S'pore's minimum legal age for smoking to be raised to 21 from Jan. 1, 2021

kobayashiGT

2 hours ago, BanCoe said:

euro 4 engine got debacle?? - can’t remember it much but I had lotsa problems with my euro 4 van about 17 years or so back - was a Renault Kangoo 

Remember when Cat C Coe hit $1 in mid 2000s?

Singkie PM2.5 not good according to WHO standards (now is how I dunno also), gahmen want better emissions from diesel vehicles, so insisted on an EU4 date for all new vehicles.

Industry tell scholars: Siao eh, market don't have EU4 vehicles for our RHD market/region by your cut off date leh. How to register EU4 diesel???!?!

Straight A scholar : You dun Cibai! You see, have Opel* EU4 van have this have that.   (*I cant remember exact vehicles, it was some oddball ones businesses wont ever use here basically)

Industry : KNS, we need Toyota Coaster, Mitsubishi Fuso etc. etc. lah! You want me use Lamborghini tractor meh?    

Straight A scholar : XXX is the cut off date. f**k off.

After cut-off date : Nobody got diesel commercial vehicles to register. Cat C drop to $1. All the 8 to 10 year old smoky diesel owners renew becos PQP low and we got MORE GOOD YEARS of old smoky lorries and vans.

Epilogue : Some years back there was some early turnover scheme to promote scrapping of old smoky diesels. Was the usual try-to-patch-shit-using-my-tax-money after it blew up lor.

p.s. Your kangoo many problems? Thats what the old towkay fleet owners told the gahmen. Some conti vehicle not suitable. Can wait or not? Let other mature markets go EU4 first.

Edited by Ake109

32 minutes ago, Ake109 said:

Remember when Cat C Coe hit $1 in mid 2000s?

Singkie PM2.5 not good according to WHO standards (now is how I dunno also), gahmen want better emissions from diesel vehicles, so insisted on an EU4 date for all new vehicles.

Industry tell scholars: Siao eh, market don't have EU4 vehicles for our RHD market/region by your cut off date leh. How to register EU4 diesel???!?!

Straight A scholar : You dun Cibai! You see, have Opel* EU4 van have this have that.   (*I cant remember exact vehicles, it was some oddball ones businesses wont ever use here basically)

Industry : KNS, we need Toyota Coaster, Mitsubishi Fuso etc. etc. lah! You want me use Lamborghini tractor meh?    

Straight A scholar : XXX is the cut off date. f**k off.

After cut-off date : Nobody got diesel commercial vehicles to register. Cat C drop to $1. All the 8 to 10 year old smoky diesel owners renew becos PQP low and we got MORE GOOD YEARS of old smoky lorries and vans.

Epilogue : Some years back there was some early turnover scheme to promote scrapping of old smoky diesels. Was the usual try-to-patch-shit-using-my-tax-money after it blew up lor.

p.s. Your kangoo many problems? Thats what the old towkay fleet owners told the gahmen. Some conti vehicle not suitable. Can wait or not? Let other mature markets go EU4 first.

All JDM truck then was not EURO4 compliant.

On the other hand, all Jap pickup build in Thailand are EURO4 compliant.

Sadly, our SME cannot afford made in Thailand Jap pickup.

On 12/27/2020 at 10:18 AM, Kb27 said:

what's the point of changing age limit ?

just an outright total ban is more effective. like drugs, get caught buying or smoking, heavy fine or jail, more effective.

Banning smoking in S'pore will have grave consequences - the revenue lost from tobacco tax will have to come from elsewhere and you will end up paying more taxes to make up for this this shortfall.

Edited by Vinceng

I support any efforts to deter smoking. But I also think some of these efforts are ineffective.

These days, it is so hard to find any open areas that are not contaminated by smokers. Walk along CBD, easily can count more than 10 smokers at any time slightly further away from main entrance of building or at back alley. Same goes for any river side, Clark quay, boat quay, marina etc. 

Last but not least, second hand smoke just by sitting in my own living room. 

I hope there will be a day where a mandatory indoor smoking area is needed for smokers to smoke. Buildings are required by law to provide such smoking facilities. Smokers get to smoke within a nice air-conditioning room which has a filtered system before the smoke is being discharged. Raised taxes on cigarette and put of the taxes collected from sale of tobacco goes to the maintenance of these 'smoke boxes'.

3 hours ago, Vinceng said:

Banning smoking in S'pore will have grave consequences - the revenue lost from tobacco tax will have to come from elsewhere and you will end up paying more taxes to make up for this this shortfall.

No worry bros. The lost of tax revenue will be compensate by the saving on medical costs related to the consequences of smoking on national level.

The only downside will be cpf; cpf life as everyone can live a longer life now.(joking)😄

On 12/28/2020 at 8:24 PM, inlinesix said:

All JDM truck then was not EURO4 compliant.

On the other hand, all Jap pickup build in Thailand are EURO4 compliant.

Sadly, our SME cannot afford made in Thailand Jap pickup.

I think the Thai pickups were mostly big double-cabs? Not so suitable for cramped red dot.

On 12/27/2020 at 3:25 PM, badlammy said:

Have seen too many parents holding or carrying their toddlers in one hand and holding cig on the other. Just shows how damaging smoking causes to the brain.

Saw many parents do that...and they seem very proud of it somemore....damn dumbass. Really pity those toddlers and babies in their arms. Seems studying in private schools very stressful. Outside MDIS stirling can see bunch of students puffing away at the hdb blk

16 hours ago, Kopites said:

No worry bros. The lost of tax revenue will be compensate by the saving on medical costs related to the consequences of smoking on national level.

The only downside will be cpf; cpf life as everyone can live a longer life now.(joking)😄

Maybe dont subsidise those smokers medical subsidy loh...if they kana smoking related illnesses

17 hours ago, Gizmore said:

I support any efforts to deter smoking. But I also think some of these efforts are ineffective.

These days, it is so hard to find any open areas that are not contaminated by smokers. Walk along CBD, easily can count more than 10 smokers at any time slightly further away from main entrance of building or at back alley. Same goes for any river side, Clark quay, boat quay, marina etc. 

Last but not least, second hand smoke just by sitting in my own living room. 

I hope there will be a day where a mandatory indoor smoking area is needed for smokers to smoke. Buildings are required by law to provide such smoking facilities. Smokers get to smoke within a nice air-conditioning room which has a filtered system before the smoke is being discharged. Raised taxes on cigarette and put of the taxes collected from sale of tobacco goes to the maintenance of these 'smoke boxes'.

How about COE for cigarettes....Cigarettes Of Entitlement....every 2 weeks bid for cigarettes...haha

Good! But seriously - why is something that costs the health system billions every year still legal at all??!! Imagine the tax cuts that could come about if no one smoked!