Fcw75 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 1 minute ago, Atonchia said: Nope. I haven't service my bike since bought it 1.5 years ago.😅 Mainly self service cleaning, adjusted barrel adjuster once when tension lag. Changed handle bars at the same shop I bought the bike. Also self service these Changed to clipless pedals. Changed seat. Changed Carbon aero wheels. Changed rim brake pads. Changed 28C to 25C Probably need to change bar tape and service the crank / bearings from such bike service provider. My Dahon is almost 10 years…hahaha. Only changed tyres myself only. 😅 ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 3 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: My Dahon is almost 10 years…hahaha. Only changed tyres myself only. 😅 Actually most bikes are quite robust. So probably changing tyres due to wear and tear or puncture could the the main stuff. I must have been watching too much GCN shown and got poisoned by my cycling kakis too. Those changes to ride lighter, faster and more comfortable. Clipless pedals is a must for road cycling. But were hesitant initially so got the bike with standard pedals....changed it after a few weeks 🤦😅 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Anyone used these 2 home based dude for servicing of bicycle before? Check out 'Bicycle Bike Servicing | Repair | Installation | Restoration [Central]', available at S$20 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/dfKL6yrzTlb Check out 'Bicycle Servicing/Maintenance/Installation/Repair - Road, Mtb, Foldie', available at S$0 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/evkiEIAzTlb Yeah. Tried home based dude at my own home. From BB replacement to assembling new bikes. So far so good....😅 Edited December 11, 2021 by Volvobrick 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Yeah. Tried home based dude at my own home. From BB replacement to assembling new bikes. So far so good....😅 Haha you are the dude. I haven’t change the brake pads and chain before. 😅 Edited December 11, 2021 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 54 minutes ago, Atonchia said: Actually most bikes are quite robust. So probably changing tyres due to wear and tear or puncture could the the main stuff. I must have been watching too much GCN shown and got poisoned by my cycling kakis too. Those changes to ride lighter, faster and more comfortable. Clipless pedals is a must for road cycling. But were hesitant initially so got the bike with standard pedals....changed it after a few weeks 🤦😅 Why do change your tyre to 25c? 28c can run lower pressure. Ride lighter starts from the frame. 1 of the lightest frame is Specialized Aetos. With Aetos, you can build sub 6kg bike with pedal and bottle cage. Comfort starts from saddle and wider tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 33 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Why do change your tyre to 25c? 28c can run lower pressure. Ride lighter starts from the frame. 1 of the lightest frame is Specialized Aetos. With Aetos, you can build sub 6kg bike with pedal and bottle cage. Comfort starts from saddle and wider tyre. Only change the front to 25C and rear still on 28C. Want to feel if there is any difference in control. My friends suggested to sell and change bike. Keep recommending SWorks Venge, which was the last edition of the aero bike after superseded by Tarmac. I thought it's quite a jump from my current rig. Actually my bike is endurance geometric. Instead gotten carbon aero wheels to feel the effect. The frame by itself is quite good. Carbon aero wheel set help a bit, reduce weight by half a kg. Last year fastest on a flat 1km in the front of group of 5 was like 38km/h. Now can hit 45km/h. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 34 minutes ago, Atonchia said: Only change the front to 25C and rear still on 28C. Want to feel if there is any difference in control. My friends suggested to sell and change bike. Keep recommending SWorks Venge, which was the last edition of the aero bike after superseded by Tarmac. I thought it's quite a jump from my current rig. Actually my bike is endurance geometric. Instead gotten carbon aero wheels to feel the effect. The frame by itself is quite good. Carbon aero wheel set help a bit, reduce weight by half a kg. Last year fastest on a flat 1km in the front of group of 5 was like 38km/h. Now can hit 45km/h. What’s the stack height of those wheel? I am using 50mm stack height wheel. But my bike weigh increased by 200gram. Swork frame is very stiff and may not be comfortable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 8 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Swork frame is very stiff and may not be comfortable. Yup.. rode the Swork Tarmac 6 for only 2 to 3 months as my hand got numb.. had specialized Venge too but oso din ride long.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 20 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Yup.. rode the Swork Tarmac 6 for only 2 to 3 months as my hand got numb.. had specialized Venge too but oso din ride long.. Any comment on Aetos? I would like to try it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 46 minutes ago, inlinesix said: What’s the stack height of those wheel? I am using 50mm stack height wheel. But my bike weigh increased by 200gram. Swork frame is very stiff and may not be comfortable. I am using 50mm both front and rear wheels. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 21 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Any comment on Aetos? I would like to try it. errr... kinda gave up on the S brand liao.. sticking to P for now.. Italian seem more suitable for me.. even Cipolinni i ride for a year.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 I had a gary fisher mtb for 15 years. In all those 15 years, never serviced it or even wash/clean the drivetrain myself. The mech parts never broke down. I gave it away a few years ago and recently saw it parked at an MRT station. Must be the same one due to certain unique aftermarket parts that I had added. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 On 12/11/2021 at 4:57 PM, Fcw75 said: Haha you are the dude. I haven’t change the brake pads and chain before. 😅 Guess you never ride lah🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic March 21, 2022 Share March 21, 2022 Anyone joining the coming OCBC cycling event? FYI, 6:30 already full.. left 5 am slot.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic March 21, 2022 Share March 21, 2022 1 hour ago, Freeder said: Anyone joining the coming OCBC cycling event? FYI, 6:30 already full.. left 5 am slot.. Full Liao for the 20km ride… 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 21, 2022 Share March 21, 2022 (edited) I think selling bicycles more profitable than selling used cars. Some carbon bikes can be $20k! I sell cars that are $20k! When you factor in the COEs that bikes don't have my used cars are a bargain. But no one complains bikes so ex. People only complain cars so ex! Edited March 21, 2022 by Jamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic June 28, 2022 Author Share June 28, 2022 Looks like I have a flat tire on my MTB... any affordable place in the West to fix this? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 28, 2022 Share June 28, 2022 15 minutes ago, therock said: Looks like I have a flat tire on my MTB... any affordable place in the West to fix this? Thanks https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=bicycle+tyre+change&&view=detail&mid=71DEA307F0E93F303B9071DEA307F0E93F303B90&&FORM=VRDGAR&PC=HWMB DIY lah...tube is cheap online or get from carousell if can't wait...just make sure get the correct size ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...