Need Recommendations for a bicycle

therock

1 hour ago, Etnt said:

lai ni so ex now? juz get a pair of tyre levers and cheng shin lai ni and should cost less than 16 bucks.

learning to replace inner tube is one of the basic things so that you can self rescue when out.

of cos when both tyres also go flat, then it's a sign to call it a day.

Some folks just aren't built for DIY la..

I just painted one wall which was peeling, the missus walks in and "you think you're Picasso ah?" "blob here, blob there, and there's more paint on the floor..." 

My car tires cost more than ten times more so $16.1 with the labor, I'm happy..

Once I had a flat whilst miles from home, and my father, God bless his soul, came to get me in the rain... I hope to share such moments with my baby in future too... 

3 minutes ago, therock said:

Some folks just aren't built for DIY la..

I just painted one wall which was peeling, the missus walks in and "you think you're Picasso ah?" "blob here, blob there, and there's more paint on the floor..." 

My car tires cost more than ten times more so $16.1 with the labor, I'm happy..

Once I had a flat whilst miles from home, and my father, God bless his soul, came to get me in the rain... I hope to share such moments with my baby in future too... 

Get a foldie. If tyre puncek, just fold the bike and call for taxi or grab. 😁

1 minute ago, Fcw75 said:

Get a foldie. If tyre puncek, just fold the bike and call for taxi or grab. 😁

Oh it was a foldable.. the IF Pacific Bicycle.. lovely bike... 

There was a group of bikers, all sheltering at the same bus stop, my dad comes, and in 5secs, I fold my bike, pop it into the trunk of my dad's sedan and I'm happy... just me and my dad... 

The rest of the bikers stare in envy ... heh

20 hours ago, therock said:

Oh it was a foldable.. the IF Pacific Bicycle.. lovely bike... 

There was a group of bikers, all sheltering at the same bus stop, my dad comes, and in 5secs, I fold my bike, pop it into the trunk of my dad's sedan and I'm happy... just me and my dad... 

The rest of the bikers stare in envy ... heh

I ever encounter rain a few times when cycling along TMCR. I just continued riding lah, actually quite fun to ride in the rain. Just need to remember to close your mouth when riding as dirty water get churned up from the road all the time.

I ever pushed my tyre-punctured bicycle from Changi Beach area all the way to Bedok Jetty and home nearby, from about 5pm and reached home about 10pm. Got many blisters on both feet due to improper shoes but no complain as was eager to try out walking for 20km straight. Quite relaxing walk till half way mark when blisters started forming. But no regrets still haha. Hope some of this hardy traits rubbed on to my kids.

11 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

I ever encounter rain a few times when cycling along TMCR. I just continued riding lah, actually quite fun to ride in the rain. Just need to remember to close your mouth when riding as dirty water get churned up from the road all the time.

I ever pushed my tyre-punctured bicycle from Changi Beach area all the way to Bedok Jetty and home nearby, from about 5pm and reached home about 10pm. Got many blisters on both feet due to improper shoes but no complain as was eager to try out walking for 20km straight. Quite relaxing walk till half way mark when blisters started forming. But no regrets still haha. Hope some of this hardy traits rubbed on to my kids.

3 Friday ago, I was caught in a downpour on my way home along East Coast Park.  Just ride home lor.

Early this year, I had a pinch flat on Bartley Viaduct.  Push the bike down and call Grab home.

I had a spare tube and pump.  Just lazy to do it in the morning.

3 hours ago, inlinesix said:

3 Friday ago, I was caught in a downpour on my way home along East Coast Park.  Just ride home lor.

Early this year, I had a pinch flat on Bartley Viaduct.  Push the bike down and call Grab home.

I had a spare tube and pump.  Just lazy to do it in the morning.

Actually after the 20km bicycle pushing experience which happened early this year, I have been carrying spare inner tube and bicycle pump in a small pouch on my bicycle. Too painful to have the many blisters. And I have replaced inner tubes a few time already, taking less than 20min for a rear tyre recently. One thing I realised is that burst tyre is a common event along TCMR as like always can see cyclists replacing tyres beside the road. Also when I pushed my bicycle home, easily approached by 7 to 8 fellow cyclists along racial line to help pump the tyre or even replace inner tube, which I politely rejected as wanted to have the unique experience haha. Not easy to find the chance to push bicycle for 20km.

5 hours ago, Heartlander said:

i like riding in the rain too but lazy to clean/lube the bike after the ride 😄

i kena puncture one late morning while riding on TMCR. Was abt 5Km from CV so i started pushing the bike there. Damn shag under the sun plus already been riding since morning. Fortunately after 10-15min of pushing, a van stopped n gave me n my bike a lift to CV. Very kind of the driver.

45 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

i like riding in the rain too but lazy to clean/lube the bike after the ride 😄

i kena puncture one late morning while riding on TMCR. Was abt 5Km from CV so i started pushing the bike there. Damn shag under the sun plus already been riding since morning. Fortunately after 10-15min of pushing, a van stopped n gave me n my bike a lift to CV. Very kind of the driver.

I hate riding in the rain as there are a lot of cleaning after that.

By the way, did you guys check tyre pressure before riding?

Maybe pump another 10psi more to prevent puncture 

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

for bicycle, does tyre pressure go up (due to heat) while riding in the day (like cars) or does it slowly leak and go down while riding? if the latter, means must top up mid-ride?

btw mine was not pinch flat. It was the tube kena puncture by uneven/rough spoke hole. The puncture was on the inside of the tube, facing the rim, not the outside facing the tyre. CV bike uncle sanded the rim spoke holes smooth, put a new liner and a new tube. Problem solved.

7 hours ago, inlinesix said:

For road bike every ride i check and pump.. for foldie not as discipline! whahahahah

10 hours ago, Heartlander said:

Actually after the 20km bicycle pushing experience which happened early this year, I have been carrying spare inner tube and bicycle pump in a small pouch on my bicycle. Too painful to have the many blisters. And I have replaced inner tubes a few time already, taking less than 20min for a rear tyre recently. One thing I realised is that burst tyre is a common event along TCMR as like always can see cyclists replacing tyres beside the road. Also when I pushed my bicycle home, easily approached by 7 to 8 fellow cyclists along racial line to help pump the tyre or even replace inner tube, which I politely rejected as wanted to have the unique experience haha. Not easy to find the chance to push bicycle for 20km.

good that this is still happening.

back when I was still actively cycling decade plus ago, most would carry at least 1 spare and a pump (or canister for roadies) as regulars would have felt the pain of having been caught with a flat somewhere (even worse when in the middle of a trail), and nobody wans a fellow cyclist to be caught in a similar jam.

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

For road bike every ride i check and pump.. for foldie not as discipline! whahahahah

Use TPU tube. Check once a week.

China TPU tube is about the same price as butyl.

I'm not actively looking but the Honda Freed is a practical car for kids and for carrying bikes actually..

Is it only from PI sources? And I see that it has not been refresh since the facelift in 2020? No new models? 

1 hour ago, Abracadabra said:

Folding bicycles, should I go for bi-fold or tri-fold?

Dahon or Java or Tern?

I just need a value for money bicycle 14/16 inches will be good.

Any recommendations? Thanks.

value for money go for java zelo 2, sometimes on sale can get for about $250-$280