain model jazz or fit, 

true, but usually the stockist will ask more questions.

36 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I bought from fitinparts. is like an online store, so i think is my fault never input my car details properly.  haha. I am not guru lah. trial and error one. Now I have one pair of brake pads at home as paperweight. hahah.

buy online got a few danger.

for example same chassis pi and ad. front and rear brake different system. the size of the front brake pad could be different.

and esp buying from china , need check extra careful of right and left side

, cos they left hand drive, certain item that is link to the steering , u buy over could be different, for example steering hose or steering pump. the outlet for the hose could be on wrong side. 

28 minutes ago, Beregond said:

buy online got a few danger.

for example same chassis pi and ad. front and rear brake different system. the size of the front brake pad could be different.

and esp buying from china , need check extra careful of right and left side

, cos they left hand drive, certain item that is link to the steering , u buy over could be different, for example steering hose or steering pump. the outlet for the hose could be on wrong side. 

thanks for highlight it. 

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

Fitinparts database is somehow linked to LTA. I just need to type my VRN and their webby would link me to the car model and MY with all associated parts they have available for the car. 

Do be careful for where to select for parts pick up though as they have 2 warehouses. 

You forgot you've upsized your bullake siboh? 😁

aAYQGE0_700b.jpg

Once my WS got the pads for me, and didn't fit. I bought online from US instead and fit perfectly!