Southern Islands Day Trip 2020

Adrianli

Went there last week with 2 friends. Easier to bring your bicycle there. Can cover the 2 islands much faster. Rode all the way to Sam’s beach.

The beach at Lazarus island definitely nicer.

We got the tickets thru Klook. Cheaper at $12.60 with $3 Gong Cha voucher.

We parked the car at Gardens By The Bay East public carpark and cycled to Marina South pier. About 15 mins. $1.80/hr. 

Parking at MSP carpark is very limited. Else can take MRT.

For sharing only.

Edited by Fcw75
  • Praise 10

19 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Went there last week with 2 friends. Easier to bring your bicycle there. Can cover the 2 islands much faster. Rode all the way to Sam’s beach.

We parked the car at Gardens By The Bay East public carpark and cycled to Marina South pier. About 15 mins. $1.80/hr. 

For sharing only.

Thanks bro! Will try this out!

20 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

For sharing only.

I did that about 4 months back with Kusu island thrown in (Sisters Island was closed) we brought our own bikes too ..... Seems like after bathing at the Lazarus Island like bay or beach there is no proper changing or clean water to bathe (lucky we had water bottles in our bikes and some plastic bags which we had brought food with us...... we went to some nearby buidling and use the bags to fill up with water) if not the body feel very sticky sticky when riding bikes .... just my experience   

27 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

I did that about 4 months back with Kusu island thrown in (Sisters Island was closed) we brought our own bikes too ..... Seems like after bathing at the Lazarus Island like bay or beach there is no proper changing or clean water to bathe (lucky we had water bottles in our bikes and some plastic bags which we had brought food with us...... we went to some nearby buidling and use the bags to fill up with water) if not the body feel very sticky sticky when riding bikes .... just my experience   

There’s a toilet near the beach right? I went there. 

258AAFA1-3F7B-4B36-8581-6277EFA67BB3.png

Edited by Fcw75

12 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

There’s a toilet near the beach right? I went there. 

258AAFA1-3F7B-4B36-8581-6277EFA67BB3.png

Yes it’s there ……. But no showering facility’s…… just a toilet ……. So we had to improvise the taps to fill up the water bottles and plastic bags ……. It’s about a 5 -10 mins walk ….. we had bikes so it was much faster 

Edited by BanCoe

did this some months ago.

bought the ticket on Shopee and informed operator of my preferred departure timing.

on the day itself, took MRT to Marina South and collected ferry ticket and Gong Cha voucher at ferry counter.

spent around 4 hours on foot exploring St John + Lazarus and then caught the afternoon ferry to Kusu.

quite shiok. [thumbsup]

suggest eat breakfast before going Marina South, limited food choice and seating at Marina South Pier itself. 

2 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Yes it’s there ……. But no showering facility’s…… just a toilet ……. So we had to improvise the taps to fill up the water bottles and plastic bags ……. It’s about a 5 -10 mins walk ….. we had bikes so it was much faster 

There is toilet with showering at St John island. Near the pier, atop a small hill. When I was there, everyone went there to shower after a dip in the lagoon at St John.

3 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Ah I see, I didn’t go swimming so I didn’t take note of the showering facilities. I went there to pang jio nia. 🤣

Edited by Fcw75

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/women-change-clothes-in-front-of-men-and-kids-at-st-johns-island-despite-toilet

Women change clothes in front of men and kids at St John's Island despite toilet nearby

Visitors at St John's Island were left shaking their heads as the sight of several women changing their clothes unfolded in front of them.

The incident occurred on Sunday (Apr 3), at around 11am.

changemain.jpg

Stomper Rubi was one of those who involuntarily had a front-row seat to the incident.

Rubi shared a six-minute-long video with Stomp and said: "Everyone was at the shelter as it was raining heavily.

"This group of women came to the shelter as well. They were eating and enjoying themselves.

"Just after the rain stopped, the women started to get up and change their clothes. They didn’t even care that there were so many guys and kids around. And the toilet was just beside the shelter, less than one minute away.

"I got so disappointed as I had a child with me. Everyone was looking at the women and shaking their heads as they were even changing their inner wear."

4 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/women-change-clothes-in-front-of-men-and-kids-at-st-johns-island-despite-toilet

Women change clothes in front of men and kids at St John's Island despite toilet nearby

Visitors at St John's Island were left shaking their heads as the sight of several women changing their clothes unfolded in front of them.

The incident occurred on Sunday (Apr 3), at around 11am.

changemain.jpg

Stomper Rubi was one of those who involuntarily had a front-row seat to the incident.

Rubi shared a six-minute-long video with Stomp and said: "Everyone was at the shelter as it was raining heavily.

"This group of women came to the shelter as well. They were eating and enjoying themselves.

"Just after the rain stopped, the women started to get up and change their clothes. They didn’t even care that there were so many guys and kids around. And the toilet was just beside the shelter, less than one minute away.

"I got so disappointed as I had a child with me. ."

Everyone was looking at the women and shaking their heads as they were even changing their inner wear

Everyone was looking at the women and shaking their heads as they were even changing their inner wear :grin:

9 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Everyone was looking at the women and shaking their heads as they were even changing their inner wear :grin:

never say which head. 

• Haha! 7

I did not go read the news,  but base on the photo all pui pui one... pass..

That's why kana complaint in stomp.

The toilet is quite far away from the jetty and need to go up a freight of steps...but I've seen old folks could make it...don't see why the pui pui ones couldn't

Can means can, don't want means don't want 😁

10 hours ago, Tohto said:

I did not go read the news,  but base on the photo all pui pui one... pass..

That's why kana complaint in stomp.

Pui pui also cannot, san san also cannot, difficult to find figure nice nice one to perform such stunt le? 😅

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

The toilet is quite far away from the jetty and need to go up a freight of steps...but I've seen old folks could make it...don't see why the pui pui ones couldn't

Can means can, don't want means don't want 😁

Actually, they are just beside the toilet only. But maybe it's wet inside cos ppl showering.

Just now, Adrianli said:

Actually, they are just beside the toilet only. But maybe it's wet inside cos ppl showering.

Oh, I thot that's the jetty...

But yah...the toilet definitely had seen glorious days...😅

When you go to ulu places is like that wan. The is where to see the skill of changing without exposing unnecessarily. That is why the Stomper buay tahan.

Btw, is it right for the Stomper to record it and post?